Option for "drag timeline to track area to Open As Timeline"

  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

TheBloke

  • Posts: 1777
  • Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:49 pm
  • Real Name: Tom Jobbins

Option for "drag timeline to track area to Open As Timeline"

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 1:05 pm

When dragging a container (timeline, Compound Clip, etc) on to a timeline, if you drag it over the track header, it will Open As Timeline.

I would like an option to disable this behaviour. Either in Settings, or on the Edit menu, perhaps below "Decompose Compound Clips On Edit".

I've done a quick mental survey, and the number of times when I've:
- wanted to Open As Timeline a clip, and thought to drag it to the track header to do so: 0
- accidentally dragged to track header when I meant to drag it to the start of a timeline, causing it to instead open as a timeline, requiring me to close it and then re-do the drag operation: 9.813 billion (approx).

Thanks in advance.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 and Fusion Studio 17.4.2 on macOS 11.6.1

Hackintosh:: X299, Intel i9-10980XE, 128GB DDR4, AMD 6900XT 16GB
Monitors: 1 x 3840x2160 & 3 x 1920x1200
Disk: 2TB NVMe + 4TB RAID0 NVMe; NAS: 36TB RAID6
BMD Speed Editor
Offline

Kenzo

  • Posts: 343
  • Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:04 pm
  • Location: Poland
  • Real Name: Eryk Rogozinski

Re: Option for "drag timeline to track area to Open As Timel

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 1:26 pm

TheBloke wrote:if you drag it over the track header, it will Open As Timeline.


Gosh, I always thought it is a bug, but this is a feature :)

+1 of course
Eryk Rogozinski
www.art-fx.eu
Online

panos_mts

  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Option for "drag timeline to track area to Open As Timel

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 1:37 pm

+1
Annoying feature, if I want to open a timeline, I prefer to double click it.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crtkecnkl659, dariusii, panos_mts and 7 guests