Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

julian_b

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Julian Böhme

Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostSun May 10, 2020 9:32 pm

Could we get a feature to minimize all video tracks or all audio tracks?
When working only on video (titles etc), I'd like to be able to minimize all audio tracks with a shortcut.
By "minimize" I mean like grabbing the divider between audio and video tracks and dragging it all the way up or down.
Pressing the shortcut again should restore the divider location to the previous position.
Just to get more real estate for what's important.

Edit:
My recent feature requests concerning tracks (minimize all tracks, show thumbnail view for only specific tracks, grouping tracks, removing the video/audio track separation) can all be seen in this video:
Last edited by julian_b on Mon May 11, 2020 7:05 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1751
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 12:25 am

I'd rather they be hidden instead, what if I just want to work on video but don't want all my clips to be right at the bottom of the screen? Avid has this feature and it's fantastic.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.5.015
Output: UltraStudio 4K Mini, Desktop Video 11.6
2nd GUI: 1920x1080, mostly using Dual Screen mode, Full Screen Timeline turned ON
Offline

julian_b

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Julian Böhme

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 2:45 am

Tom Early wrote:I'd rather they be hidden instead, what if I just want to work on video but don't want all my clips to be right at the bottom of the screen? Avid has this feature and it's fantastic.


Do you happen to know of a youtube video demonstrating the feature in AVID. I'm curious to see how it works. Or can you tell me what's called?

Completely hiding them would be good of course. But maybe with some kind of indicator? You don't want to edit your timeline and completely forget about some tracks.
And maybe hidden tracks should be locked automatically to prevent accidentally knocking everything out of sync?

Or maybe just minimizing them a lot, not hiding them. Like the very low tracks on the color page?
minimized tracks.png
minimized tracks.png (7.41 KiB) Viewed 673 times

This way, you would also still have the tracks as a visual reference.

That would actually in a way overlap with my other feature request to display the film strip of only specific tracks while all others stay in "Plain" style with a very low height.
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=113371
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 6:24 am

Yes, in current Resolve timeline layout it could be really useful to hide audio only tracks area. That bottom audio tracks area takes a lot of useful space.

But instead of "Minimize All Audio/Video tracks" it is way better to redesign timeline layout in more flexible way without hard separation between audio and video tracks. So you can quickly use any area of the tracks without any limitations.
Another useful option to save timeline space - group tracks (sort of Compound Track)

Here is example how it works in other apps. You just place audio tracks at the bottom as you like and scroll to that area if you need to edit audio.

All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11014
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 1:32 pm

Already asked for.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=107988
Offline

julian_b

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Julian Böhme

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 3:47 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Already asked for.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=107988


Not exactly.
We have many different request here coming together.
I want a shortcut to minimize and restore Video or Audio tracks.

The post you linked to seem to want a shortcut to increase/decrease the track height incrementally.

Dmitry Shijan wrote:Yes, in current Resolve timeline layout it could be really useful to hide audio only tracks area. That bottom audio tracks area takes a lot of useful space.

But instead of "Minimize All Audio/Video tracks" it is way better to redesign timeline layout in more flexible way without hard separation between audio and video tracks.


You mean the VEGAS way? :mrgreen:
I ******* love the Vegas' timeline. The best there is.
They just said "**** that video/audio separation! Let the user arrange them however they want!"
I'll always miss that when working in other NLEs. I never understood why anybody would limit them to "All Video tracks up" and "All Audio tracks down". It always seemed stupid and restricting to me.
I just never wanted to bring this up as a feature request, because people don't like change and it's a very different way to the way to tracks are locked in place now.
But once you used it, you know it's superior and just aweseome.

Demo of free tracks:
https://streamable.com/w2q61e

Dmitry Shijan wrote:Another useful option to save timeline space - group tracks (sort of Compound Track)


+1
Another feature I'd love to see.

Demo of Track Groups:
https://streamable.com/2go7u7

And this just shows how flexible the free audio/video tracks are:
A custom collapse all video/audio tracks feature made by Vegas:
https://streamable.com/f7255t
Last edited by julian_b on Tue May 12, 2020 1:03 am, edited 3 times in total.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11014
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 3:51 pm

Julian Böhme wrote:The post you linked to seem to want a shortcut to increase/decrease the track height incrementally.


I don't thin that's true. Premiere Pro allows the user to assign Track Heights to various shortcuts.

One shortcut could have expanded video only, another could have expanded audio only, a third could shrink both sets, etc.

It's the same request, I think.
Offline

julian_b

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:45 pm
  • Real Name: Julian Böhme

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 4:03 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
Julian Böhme wrote:The post you linked to seem to want a shortcut to increase/decrease the track height incrementally.


I don't thin that's true. Premiere Pro allows the user to assign Track Heights to various shortcuts.

One shortcut could have expanded video only, another could have expanded audio only, a third could shrink both sets, etc.

It's the same request, I think.


BTW: You misunderstood my request anyway.

I think you guys are referring to something like in the following video, right?
Either incrementally or totally minimizing them to the lowest track height.


