EXR with embedded mattes

  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9479
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

EXR with embedded mattes

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 7:14 pm

It is impossible to see if a exr has embedded mattes anywhere in the machine short of putting it on the color page and right click on a node and pretend to add a matte.

A flag in the media page must be implemented, so we can see/select/make smart bins/mark smart selections in the color page.

Imagine a show with 1500 exr vfx with multiple versions like a Star Wars movie: it is really a PITA to find which one has embedded mates and who does not have it.
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

jordanphstein

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 1:37 am
  • Location: New York, NY

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 7:55 pm

Yes, this would be amazing! This has been such a PITA for me as well in the past.
Offline
User avatar

dariobigi

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:52 am
  • Location: New York City

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 10:28 pm

Nucoda addresses embedded mattes well. It would be a great example for BMD to follow


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dario Bigi, Colorist
http://dariobigi.com
New York
C: 1-646-436-4600

HPz840 - 2x 14 Core 2.6GHz - 64GB RAM
Windows 10 Pro 21H2
2x RTX 2080Ti (SD 472.84)
Resolve Studio 17.4.6
Decklink 4K Extreme (12.2.2)
FSI CM250
Panasonic FZ1000
Mini Panel
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 1174
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 12:04 am

+1
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.7) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.15.7, 3.5 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / COMPUTE+GUI: AMD Radeon VII / ATTO NT11 10GbE / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline
User avatar

Lucas D.

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:31 am
  • Location: 1132 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90038
  • Real Name: Lucas Druzynski

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 10:00 am

Not only to see BUT I want us to be able to MAKE that on the export page !

+100
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Version 21H1
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 8cores @ 3.6 GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 3080ti
48.0 GB of RAM
Resolve Studio v18 B36
Offline

Oyvind Stiauren

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:31 pm
  • Location: Mexico City

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 5:12 pm

+1
--
Oyvind Stiauren, C.S.I.
Senior Colorist
Terminal, Mexico City
www.terminalmx.com
www.imdb.com/name/nm1008209/
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9479
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostThu Apr 14, 2022 5:45 pm

+1 (again)….. with shows with lot’s of VFX is really unhelpful…. I’m finishing teh current show and when you’re presented with 350 shots and you have to check which has a matte embedded and which has not, it take a toll…

(Enjoy “winning times on HBO”!!)
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline
User avatar

dariobigi

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:52 am
  • Location: New York City

EXR with embedded mattes

PostThu Apr 14, 2022 6:23 pm

Plus (Nucoda has this option) Allow hot keys to be assigned to be able to toggle through the mattes associated with a highlighted node/file. The pull down method takes forever.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Last edited by dariobigi on Fri Apr 15, 2022 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dario Bigi, Colorist
http://dariobigi.com
New York
C: 1-646-436-4600

HPz840 - 2x 14 Core 2.6GHz - 64GB RAM
Windows 10 Pro 21H2
2x RTX 2080Ti (SD 472.84)
Resolve Studio 17.4.6
Decklink 4K Extreme (12.2.2)
FSI CM250
Panasonic FZ1000
Mini Panel
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 8389
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostFri Apr 15, 2022 6:26 am

waltervolpatto wrote:+1 (again)….. with shows with lot’s of VFX is really unhelpful…. I’m finishing the current show and when you’re presented with 350 shots and you have to check which has a matte embedded and which has not, it take a toll…

Yes, I can see there's a need for a little flag in the lower corner for an Embedded Matte.

Winning Times has a very bold, intense look, BTW.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9479
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostThu May 19, 2022 1:56 am

I think at one point some one suggested a script, but I cannot find the thread anymore….

+1
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2246
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostThu May 19, 2022 9:13 am

waltervolpatto wrote:I think at one point some one suggested a script, but I cannot find the thread anymore….

+1

Probably something from this thread: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=106093
I do stuff.
Offline

Sven H

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 9:11 am
  • Real Name: Sven Hegen

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostSun May 22, 2022 5:29 am

+1

Either a flag or even better an indication in the metadata tab (and as a collumn in the media storage) that shows you the number of included mattes. I thought about listing the matte names, but sometimes you get EXRs with multiple RGB mattes within one single shot, so the list would be quite big.
Offline

Jay Bills

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:37 pm

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostSat May 28, 2022 10:03 am

yes the external mattes from VFX and animation are gold, so it would be great to have better flagging/access. +1 for sure.
Might be nice to be able to view the multi channels of an EXR quickly in some sort of contact sheet or "lightbox" sort of view that splits them out into thumbnails so you can quickly get a look at not only what exists, but if it's good/usable or not. We use this all the time in Nuke (the "layer contact sheet") for multipass CG, but it's perfect for embedded mattes. And it's nice (in Nuke) that the contact sheet is customizable in terms of how many rows/columns and what resolution you want to view the grid. I would LOVE to see an interface like this replace the current way of adding an embedded matte to a node, which is just a right click and text.

