Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 237
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostTue Feb 23, 2021 5:53 pm

Hi All -

So I am not able to import h265 clips from a Canon R5 into the latest version of Resolve on a mac (Big Sur). Check the screen capture below (it's the Spanish version). Also, they aren't visible in the Storage area panel either.

Notice how the "Principal" (which means "Master" in English)turns to red if that's any indication:



Any ideas what can be wrong?

Thanks!
Resolve 16.2.2.012 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 14478
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostTue Feb 23, 2021 10:32 pm

Free version?
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 237
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostTue Feb 23, 2021 11:02 pm

Yup
Resolve 16.2.2.012 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 14478
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostTue Feb 23, 2021 11:05 pm

OK.

It's likely you'll need the Studio version for that media. If you care to share a short clip, we can test to make sure.
Online

smunaut

  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 2:59 am

H265 should be supported on mac in the free version.

Also, (at least for me), when video codec is unsupported, it still loads the audio track ...
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9433
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 3:31 am

Not all flavors, like 10 bit 422, which needs Studio.
Resolve Studio 17 and Fusion Studio 17 under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580 under Catalina 10.15.7
MacBook Air M1
Online

smunaut

  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 3:48 am

Oh interesting. TIL :)

It'd be nice to have an updated support codec list for R17 ...
Even the one I found for R16 is outdated and doesn't reflect the latest R16 release.
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 629
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 6:09 am

smunaut wrote:
It'd be nice to have an updated support codec list for R17 ...


I would rather they focus their efforts on building - the documentation can lag a bit.
If you cant load an mp4/MTS/H264/5 then transcode
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Online

smunaut

  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 8:54 am

Sure but as I said, even the list for R16 isn't up to date, so it'd be nice if the doc for R17 is updated before R18 :p
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 14478
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Cannot Import H265 clips From Canon R5 into Resolve 17?

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 3:32 pm

Roen Davis wrote:the documentation can lag a bit.

My preference would be for same time. Completed and accurate docs for 17 once it goes RTM.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jim Simon, Mike Warren, Scodel and 89 guests