There's a difference between shinking the height auf all audio tracks and collapsing the audio area / hiding the tracks.
What I want is to collapse the audio area or even hiding it.

Position the divider of Audio/Video tracks in the middle of the timeline, so that Audio and Video tracks both have the same height.
Now image you would shrinken all audio tracks linke in the video above. They would occupy less space in the audio track area, but the divider stays at the same position, meaning the audio track area would still occupy the same amount of screen real estate. It's just that the tracks in that area are now smaller displayed.
But what I want, is a key that instantly almost removes/hides the audio track area. Like dragging the divider to the bottom of the screen. This allows the video tracks to occupy all the available space.
The individual audio track heights would remain unchanged.
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1751
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 4:54 pm

Julian Böhme wrote:They just said "**** that video/audio separation! Let the user arrange them however they want!"
I'll always miss that when working in other NLEs.


You can also do this in Avid, and move the time ruler wherever you want too. And have more of them, each at different frame rates.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.5.015
Output: UltraStudio 4K Mini, Desktop Video 11.6
2nd GUI: 1920x1080, mostly using Dual Screen mode, Full Screen Timeline turned ON
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 6:09 pm

If you look at "Feature Requests" forum, there are really large amount of requests about better Timeline. I really want to believe that Resolve/Fairlight timeline will be redesigned and will include best options from Vegas/Reaper/(maybe Edius and Avid as well?), but same time i am not too optimistic because starting from version 12 i send endless amount of detailed emails and forum posts to support, but nothing was changed globally in Timeline logic from that time. They add only some tiny useful options to timeline. And this looks really strange.
All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 6:27 pm

Another stupid problem with A/V tracks separator is that it follows to middle toolbar position in very strange way. When you drag middle toolbar few times, audio tracks area slowly moves to from bottom to top. Very annoying behavior.

All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1751
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 7:10 pm

Dmitry Shijan wrote:Another stupid problem with A/V tracks separator is that it follows to middle toolbar position in very strange way. When you drag middle toolbar few times, audio tracks area slowly moves to from bottom to top. Very annoying behavior.


I don't think anyone's going to be spending their edit session moving the timeline/monitor divider and and down all the time...
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.5.015
Output: UltraStudio 4K Mini, Desktop Video 11.6
2nd GUI: 1920x1080, mostly using Dual Screen mode, Full Screen Timeline turned ON
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1751
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 7:12 pm

Dmitry Shijan wrote:i am not too optimistic because starting from version 12 i send endless amount of detailed emails and forum posts to support, but nothing was changed globally in Timeline logic from that time.


If it's just one or two people asking for it, then asking over and over again isn't going to help.

Not saying I'm not in favour of some of these requests. Moving tracks around wherever you like, hiding them, grouping them, all sounds good to me.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.5.015
Output: UltraStudio 4K Mini, Desktop Video 11.6
2nd GUI: 1920x1080, mostly using Dual Screen mode, Full Screen Timeline turned ON
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostMon May 11, 2020 7:32 pm

Tom Early wrote:
Dmitry Shijan wrote:Another stupid problem with A/V tracks separator is that it follows to middle toolbar position in very strange way. When you drag middle toolbar few times, audio tracks area slowly moves to from bottom to top. Very annoying behavior.


I don't think anyone's going to be spending their edit session moving the timeline/monitor divider and and down all the time...


Dragging middle toolbar up and down during editing is very common action if you use single monitor. Also Resolve Timeline UI and layouts are made in the way that require dragging during editing. No option to fullscreen timeline only on second monitor, No quick button to quick zoom timeline to max screen size. Too "fat" toolbars with large icons and large amount of empty space.
All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 2173
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostWed May 13, 2020 12:12 am

Why not put yourself out of some of your misery by just getting a second monitor?
Accept that Resolve is Resolve and Fairlight is Fairlight. They are not Vegas, or, thank goodness, Reaper.
Resolve 17.0b2 build 9
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (457.30 Studio), Win10 Home, Faderport, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline
User avatar

Dmitry Shijan

  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:15 pm
  • Location: UA

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostWed May 13, 2020 8:22 am

Charles Bennett wrote:Why not put yourself out of some of your misery by just getting a second monitor?
Accept that Resolve is Resolve and Fairlight is Fairlight. They are not Vegas, or, thank goodness, Reaper.


I already have 2 monitors, but i prefer second monitor for full screen preview or scopes, but not for dual screen timeline layout.
This is Feature Requests forum and people ask for useful things that missing in Resolve here.
All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 385
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Minimize All Audio/Video tracks

PostTue Sep 22, 2020 8:49 am

+1 to minimising all tracks - also to enlarging reducing tracks with a shortcut - plus having shortcuts to switch layouts (and for those layouts to include track heights)
HP Z840 Dual Intel Xeon E5-2637
32GB RAM (4x8GB Sticks)
Nvidia Quadro M5000 8GB - Driver 27.21.14.5206
Storage & Cache:
Local Raid 0 (3 drive) - 190w 270r
or
Areca 8050T2 via TB2 - Raid 3 - 630w 740r

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests