Sort items in timeline dropdown

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

casterle

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:15 am
  • Real Name: LEROY CASTERLINE

Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Aug 28, 2019 9:08 pm

Please allow the items in the timeline drop-down list to be sorted.
Last edited by casterle on Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 Pro, i7 3930K, 32GB, GTX-740Ti, Dual monitors, XP-Pen Deco 03, Behringer X-Touch Mini
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6027
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Aug 28, 2019 11:51 pm

I would like this. Options such as Alphabetical, Date Created, Version, Duration, etc. would come in handy.
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 472
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostTue Sep 03, 2019 11:06 pm

Definite +1 to this!
Resolve Studio 16.1.1.005 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.4.1) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.13.6, 3.46 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / GUI: GTX 780 (6GB) / COMPUTE: GTX 1080ti SC (11GB), in Cyclone 2707 PCIe chassis / ATTO NT11 10Gb / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 04, 2019 12:16 am

I use a simple word that describe it:

Alpha-Bloody-Betical order...

please!!

also, I will not mind to see the bins in that drop down as well..
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Michael Tiemann

  • Posts: 558
  • Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:22 am

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 04, 2019 1:21 am

+1 for lexicographic ordering (more general than alphabetical)
MacOS Catalina Version 10.15.3
iMac Pro (2017)
3 GHz Intel Xeon W
64GB 2666 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro Vega 64 16 GB
RED Rocket-X
Decklink 8K Pro card feeding FSI XM310K Monitor
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6546
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 04, 2019 11:46 am

I think three selectable orders for the dropdown Timeline list:

1) creation order [the current option]

2) alphabetical

3) custom (where you'd just manually highlight the timeline and move it to a desired position on the Edit page timeline list)

I could use the latter because sometimes I just need, say, the Final versions of timelines and not preliminary or aborted timeline trim passes. My workaround for the moment is to create new projects and just delete the unused timelines, but that's a bit cumbersome.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 04, 2019 5:21 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:I think three selectable orders for the dropdown Timeline list:

1) creation order [the current option]

2) alphabetical

3) custom (where you'd just manually highlight the timeline and move it to a desired position on the Edit page timeline list)

I could use the latter because sometimes I just need, say, the Final versions of timelines and not preliminary or aborted timeline trim passes. My workaround for the moment is to create new projects and just delete the unused timelines, but that's a bit cumbersome.


To me, if you expose the bin structure, you will have a "final timeliness bin" to fish from..
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 04, 2019 9:30 pm

Such feature would be good, although you can use Smart Bins with a little extra effort to achieve all kinds of timeline sorting.
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 04, 2019 11:44 pm

Igor Riđanović wrote:Such feature would be good, although you can use Smart Bins with a little extra effort to achieve all kinds of timeline sorting.


try to use smart bin in the delivery page...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3318
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostThu Sep 05, 2019 12:08 am

How sort timelines for the drop-down, if they're in different bins, which can be a necessity on some projects?

Or maybe there's some alternative to the whole drop-down thing? There's gotta be a better way....
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostThu Sep 05, 2019 1:08 am

John Paines wrote:How sort timelines for the drop-down, if they're in different bins, which can be a necessity on some projects?

Or maybe there's some alternative to the whole drop-down thing? There's gotta be a better way....


drop down with bin structure like the LUT menu.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostWed Sep 11, 2019 6:41 pm

I've been wanting to write a tool for sorting and loading timelines because we often deal with 100+ timelines per project. This conversation prompted me to move it up the priority list.

The timeline loader works with Resolve Studio only because of the scripting limitations in the free version. It presents all the timelines in a table. You can sort the columns in ascending/descending order. Double clicking loads a timeline. It can also export a PDF of the table.

It seems to work well but I'm looking for a few volunteers to test it out.

ResolveTimelineLoader_ScreenGrab01.png
ResolveTimelineLoader_ScreenGrab01.png (46.95 KiB) Viewed 371 times
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6027
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Sort items in timeline dropdown

PostThu Sep 12, 2019 2:03 am

Igor Riđanović wrote:you can use Smart Bins with a little extra effort to achieve all kinds of timeline sorting.


Yeah, but...here we're talking about the drop down list of timelines, like above the monitors.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest