Flexibility Please !!

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

geeteshsaini

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 4:37 pm
  • Location: India
  • Real Name: Geetesh Saini

Flexibility Please !!

PostThu Aug 18, 2022 7:36 pm

That's why we Editors need "Undock" capablility.
Resizing Windows however and wherever you want is crucial for Flexibility.
portrait-editing-looks-like.JPG
Portrait Editing in Resolve looks like Pain
portrait-editing-looks-like.JPG (999.21 KiB) Viewed 521 times
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 22887
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 4:34 pm

The point of Clean Feed is to send only the image out to a review monitor. Nothing else.

I actually prefer the current GUI to something like Adobe's.
Online

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 3141
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 11:14 pm

My vote is to keep the current GUI. The free floating Premiere model is a mess!
Resolve 18.1 Mac OSX 13.0.1
Mac Studio Max 32GB UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline
User avatar

Joe Shapiro

  • Posts: 1124
  • Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:23 am
  • Location: Los Angeles CA USA

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostFri Aug 19, 2022 11:42 pm

I agree Adobe is a mess. FCP7 was considered the most elegant and smooth flowering of NLEs. Personally I’d look there for inspiration - especially since it was the original inspiration for the Edit page.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Director, Editor, Problem Solver. Been cutting indie features for 20 years. FCP editor from version 2 to 7.
Resolve 18.0.4
macOS 12.6
MacBook Pro 16" M1 Max 64GB RAM
Offline

geeteshsaini

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 4:37 pm
  • Location: India
  • Real Name: Geetesh Saini

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostSat Aug 20, 2022 2:26 pm

The point of Clean Feed is to send only the image out to a review monitor. Nothing else.

I know what "Clean Feed" is but the point here is this feature was the only way
for me to get around this inability of resolve to "undock a window" (optional feature).
If we had this option that I've talked about below, then we don't even need to
activate clean feed for this case. We'll get a full view in a reasonable space
on our monitor (in portrait ratio videos)....For landscape ratio videos,
resolve is already well suited.

I know Adobe is a mess, but without changing this interface, Blackmagic is fully
capable to add "Undock Window" feature without making the mess out of it.
One who needs this will use this feature, remaining won't. (Choice)
Anyways you will still have the option to work in Davinci's default "Docked" mode.
I'm not saying that float all windows by default but only make them flexible.
Softwares are for artists, not the other way around. Softwares must be
malleable to get the work done, efficiently.
Offline
User avatar

okiewardoyo

  • Posts: 444
  • Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 4:01 am
  • Location: Indonesia
  • Real Name: Okie Eko Wardoyo

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostSat Aug 20, 2022 6:19 pm

i prefer BMD create a builtin workspace for editing vertical video than make its UI Dockable like Adobe.
you can vote for my request feature here :
Update : What is the best layout for editing Portrait Video?
Begin using Resolve in Mon May 02, 2022.
Home : Resolve 18.1.1 (Ryzen 7 4000 series, Nvidia GTX 1650, 16GbRAM)
Office : Resolve 18.1.1 (i7 Gen 10, Nvidia RTX 3060, 16Gb RAM)
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 8768
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostSun Aug 21, 2022 9:18 am

geeteshsaini wrote:That's why we Editors need "Undock" capablility. Resizing Windows however and wherever you want is crucial for Flexibility.

This has been requested many times in the last few years, so Blackmagic Design is aware of it.

Two workarounds I can give you:

1) use the dual-display option, so you can have your bins and effects and transitions and so on on one side, and then the timeline, Canvas (preview screen), and Viewer on the other. You can also save individual Workspaces (making certain panels bigger or smaller or even eliminated) under different names, and then pull up whatever setup you want.

2) get a Blackmagic display adapter and you can dedicate the final output image -- in whatever aspect you want -- to its own monitor.

I don't know if this is still the case, but I was told about 10 years ago that if BMD allowed infinitely-customizable GUI panels in Resolve, it would affect performance. I have no clue if this is still the case, but I suspect if it were easy to do, they would've done it already, or at least provided the option for it. They did at least provide the dual-display option a few years ago, and for me, that gave me the ability to move things around to a point to make Resolve a little more productive.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

wajonespress

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2022 4:21 am
  • Real Name: Warwick Jones

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 1:55 am

Marc Wielage wrote:
geeteshsaini wrote:I don't know if this is still the case, but I was told about 10 years ago that if BMD allowed infinitely-customizable GUI panels in Resolve, it would affect performance.

Peter Cave wrote:My vote is to keep the current GUI. The free floating Premiere model is a mess!

This is interesting. Hardware limitations aside, I think infinite customisability would be messy.

My request/advice would be to simply allow users to choose which monitor is their Primary Display for each individual page.

E.g., in the Color page, Display 1 is my primary display, but in the Edit page Display 2 is my Primary Display.

This would allow me to use my colour accurate monitor for the Viewer and for colour correction, while still allowing me to use my ultrawide gaming monitor (with terrible colours) for my timeline. And it would avoid any mess or performance issues. And I imagine it's easier to code in than an entire new UI feature.
Mac Studio (2022)
Apple M1 Max, 32GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 8768
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostSat Oct 01, 2022 12:44 am

wajonespress wrote:My request/advice would be to simply allow users to choose which monitor is their Primary Display for each individual page. E.g., in the Color page, Display 1 is my primary display, but in the Edit page Display 2 is my Primary Display. This would allow me to use my colour accurate monitor for the Viewer and for colour correction, while still allowing me to use my ultrawide gaming monitor (with terrible colours) for my timeline. And it would avoid any mess or performance issues. And I imagine it's easier to code in than an entire new UI feature.

You can sort of do that now with Custom Workspaces, which I use differently depending on whether I'm conforming, editing, color grading, or rendering. So you can work around that to a point. I also switch back and forth from dual display (for color) to just one display (for scene detection), because it makes more sense to me. Sometimes, the flexibility is there if you look for it hard enough.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Online
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 4677
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Flexibility Please !!

PostSat Oct 01, 2022 9:58 am

You can switch the monitors in the Workspace menu. When editing I have my Eizo as the Primary monitor. For grading I make my BenQ the primary and have the Video Clean Feed on the Eizo.
Primary Display Selection.jpg
Primary Display Selection.jpg (52.69 KiB) Viewed 156 times
Resolve 18 Edit Page.jpg
Resolve 18 Edit Page.jpg (456.68 KiB) Viewed 156 times
Video Clean Feed on the Color Page.jpg
Video Clean Feed on the Color Page.jpg (367.17 KiB) Viewed 156 times
Resolve Studio 18.1.1 Build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (516.94 Studio driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270, Canon C100mk2, Atomos Ninja 2.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: michalpelc and 9 guests