Clip Thumbnail tracker icon to include 'manual' tracking

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

AlanMahon

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:29 pm
  • Location: London

Clip Thumbnail tracker icon to include 'manual' tracking

PostSat Jul 31, 2021 5:33 pm

II want the 'crosshairs' icon , the 'tracker' icon which can be shown under the clip thumbnails to also light up when I have made the tracking of a window by hand.

At the moment it only shows the icon if Davinci built the track, but not if I did it...
I don't understand why this is a useful distinction.

This tracker icon is a great safety net, something that reminds you to check incase something has gone wrong.

(Hand tracking is very prone to problems, particularly if you toggle between 'show handles' where it is easy to miss out on tracking within the handle. Or as often happens when a client asks for handles halfway through a grade. Having an icon would make me feel safer)

And while your at it, a 'Key' icon would be good too!

Thanks

Alan Mahon
ALAN MAHON COLOURIST
www.alanmahon.com
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8820
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Clip Thumbnail tracker icon to include 'manual' tracking

PostSun Aug 01, 2021 1:15 am

Yes +10000000

A workaround is to be on a keyframe, turn on and off interactive tracking, it will make the traker frame active
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 17.2.011
nvidia: 462.59 studio
Offline

AlanMahon

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:29 pm
  • Location: London

Re: Clip Thumbnail tracker icon to include 'manual' tracking

PostSun Aug 01, 2021 12:14 pm

[quote="waltervolpatto"]Yes +10000000

Ha! I am honoured to have ten million upvotes to my suggestion from the venerale Walter Volpatto, thank you!

(Blackmagic, please take notice)

Thanks Walter for the suggestion, that's a good workaround, I tested going to the last keyframe, then pressing track forwards.. I will do this from now on

Of course this relies on one remembering to actuate this trick every time, but its MUCH better than nothing

All the best

Alan
ALAN MAHON COLOURIST
www.alanmahon.com

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests