Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

brediknight

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 5:26 am
  • Real Name: Brendon Knight

Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 3:53 am

Please. Stop animating the timeline actions. It is not cute, it s not "FUN".

Editors work all day. our eyes get tired. Reduce the amount of Visual clutter. I'm constantly watching undo, do double steps on a trim fore example, or watching items slowly animate towards an edit or action.

STOP. Leave animated actions to mobile devices or websites.

Actions need to SNAP quickly. Why slow us down too? This is just a bad idea.

We work long hours and get very fatigued. This is just brain clutter that is unnecessary.

Sometimes I wonder if I hit the key twice when I perform an action. Wondering if I made a mistake.

This is an example of programmers doing something because they can, rather than they should. Or getting bored or what ever. It is wrong. The software isn't a toy. Its an advanced tool to do a job. Some work 10hours +.


The UI should snap not "Transition" to an end result.

It is distracting. Its not a game. Its not "fun" either. It ridiculous.
Editors don't need to be entertained by animation in the timeline.

If all else, please give us a preference to turn this off.

sincerely
editor eyes.
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1242
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 9:52 am

pretty sure it wasn't done to be fun but to show you exactly what has happened and what has gone where, which I find helpful, though I appreciate that some would prefer everything to snap instantly.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.1.005
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3050
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 12:53 pm

I agree. Snap to result. The animation is a distraction, rather than a help, most of the time.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4480
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 1:46 pm

brediknight wrote:It is not cute, it s not "FUN".



It's not supposed to be either of those things. What it's supposed to be, and what it actually is, is helpful.

The animations make it very easy to see exactly what's happening and where, while before it was too easy for one to miss something.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4480
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 1:48 pm

brediknight wrote:watching items slowly animate


If the animations are slow for you, your system may have an issue. It happens in about 1/4 second for me. Very snappy and a great visual cue as to what's going on.
Offline

brediknight

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 5:26 am
  • Real Name: Brendon Knight

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 3:09 pm

i can't possibly see how this is helpful for an editor. Edit in, then an animated ramped extension of the clip to the timeline? why? editors move fast. what is helpfull is cutting in and immediately backing up and watching. Not an animation of actions.

I don't think its my system. (aging Mac Pro Trashcan D700). If its related to system specs, all the more reason not to have it as it takes up cycles. If a slower machine would make these longer, I'd ditch Resolve as an editor. Editing doesn't need as high as specs as Color/Fusion. IN fact, in a post facility, assistant are usually cutting on lesser machines while the editor is with clients.

This is a distraction for fast editors. Especially when bouncing back in forth among other software that doesn't do it.

If you like it, great. I really don't understand that. But it is your opinion. So is mine, and every editor I show this too so far. In fact its a showstopper for seasoned editors coming from Avid, Premiere, Smoke.
Those who have to cut all day in front of clients. I have always been impressed with Resolve's improvements and features that help get things done. This isn't one of them and shows they don't fully understand an editors workflow and 10hour +days and nights.

Its gimmicky. Cheapens the experience.
Let's please have a preference to turn it off, at the very least.
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 980
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 4:00 pm

Do what some cheese to go with that whine?
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3050
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 4:04 pm

brediknight wrote:I don't think its my system.


It's *supposed* to be slow, on all systems -- otherwise you couldn't see it.

Watching these animations all day, day after day, is no fun. If they really must have it, it ought to be an option. If nothing else, there's a strong irritation factor.

And the odd thing is, who asked for it to begin with?
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 980
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 4:18 pm

John Paines wrote:
brediknight wrote:I don't think its my system.


It's *supposed* to be slow, on all systems -- otherwise you couldn't see it.

Watching these animations all day, day after day, is no fun. If they really must have it, it ought to be an option. If nothing else, there's a strong irritation factor.

And the odd thing is, who asked for it to begin with?



Most likely a UX Engineer.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 537
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 6:36 pm

I agree with OP. Just 1 exception. When press undo i find it handy.

Also, resolve is one of the most heavy NLE's out there. So i bet these animations are not helping with that.
Offline

brediknight

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 5:26 am
  • Real Name: Brendon Knight

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 7:14 pm

Jim Simon wrote:
brediknight wrote:watching items slowly animate


It happens in about 1/4 second for me.



Its way longer than 1/4 second. I just timed a few trims using hot keys. The delays/animations are over a second on longer trims or cuts.

How many key commands does an editor do a day? 100? 200? 500? it is a lot. Might be shocking, actually.

Cut - wait a second
Trim - Wait a second
Trim again - Wait a second
Oops. Undo. Wait a second.
Cut again - Wait a second.
Ripple Trim - Wait a second.
Oopsie, forgot a track selector. Undo - Wait a second.
Ripple Trim again - Wait a second.
Last edited by brediknight on Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Oyvind Stiauren

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:31 pm
  • Location: Mexico City

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Sep 26, 2019 7:48 pm

Maybe BMD could make an option for enabling/disabling the feature. Then everybody would be happy.
--
Oyvind Stiauren, C.S.I.
Senior Colorist
Terminal, Mexico City
www.terminalmx.com
www.imdb.com/name/nm1008209/
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostFri Sep 27, 2019 4:30 am

I like it.
Maybe because my machines, while old, are fast.
Less than 1/4sec for any edit animation to complete.
DR 16.1 Studio, 2012 Mac Pro 5.1, 10.13.6, 2x3.46GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram, GTX 1080Ti 11GB graphics card.
USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card, PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240, 55"LG C8 OLED
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 435
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostFri Sep 27, 2019 12:58 pm

Oyvind Stiauren wrote:Maybe BMD could make an option for enabling/disabling the feature. Then everybody would be happy.
+1
DaVinci Resolve and Fusion 16.1.1 Studio
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Mac Pro 2013, AMD FirePro D700 Graphics, 64GB RAM
iMac 2017, Radeon Pro 575 Graphics, 24GB RAM

Film Editor, Colorist, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Oct 03, 2019 7:50 am

brediknight wrote:
Jim Simon wrote:
brediknight wrote:watching items slowly animate


It happens in about 1/4 second for me.



Its way longer than 1/4 second. I just timed a few trims using hot keys. The delays/animations are over a second on longer trims or cuts.

How many key commands does an editor do a day? 100? 200? 500? it is a lot. Might be shocking, actually.

Cut - wait a second
Trim - Wait a second
Trim again - Wait a second
Oops. Undo. Wait a second.
Cut again - Wait a second.
Ripple Trim - Wait a second.
Oopsie, forgot a track selector. Undo - Wait a second.
Ripple Trim again - Wait a second.


If it takes this long you have something else going on.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Ognjen Mihovilić

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:26 am
  • Location: Zagreb
  • Real Name: Ognjen Mihovilic

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostThu Oct 03, 2019 8:54 am

I agree with the OP. Please remove all eye candy. It's distracting.
CPU: i9 9900K
MB: ASUS PRIME Z370-A DELUXE
Memory: 64 GB (4*16GB crucial ballistix elite)
GFX: 2x Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+
OS: OSX High Sierra 10.13.6
OS 2: Win 10, 64 bit
Davinci Resolve Studio 15.3
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1612
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostThu Oct 03, 2019 9:53 am

I like the animation. It is not slow on my setup.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

brediknight

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 5:26 am
  • Real Name: Brendon Knight

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostThu Nov 21, 2019 2:02 am

It is a distraction. Please give us the option to disable it. Like NOW!
It causes fatigue and eye strain.


If those like the animation while they are working, fine. But NO OTHER pro app has this eye candy gimmiky stuff. Because we work on these for 10 sometimes 14 hours a day. any visual clutter should be avoided.

especially animating a business tool.

leave it for websites and apps.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4480
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - PLEASE STOP!

PostThu Nov 21, 2019 7:21 pm

brediknight wrote:The delays/animations are over a second on longer trims or cuts.


That's not normal.
Offline

Justine Robilliard

  • Posts: 125
  • Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostSat Nov 23, 2019 3:41 pm

The solution is to toggle the feature on/off set in preferences, that way you design the UI to suit your needs..A bit like my request to have the zoom in/out on the cut page, if this is set via the toggle, it hurts no one, and it creates a workspace that suits the user...

