Docked x2 scopes

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

studio1492

  • Posts: 426
  • Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:22 pm
  • Real Name: Fran Navas

Docked x2 scopes

PostFri Jul 23, 2021 12:02 pm

I'm really tired of having floating scopes over the GUI. The floating scopes window is always messing arround.

I need to permanently view "Parade" and "Vectogram" at once to fine tune beauty shots skin tones on the Vectogram skin line, but at the same time I would need the GUI clean and tidy, without scopes hidding useful information.
docked x2 scopes.jpg
docked x2 scopes.jpg (572.29 KiB) Viewed 277 times

I also see a lot of youtube DVR beauty grade tutorials where the editor is always messing around moving the undocked scopes up and down over the GUI. I'm not the only one. This is time consuming and a mess.
My proposal is:

Expandable docked scopes for X2 or X3 view, on the same way than keyframes panel is expanded over the GUI while keeping docked.

OR

a keyboard shotcut to switch between the different Scopes modes.

OR

Mouse wheel over scopes slides to the next scope.

OR

a better way to change between scopes different than the tiny dropdown



But please BMD stop torturing us with the floating scopes over the GUI and the tiny dropdown as the ony way to swich scopes.

Thanks as always for offering us such a great software as DVR!

NOTE: The solution of a 3th monitor display for scopes only has resulted in neck pain. I had an old EIZO 24 for scopes only, but I was getting a lot of pain on the neck while quickly moving my head from one monitor to the other. Then I tested with an iPad as 3 monitor, the same problem. Too many monitors were not good for my neck after long sessions. I prefer to have it integrated on the main GUI, but please, X2 or X4 docked scopes!
- iMac 27" 5K 2019 i9 3.6Ghz 40GB Vega 48 8GB
- MBP 16" 2019 i9 2.3GHz 16GB Radeon Pro 5500M 4GB
- Resolve Studio 17.2.2 @ macOS Catalina 11.5.1
- Mini Panel v1.3.2
- Synology DS218
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3628
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Docked x2 scopes

PostFri Jul 23, 2021 9:12 pm

This is, of course, where two monitors come into their own.
Docked Scopes on dual screens.jpg
Docked Scopes on dual screens.jpg (744.91 KiB) Viewed 276 times

On a single screen you have this option which may help.
Floating Scopes selection1.jpg
Floating Scopes selection1.jpg (464.68 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Floating Scopes selection2.jpg
Floating Scopes selection2.jpg (449.11 KiB) Viewed 276 times
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 Build 9
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (472.47 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 2709
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Docked x2 scopes

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 2:25 am

Currently, the keyframe panel on the Color Page can be expanded to use the space usually reserved for the Curves palette. It also works for the docked scopes but only one scope can be selected. Also a 3 scopes visible option would be nice. Similar to the dual screen '4 in a row' but 3 in a row. The left side palette has all the options available including Color Wheels, Curves, Power Windows, Keyframing etc. so no loss of functionality.

Quick mockup below:

Docked scopes.jpg
Docked scopes.jpg (687.18 KiB) Viewed 249 times
Resolve 16.2.6 AND Resolve 17.3.1
Mac OSX 10.14.6, Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM, Radeon RX 580 8GB
Decklink Studio 2, FSI LM1770 Monitor
Offline

studio1492

  • Posts: 426
  • Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:22 pm
  • Real Name: Fran Navas

Re: Docked x2 scopes

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 7:52 am

Peter Cave wrote:
Quick mockup below:

Docked scopes.jpg


That is Peter,your mockup is exactly what I'm requesting.
- iMac 27" 5K 2019 i9 3.6Ghz 40GB Vega 48 8GB
- MBP 16" 2019 i9 2.3GHz 16GB Radeon Pro 5500M 4GB
- Resolve Studio 17.2.2 @ macOS Catalina 11.5.1
- Mini Panel v1.3.2
- Synology DS218
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7850
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Docked x2 scopes

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 9:34 am

Charles Bennett wrote:This is, of course, where two monitors come into their own.

I think that's a good idea. When I started running Resolve as a freelance colorist in 2012, I bought a cheap (used) $50 Dell display, detached the scopes from the color GUI panel, and just dragged them to that display. This is an easy, affordable way to see everything you need in the interface and place the scopes where you need them to be in your eyeline. I typically run with scopes below the main color monitor, but everybody has their preferences.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chbkoiklp457 and 8 guests