Loop compound clip

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Maxwellx

  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:03 pm
  • Real Name: Maxwell Allington

Loop compound clip

PostMon Mar 15, 2021 1:02 am

I think I had made this request before, but it was past very precise, and it was for everything on the timeline.

Right click> Loop Compound clip, so the clip could be stretched indefinitely and the content of it would be played in a loop.

For me it would be very practical with audio clips (that can be looped), instead of copying and pasting tons of them back to back.

Or when I have a title which needs to appear every X minutes. You put two of them in a compound clip with an empty space at the beginning of it.. space them as you want, then just loop the compound clip on the timeline.

I'm sure there are many other cases where it would be very practical.
Attachments
loop_clip.jpg
loop_clip.jpg (43.71 KiB) Viewed 264 times
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8663
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Loop compound clip

PostMon Mar 15, 2021 1:23 am

Probably i will say +1
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 16381
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Loop compound clip

PostMon Mar 15, 2021 6:44 pm

Taking a clue from the Duplicate node in Fusion, maybe adding this ability as an effect would be the better approach.
Offline

Maxwellx

  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:03 pm
  • Real Name: Maxwell Allington

Re: Loop compound clip

PostThu Mar 18, 2021 4:58 pm

I'll take anything that would enable us to loop the content of a compound clip.

And maybe everything else on the timeline in the future. Enabling that just on the compound clip first could be a good way to test the feature.

I can already see myself just having to pull the handle of a perfect audio clip loop, add a quick fade out.. and voilà :geek: - Another mock-up for audio clips below (it's a compound clip in this example to show how seamless it could look like)
Attachments
loop_mockup.jpg
loop_mockup.jpg (191.93 KiB) Viewed 192 times
Offline

atmosfar

  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:06 pm
  • Real Name: Conor Sexton

Re: Loop compound clip

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 10:04 pm

Yes please, +1 for video and audio looping.
Offline

mader_christoph

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 8:32 am
  • Real Name: Christoph Mader

Re: Loop compound clip

PostTue Apr 20, 2021 8:50 am

Definitely a +1 from me.

I know this feature from Logic, here it is solved in such a way that the upper half of the clip represents the loop tool and the lower the shorten and lengthen.
I miss this tool very much because I use it all the time to loop ambiance clips.
Offline

Maxwellx

  • Posts: 274
  • Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:03 pm
  • Real Name: Maxwell Allington

Re: Loop compound clip

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 2:51 pm

mader_christoph wrote:Definitely a +1 from me.

... loop ambiance clips.

Yeah that too, I hate having to copy/past tons of the same clip (it's messy) for a simple task like this

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests