Open in color page command

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 390
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Open in color page command

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 2:41 am

When you open the color page, the top most clip under the playhead is selected.

Most of the time I want to grade the selected clip on edit page and not the top most clip under the playhead.

I think I am not the only one, I have seen this issue mentioned many times on this forum

here some example topics:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=124776
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=75031
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=81982
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=94192

Here also a recent video from a youtuber who mentions this among other things:


I think an "Open in color page" command, simillar to the "Open in fusion page" would be a nice addition for those who dont like this behaviour.
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 790
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 5:39 am

+1 I understand why it picks the top clip but that's definitely annoying. They could also add a setting to change it's behavior to go to the selected clip instead of the top-most clip.
Offline
User avatar

AndrewKeil

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:27 pm
  • Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
  • Real Name: Andrew Keil

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 1:24 pm

It does make using whole track adjustment layers frustrating as well, I think an "ignore on color page" option for individual clips or maybe tracks would be really helpful.
DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio
MB Pro 15" 2018 2.9GHz i9 32GB
Viewsonic VP3268 4K
Samsung X5 NVME 1TB
OWC Express NVME 5TB
OWC Thunderbay RAID x4 144TB
Blackmagic eGPU RX580 8GB
Blackmagic Decklink 4K
Stream Deck XL
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 790
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 3:16 pm

AndrewKeil wrote:It does make using whole track adjustment layers frustrating as well, I think an "ignore on color page" option for individual clips or maybe tracks would be really helpful.


The Color page allows you to filter out a track using its timeline.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 18401
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 5:04 pm

The normal work flow is do to all your editing and effects first, then color all the clips later.
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 790
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 6:29 pm

Jim Simon wrote:The normal work flow is do to all your editing and effects first, then color all the clips later.

That's not actually realistic for every project though. The Color page supports things like keying, creating alphas, and noise reduction and can apply all the same effects the Edit page can. There's a tons of reasons why you might need to use the Color page before you're done editing.

Like what if you needed to create mask for a clip, then blur the footage and the mask, then keyframe it from the timeline? I mean technically you can't do that in Resolve anyway since all the effects and transforms on the Edit page occur before the Color page when they should really happen afterwards but my point still stands that not everything fits within Resolve's prescribed workflow.
Offline

C.T. Bell

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:54 pm
  • Real Name: Charles Bell

Re: Open in color page command

PostSun Nov 08, 2020 2:19 pm

+1
Resolve 17.4
Ryzen 2700x - 8 core
GTX 1070ti 8gb
32 Gig ram
Win 10
Offline

bounceHouse

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:40 am
  • Real Name: Wesley McDermott

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Dec 12, 2020 10:32 pm

+1. Especially with the keying now done in the Color page.

Case in point: selected clip, switched to color page. The "highlighted" clip is not the clip I was looking for... and look at the row of clips! (there are two dozen more off to the right). Who knows which one is the one I had selected? The clips with masks are showing completely (or mostly) black, even when thumbnails are refreshed... because the first frame is when the actor is off screen and they enter later. Trying to find the desired clip is an unncessary pain.

"Open in Color" on a popup / hotkey from the Edit page seems quite reasonable.
Screenshot 2020-12-11 231719.jpg
Screenshot 2020-12-11 231719.jpg (124.46 KiB) Viewed 401 times


...image copied from: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=128993&p=701222#p701222
PC Win 10 Pro, 64GB ram; NVidia 472.12; dual monitor; GEForce GTX 1660 (6GB main display GPU) plus additional GEForce GTX 1650 Super 4GB; CUDA processing mode; SSD cache, separate SSD for data; Davinci Studio 17.4.2
Offline
User avatar

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 711
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Open in color page command

PostSat Oct 16, 2021 9:42 am

+1 for simply maintaining the active selection/target when switching pages

Clip/action targeting per the 'Auto Track Selector' is fine for when there is no user specified target/selection present... but if and when a user has explicitly targeted/selected a clip then that target should take precedence.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 | Adobe CC 2021 | Desktop Video 12.1
AMD Ryzen 5950X | Windows 10 Pro 20H2 | 64GB RAM | GTX 1060 6GB | 462.31 | Decklink Mini Monitor
M1 MacBook Pro | macOS 11.2.1 | 16GB RAM | Ultrastudio Monitor 3G
V24G2 | WVR5000 | 8020B | USBPre

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jfykeaucq871 and 3 guests