What is wrong with having a user defined workspace?? It is like office chairs, if you could set the height, the seat recline, with/without armrests, it would be very uncomfortable...and that is what makes office chairs better than the standard dining room chair, adaptability.

So really Blackmagic could you look into making DR16 or DR17 more user preference set-able...??
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 244
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostMon Nov 25, 2019 6:19 pm

Maybe add an option to turn it off.
But in case it takes any longer than a blink of an eye, there may be something wrong anyway.

I think these animations are rather useful and smooth on both my Windows and Linux machines.
Download my 55M Advanced Luts for the Pocket 4K and 6K here:
www.55media.net/55m-p4k-color
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 980
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostMon Nov 25, 2019 6:47 pm

Justine Robilliard wrote:What is wrong with having a user defined workspace?? It is like office chairs, if you could set the height, the seat recline, with/without armrests, it would be very uncomfortable...and that is what makes office chairs better than the standard dining room chair, adaptability.


As a developer, I can tell you the number one issue with adding every little thing someone complains about on the internet is that it leads to a bloated slow code base.

A secondary issue is you end up with an even bigger UX problem than what you had before the complaints. You end up with a massive "settings section" that confuses most users.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 1242
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostMon Nov 25, 2019 10:36 pm

Dan Sherman wrote:You end up with a massive "settings section" that confuses most users.


Avid manages ok.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.14.6, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Studio 16.1.1.005
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 4480
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostMon Nov 25, 2019 11:05 pm

Tom Early wrote:Avid manages ok.


Oh, that is not something I want Resolve to emulate.
Offline

Justine Robilliard

  • Posts: 125
  • Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostTue Nov 26, 2019 2:49 am

Hi Dan
You say "You end up with a massive "settings section" that confuses most users", that might be true, I am certain it would be in this case, so I take your point, it is a problem, no idea how many folks are on the dev team over at DR16/DR17, a lot of head scratching and having to decide what to include and what is left out...

On the other hand, you could for example have the UX set to say basic, intermediate, advanced, developer, so that with each stage, more "features" are unlocked, or more settings become visible.. The problem is how to keep the coding within acceptable standards..I am sure Blackmagic have a solution...I agree it could get messy, something I did not think about...
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 980
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostTue Nov 26, 2019 4:29 pm

Justine Robilliard wrote:On the other hand, you could for example have the UX set to say basic, intermediate, advanced, developer, so that with each stage, more "features" are unlocked, or more settings become visible.. The problem is how to keep the coding within acceptable standards..I am sure Blackmagic have a solution...I agree it could get messy, something I did not think about...


I've worked on legacy systems that use a setup like that, and it doesn't work well in practice. What ends up happening is you get a lot of users who are 99% happy with one level but they have to enable the next highest level to change that one thing they really want. So you end up with a lot of users in the highest configuration levels, who get overwhelmed.

The Underlying issue is that configurability and usability are at opposite ends of the spectrum. The consumer facing menu and settings windows most people are familiar with break down from a UX perspective when you get into the ream of hundreds or thousands of settings. I'm not sure how many resolve has exactly, but its definitely well into the several hundreds range. You can see how that has already lead to problems for users by browsing various threads on the forum.


At the enterprise level where you regularly have hundreds or thousands of configuration settings, the methodology switches to various forms of configuration files. I deal with stuff like this daily, but it's not the type of thing you want to expose most people to.

I'm not sure what web browser you use, but if you use Firefox and want to see a glimpse of what I mean, type 'about:config' in the address bar and Firefox will display it's underlying settings interface. It's a simple and very powerful GUI based settings manager, but still completely overwhelming to most people.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE (431.36), DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 16.1.0b.017
Offline

Justine Robilliard

  • Posts: 125
  • Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: Animating the UI and Timeline - Please stop

PostTue Nov 26, 2019 4:34 pm

About the firefox config, ouch on that, wow...yeah get the point, I really fully get the issue now, and now I fully understand as a very basic user just what a task it has been to get any software to a certain point..

I am sure that certain settings could be reset, but at what cost? best to just learn to live with certain things as they are, thanks so much for the insight..wow.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Harold Tomlinson and 2 guests