FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

brediknight

  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 5:26 am
  • Real Name: Brendon Knight

FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 8:27 pm

When adding edits to a selected clip. the clip behind is selected and the new clip forward is deselected.

Either have both clips still be selected.
or
Select the clip forward. Since 99% of the time we edit forward in a timeline and not backwards.

this would allow for quickly moving down a clip and adding multiple add edits without stopping to deselect the last clip and select the next clip.
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1977
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 10:52 pm

I think selecting the forward clip used to be the way, then it got changed because of a feature request. I guess an option would be best.
MBP2016, MacOS 11.2.3, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.2.8/17.1.1
Output: UltraStudio 4K Mini, Desktop Video 12.0
2nd GUI: 1920x1080, mostly using Dual Screen mode, Full Screen Timeline turned ON
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 16314
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 10:19 pm

Tom's right. The current behavior was asked for.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8656
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 12:30 am

Jim Simon wrote:Tom's right. The current behavior was asked for.


i find the behaviour backward..... in all senses of the word.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7347
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 12:49 am

I have to say, when I split or blade-cut a clip, the previous portion is selected. I would much rather the next portion of the clip (to the right of the cursor) would be selected.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

Matt White

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:18 am
  • Location: NYC

Re: FeatureRequest - Add edit on clip - select next clip

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 12:51 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:i find the behaviour backward..... in all senses of the word.

Absolutely agree.
Specs:
Puget Systems Build: Windows 10 Pro, B550 VISION D, AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor, 64.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080, BM MiniMonitor 4k to FSI BM210 and LG UHD, Apogee Symphony Desktop, Resolve 17.1 Studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests