Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostMon Jun 27, 2022 1:45 am

Also - if I switch resolve to use OpenCL instead of CUDA, I'm given a GPU processing error within Resolve itself and then my video becomes scrambled and pixelated.

This system has previously worked fine and there have been no hardware changes.

-Paul
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2093
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostMon Jun 27, 2022 2:28 am

Hi Paul

At the least we'll need a reasonable system description - see FAQs - including hardware, drivers, Resolve versions, and a link to logs.

In addition, it would be useful to know some context - what your workflow is, scenarios that this issue occurs in, tools are in use, what steps you've tried etc.

Regards
Shrinivas
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 1:48 am

That's odd, I had typed a longer version of that post but for some reason the version without my system info was posted.

My system has an RTX 3080 and an RTX 3060. 64 gigs of ram. An AMD 3950X processor and 6 SSDs. I'm running Windows 11.

Nothing has changed but updating Resolve. It happens when I try to load a project that has a Fusion comp in it. Blank projects load fine. Switching to OpenCL causes an error and scrambles the video.

I swear I posted all this information previously. I must have not hit submit when I was editing the post...
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 12197
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 1:59 am

If you are on W11 the OS can always change.. can you grab resolve generated diagnostic logs and post with your nfo.. details in faqs
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 2:39 am

I also realized my Event Viewer info was never posted either. So here it is again. I get 2 errors when this crash happens.

Event ID 1 - NVIDIA OpenGL Driver: An application has requested more GPU memory than is
available in the system. The application will now be closed.
Error code: 6 (pid=15600 tid=28544 resolve.exe 64bit)

Event ID 1000 - Application Error: Faulting application name: Resolve.exe, version: 18.0.0.28, time stamp: 0x00000000
Faulting module name: nvoglv64.dll, version: 30.0.15.1296, time stamp: 0x6286730e
Exception code: 0xc0000409
Fault offset: 0x0000000001270385
Faulting process id: 0x0x3CF0
Faulting application start time: 0x0x1D88A956C93D191
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Resolve.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispsi.inf_amd64_3340992f43425889\nvoglv64.dll
Report Id: 0ad0bb29-da6b-4396-b84f-6f1d7e5985fb
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 2:41 am

I've tried both the studio driver and the game-ready driver. I've used DDU to completely remove all nvidia drivers. Nothing has fixed the issue.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2093
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 3:49 am

A quick check on setup:
• Are the cards in SLI? Are all your displays connected to the same discrete graphics card?
• What happens if you disconnect one graphics card and start up with just the 3080?

Lastly, you mentioned a project with a Fusion comp. In Resolve do the following:
• Load an Untitled project > Help menu > Create Diagnostic Logs on desktop.
• right click the project with the Fusion comp, export to a DRP. This step isnt needed if you already have a DRP of that project.
• Create a shareable link with both (i.e. upload to a file sharing service, right click, select Share and follow the instructions to share).

Regards
Shrinivas
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 7:15 pm

There is no SLI for RTX cards. The only one that supports NVLink is the 3090, so no I'm not using SLI or NVLink.

I'll post the DRP soon.

-Paul
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 7:24 pm

Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 10:34 pm

I removed the 3060 card and have the exact same issues.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 4307
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostTue Jun 28, 2022 11:37 pm

I tried your DRP. When it loads it comes up with a message about unknown tool "sTrack Create 2_1" and then closes Resolve. Could this be the cause of your problem?
Resolve Studio 18.0.1 Build 3
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (516.94 Studio), Win10 19043, Speed Editor, Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270, Canon C100mk2, Atomos Ninja 2.
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 12:37 am

sTraceCreate is a Krokodove tool. It works fine in Fusion Studio and has been working fine in Resolve. If you add Reactor to Fusion (in Resolve) you can have it automatically install all the Krokodove tools.

-Paul
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 12:54 am

Interestingly enough, I copied the comp from Resolve to Fusion and get the same OpenGL error there too:

An application has requested more GPU memory than is
available in the system.
The application will now be closed.


Error code: 6
(pid=29880 tid=27936 fusion.exe 64bit)

Visit http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3553 for more information.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2093
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 2:37 am

Hi Paul

With a comparable 3080 graphics system, studio drivers and a fresh Resolve install (processing set to CUDA), we observe only the missing tools errors that Charles mentions, and the project opens. At the least, this may allow for you to find workarounds for the tools that cause the GPU memory error.

Is there a reason you want to switch to using OpenCL instead of CUDA? Do you see the same issue in CUDA as well?

Regards
Shrinivas
Offline

Paul Griswold

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:59 pm

Re: 18 Beta 5 bug? GPU memory crash

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 7:05 pm

Because the help section from Blackmagic says, if you receive the OpenGL error I've been getting while using CUDA, switch to OpenCL to fix the problem. Otherwise, I never would have done that.

It's strange that this project worked fine under this configuration until either Beta 4 or 5 came out. Nothing else has really changed. That's why I came here to report the issue.

-Paul

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, nbzgtfiop324, panos_mts, RedRider14 and 96 guests