Better control of Scopes View

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

studio1492

  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:22 pm
  • Real Name: Fran Navas

Better control of Scopes View

PostFri Nov 08, 2019 12:14 pm

I'm very happy working on DVR using a single monitor. I rarelly use the mouse, instead I use smart keyboard shortcuts and MiniPanel.

I miss a 4 scopes parade when the scopes are attached to the main window. Deattaching the scopes window always hides something important over the GUI, when working on a single monitor system. And currently deattaching the scopes is the only way to access to a x2 or x4 scopes view. So I let scopes attached on the main window. But when I have to change between to scopes, the only way is to access to the tiny menu, which makes loose a lot of time.

Here comes my suggestions. With only one suggestion completed I'll be more than happy and will accelerate my workflow:

- A single keyboard shortcut to sequentially switch sequencially between the different scopes (parade->waveform->vectroscope->histogram->CIE)
please a keyboard shortcut for this.png
A shortcut or simply slide the mouse wheel over the scopes will be quickier. In fact, clicking on the scopes has no effect. Instead we can use this action to switch between scopes! Please
please a keyboard shortcut for this.png (51.28 KiB) Viewed 435 times

- Clicking on the scopes, or sliding the mouse wheel over, should changes to the next scope. This will be mch faster than the current menu.

- A "x2 to x4 scopes" mode when the scopes are attached to the main DVR window (see below)
enough space for 2 or 3 scopes here.png
Here is plenty of space for scopes, and avoid to use the menu selection, which is time consuming, pleeeease
enough space for 2 or 3 scopes here.png (581.89 KiB) Viewed 435 times


Consider grade my clips from the MiniPanel, so I don't need the computer screen for parameters that already have on the MiniPanel. I really need the display for scopes.
Having any of the options above available, only begginers will use the current scopes menu.
Last edited by studio1492 on Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
- iMac 27" 5K 2019 i9 3.6Ghz 40GB Vega 48 8GB
- MBP 16" 2019 i9 2.3GHz 16GB Radeon Pro 5500M 4GB
- Resolve Studio 16.2.6 @ macOS Catalina 10.15.6
- Mini Panel v1.3.2
- DVR Editor Keyboard (sold)
- Synology DS218
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 592
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 12:55 am

What about a separate window with four scopes?
Attachments
separate scopes window.png
separate scopes window.png (259.37 KiB) Viewed 423 times
DaVinci Resolve 16.2.6 Studio
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700, 64GB RAM, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575, 24GB RAM, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 585
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostSat Nov 09, 2019 1:01 am

I think it would be great if every function accessed through the menus could have the ability to define a keyboard shortcut for it.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 16.2.2.012(Standard)
Offline

studio1492

  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:22 pm
  • Real Name: Fran Navas

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 4:39 pm

Vit Reiter wrote:What about a separate window with four scopes?


The deattached scopes window is always hidding useful parts of the main GUI when used on single monitors (i.e a 27" iMac) or laptops. For non dual monitor systems, it has no sense to deattach the scopes but it is the only way to get access to the 4-scopes window. I need an unified GUI on single display system with at least 2-scopes. Or a keyboard shortcut to switch between scopes.

Pitty that 4-scope is still not integrated in the GUI.
Last edited by studio1492 on Sun Nov 17, 2019 12:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- iMac 27" 5K 2019 i9 3.6Ghz 40GB Vega 48 8GB
- MBP 16" 2019 i9 2.3GHz 16GB Radeon Pro 5500M 4GB
- Resolve Studio 16.2.6 @ macOS Catalina 10.15.6
- Mini Panel v1.3.2
- DVR Editor Keyboard (sold)
- Synology DS218
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9364
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostSun Nov 10, 2019 6:28 pm

studio1492 wrote:Deattaching the scopes window on a single monitor always slopes something.


Huh?
Offline

studio1492

  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:22 pm
  • Real Name: Fran Navas

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostMon Nov 11, 2019 1:45 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
studio1492 wrote:Deattaching the scopes window on a single monitor always slopes something.


Huh?


i see that you don't understand. I apologize that i am not English native speaker. I try my best.
I also don't undestand what exactly do you mean with your answer.

What did you don't understand? The words I used? Or the concept that the deattached scopes window has opacy 100% and I can't see what is behind on the GUI?
- iMac 27" 5K 2019 i9 3.6Ghz 40GB Vega 48 8GB
- MBP 16" 2019 i9 2.3GHz 16GB Radeon Pro 5500M 4GB
- Resolve Studio 16.2.6 @ macOS Catalina 10.15.6
- Mini Panel v1.3.2
- DVR Editor Keyboard (sold)
- Synology DS218
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9364
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostTue Nov 12, 2019 6:15 pm

"Slopes". It doesn't fit in that context. What do you think that word means?
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 585
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostTue Nov 12, 2019 6:34 pm

By context, my reading is “blocks”, “hides”, “obstructs”.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 16.2.2.012(Standard)
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9364
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostTue Nov 12, 2019 8:39 pm

Slopes doesn't mean that at all, though.
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 585
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostWed Nov 13, 2019 2:09 pm

He may have mistyped “stops” (as in “stops visibility”) and autocorrect typed “slopes”.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 16.2.2.012(Standard)
Offline

studio1492

  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:22 pm
  • Real Name: Fran Navas

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostThu Nov 14, 2019 12:38 am

Gary Hango wrote:He may have mistyped “stops” (as in “stops visibility”) and autocorrect typed “slopes”.


I remember perfectly that I asked the correct word to translate.google.com ... and "slope" was google suggestion.

BTW, I've edited and corrected the original post. So I guess that the request I made to BMD finds and follow her course of action on the coming version of DVR.

BTW 2: It's funny to me to writte in English. I never studied, I just started listening english-singed music and traslating the lyrics. I just laugh about my mistakes, because is the fastest way to keep learning without studying, and also laughing about mistakes because it's a nice way to get foreign friends around.
- iMac 27" 5K 2019 i9 3.6Ghz 40GB Vega 48 8GB
- MBP 16" 2019 i9 2.3GHz 16GB Radeon Pro 5500M 4GB
- Resolve Studio 16.2.6 @ macOS Catalina 10.15.6
- Mini Panel v1.3.2
- DVR Editor Keyboard (sold)
- Synology DS218
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8043
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Better control of Scopes View

PostSat Nov 16, 2019 5:42 pm

You English is pretty good.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IngolfZ, nucelar and 8 guests