Save Delivery Location

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 01, 2021 1:08 pm

Please let us save the Delivery Location Folder either in the Project or in the Preset.
I don't care where (Project or Preset) and I don't know what would be better for most people but let us save it somewhere at least.


This Problem is already described here: https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=48586&p=765200#p765200
But that comment was not a feature request and also 5 years old which is why I am writing this.
Offline

C.T. Bell

  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:54 pm
  • Real Name: Charles Bell

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 01, 2021 1:25 pm

+1
Resolve 17.2
Ryzen 2700x - 8 core
GTX 1070ti 8gb
32 Gig ram
Win 10
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 01, 2021 1:42 pm

Location should not be part of the Preset. That would require new Presets for every project. A bad idea.

Location is remembered for a Project once you set it.
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 08, 2021 8:17 pm

Location is remembered for a Project once you set it.


It's not, I tried setting the save location, saving the project, and restarting Resolve. The location is empty again.
If it is, tell me how.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostWed Jun 09, 2021 4:07 pm

If it isn't saving for you, something is wrong. It normally saves by default. There's no setting for it.

You're working from local, internal drives only?
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostThu Jun 10, 2021 8:37 pm

Yes, only from local internal drives

When I change the Save Location, the Project also doesn't get the * that indicates it has unsaved changes.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostFri Jun 11, 2021 9:45 pm

That star doesn't show up for this. But the Location does normally get saved.

I'm not sure why that isn't working for you.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7575
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 8:39 am

I really, really, really wish it would save the path and drive location for the last-used delivery in the project. Frustrating when you have to reset this from scratch, particularly when a new codec is selected.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 7:44 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:I really, really, really wish it would save the path and drive location for the last-used delivery in the project.
It always does for me.

I wonder, for you folks not seeing this, are you using Collaboration? PostgreSQL or Disk Database?
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostSat Jun 12, 2021 8:05 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
Marc Wielage wrote:I really, really, really wish it would save the path and drive location for the last-used delivery in the project.
It always does for me.

I wonder, for you folks not seeing this, are you using Collaboration? PostgreSQL or Disk Database?


I'm not using collaboration.
I'm using Disk Database.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostSun Jun 13, 2021 1:42 pm

Very strange.

What OS, Erik? Might be a bug specific to that.
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostMon Jun 14, 2021 6:24 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Very strange.

What OS, Erik? Might be a bug specific to that.


Windows 10
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 15, 2021 2:20 pm

OK, same for me.

I don't know, man. I'm out of ideas on why it's not working for you.

Could you build a small project that shows the issue and share the Archive?
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 15, 2021 4:40 pm

Jim Simon wrote:OK, same for me.

I don't know, man. I'm out of ideas on why it's not working for you.

Could you build a small project that shows the issue and share the Archive?



Weirdly, I managed to save the Location but it's weird.

If I change the location or other settings and save and close, it doesn't save.
If I change the location or other settings and then add to render queue and remove from render queue, then save and close, then it saves the settings.

That is very weird
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostWed Jun 16, 2021 3:51 pm

Ahhh. I've never set a Location without adding to the Render Queue. (I mean, what's the point of setting a Location if you're not going to use it in a Render?)
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 8:06 am

Jim Simon wrote:Ahhh. I've never set a Location without adding to the Render Queue. (I mean, what's the point of setting a Location if you're not going to use it in a Render?)


I saved a Project as a Template.
I open that project, save it under a different name and then work with it.
So in that case I would've loved to save the render location.

Well, it works now, it's just very weird, that you need to add it to the render queue just to save the settings. Not amazing UX but at least it works and I now know how.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 17611
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 3:34 pm

I think it would be a bad idea to save the Location as part of the Project Preset, same as if you saved it as part of the Deliver Preset.

Those presets apply to many projects, whereas Location is typically project specific.
Offline

Swerik

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:50 pm
  • Real Name: Erik Swag

Re: Save Delivery Location

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 6:58 am

Jim Simon wrote:I think it would be a bad idea to save the Location as part of the Project Preset, same as if you saved it as part of the Deliver Preset.

Those presets apply to many projects, whereas Location is typically project specific.



I said that for me it makes enough sense that I wrote this Feature Request.
If it wouldn't make sense, I wouldn't write this.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jeremy and 8 guests