It would probably be possible to scan a directory full of VFX shots and output what channels are in each EXR, maybe using Fusion/Nuke/RV for this and then pushing the output to a text file. Or a visual way of doing it would be scripting a batch render of little QC quicktimes of this contact sheet idea that you could pull up and refer to, showing all the channels in each shot.
With the text file, you'd be at the mercy of if the vendor named the channels correctly or even if it was something human readable, and not just generic "matte1" "matte2"

contact sheet.png
contact sheet.png (112.36 KiB) Viewed 459 times
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2246
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostSat May 28, 2022 1:29 pm

You could add the contactsheet of layers as additional layer to exr too, if already doing some kind of round trip through Nuke. Then you can review the content visually a bit easier.
I do stuff.
Offline

Sven H

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 9:11 am
  • Real Name: Sven Hegen

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostMon Jun 13, 2022 6:51 am

tbh. the entire matte thing in resolve needs a bit of an overhaul. I am working on a show with around 400 VFX from several studios. each has a different number of mattes. depending if it's simple retouch or 3D comp with creatures and particles. knowing wich matte is available in wich shot is a nightmare.

I have to add mattes by navigating through 3 dropdowns inside the color tab. this could be much simpler. for example right click on the input and get 1 dropdown with all included mattes in 1 single list. I don't want the need to choose the render pass first and then plug each of the RGBA channels to the desired node. Make it rightclick > matte > full list.


Bonus request (the cherry on top):
add a "cycle mattes" function and assign it to a shortcut
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 9479
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jun 14, 2022 6:33 pm

Sven H wrote:tbh. the entire matte thing in resolve needs a bit of an overhaul. I am working on a show with around 400 VFX from several studios. each has a different number of mattes. depending if it's simple retouch or 3D comp with creatures and particles. knowing wich matte is available in wich shot is a nightmare.

I have to add mattes by navigating through 3 dropdowns inside the color tab. this could be much simpler. for example right click on the input and get 1 dropdown with all included mattes in 1 single list. I don't want the need to choose the render pass first and then plug each of the RGBA channels to the desired node. Make it rightclick > matte > full list.


Bonus request (the cherry on top):
add a "cycle mattes" function and assign it to a shortcut


+1......
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 17.4.6-b4 / resolve 18.0B-b10 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 5:43 pm

So, right-clicking on any node in the colour page and scrolling down to Add Matte is the only way to verify if an EXR has an embedded matte(s), yes? How do you access the EXR's RGB channels, if any, in the colour page?
Offline

Sven H

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 9:11 am
  • Real Name: Sven Hegen

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 6:00 pm

Luca Di Gioacchino wrote:So, right-clicking on any node in the colour page and scrolling down to Add Matte is the only way to verify if an EXR has an embedded matte(s), yes? How do you access the EXR's RGB channels, if any, in the colour page?
once a matte is added to the color tab, you have 4 channels to choose from. A, R, G, and B + and additional rgb output. A can be set to "use luminance" which makes sense gor certain scenarios
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 6:39 pm

Sven H wrote:
Luca Di Gioacchino wrote:So, right-clicking on any node in the colour page and scrolling down to Add Matte is the only way to verify if an EXR has an embedded matte(s), yes? How do you access the EXR's RGB channels, if any, in the colour page?
once a matte is added to the color tab, you have 4 channels to choose from. A, R, G, and B + and additional rgb output. A can be set to "use luminance" which makes sense gor certain scenarios


But the mattes have to be provided separately, right? Or am I not understanding embedded mattes in EXRs correctly?
Offline

Sven H

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 9:11 am
  • Real Name: Sven Hegen

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 6:43 pm

Luca Di Gioacchino wrote:
Sven H wrote:
Luca Di Gioacchino wrote:So, right-clicking on any node in the colour page and scrolling down to Add Matte is the only way to verify if an EXR has an embedded matte(s), yes? How do you access the EXR's RGB channels, if any, in the colour page?
once a matte is added to the color tab, you have 4 channels to choose from. A, R, G, and B + and additional rgb output. A can be set to "use luminance" which makes sense gor certain scenarios


But the mattes have to be provided separately, right? Or am I not understanding embedded mattes in EXRs correctly?
no. embeded means that the exr contains extra channels that can contain all sorts of useful stuff, like alpas, normal passes, z, etc.
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 7:02 pm

"no. embeded means that the exr contains extra channels that can contain all sorts of useful stuff, like alpas, normal passes, z, etc."

So I am not understanding correctly, then. I assumed that you could access the RGB channels the same way you could a DI matte, by right clicking on a node and scrolling down to the Add Matte option. So, explain this to me like I am two years old: how do I access the RGB channels, if you please?
Offline

Sven H

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 9:11 am
  • Real Name: Sven Hegen

Re: EXR with embedded mattes

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 7:17 pm

Luca Di Gioacchino wrote:"no. embeded means that the exr contains extra channels that can contain all sorts of useful stuff, like alpas, normal passes, z, etc."

So I am not understanding correctly, then. I assumed that you could access the RGB channels the same way you could a DI matte, by right clicking on a node and scrolling down to the Add Matte option. So, explain this to me like I am two years old: how do I access the RGB channels, if you please?


RGB channels are loaded the same way as with any other format (prores, png, whatever). they're loaded automatically.

adding a matte will add additional extra channels

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests