17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

2mahit

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:40 pm
  • Real Name: max ikaev

17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 8:18 am

but it starts on OLDER kepler gtx780m(laptop) win10 with old 425.31 latest driver for it on ly laptop(no cuda, now only opencl)

on gt640(desktop) it says gpu procesing mode unsupported (even opencl)tried 451 and 457 driver
win 8.1 all previous include 17b3 works ok
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 9:11 am

Windows 8.1 is not supported. Only Windows 10.

Starting with Resolve 16.2.7, NVIDIA GPU's need to support CUDA 11.

In order to have CUDA 11 support, the GPU needs to support CUDA Compute Capability 3.5 or higher.

Neither of your GPU's meets that requirement, and won't work in Resolve 16.2.7 or 17.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Syed Shahbaz Ashraf

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 10:15 am
  • Real Name: Shahbaz Ashraf

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 10:28 am

What about Nvidia Gtx 1050 Ti....17 b4 refuses to open but b3 work fine.....any solution...?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 11:36 am

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.

If you are a new Forum user, you may not be allowed to post URLs. If this happens, just put a space near the front of the URL, so the system doesn't think it's a URL.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

2mahit

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:40 pm
  • Real Name: max ikaev

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 9:36 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Windows 8.1 is not supported. Only Windows 10.

Starting with Resolve 16.2.7, NVIDIA GPU's need to support CUDA 11.

In order to have CUDA 11 support, the GPU needs to support CUDA Compute Capability 3.5 or higher.

Neither of your GPU's meets that requirement, and won't work in Resolve 16.2.7 or 17.


BUT they both DO WORK on OpenCL, and 17b3 on win 8.1 works ok gt640 on desktop
2020-12-10_00-32-44.png
2020-12-10_00-32-44.png (667.91 KiB) Viewed 2316 times
17b3
screenshot

and 17b4 on gtx780m laptop screenshots 2 and 3
2020-12-10_00-28-48.png
2020-12-10_00-28-48.png (601.73 KiB) Viewed 2316 times

2020-12-10_00-33-12.png
2020-12-10_00-33-12.png (22.62 KiB) Viewed 2316 times
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 9:57 pm

Perhaps if you define "work" loosely.

But the performance will be very bad and there will likely be issues with viewer updates and LUTs and who knows what else, if you use them in that mode.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

2mahit

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:40 pm
  • Real Name: max ikaev

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 10:21 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:if you define "work" loosely.

I'm ok with this, just some home videos :)
The main question is - did something changed in system requirements of 17b3 and 17b4
i did not notice diffrences
they both are
"16 (yes)GB of system memory. 32 GB when using Fusion
Blackmagic Design Desktop Video 10.4.1 or later(do not use)
Integrated GPU or discrete GPU with at least 2GB of VRAM(yes)
GPU which supports OpenCL 1.2(yes) or CUDA 11
NVIDIA/AMD/Intel GPU Driver version – As required by your GPU"(lates 457 driver)

i got all of this except windows 10 on desktop
Else i give up...
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostWed Dec 09, 2020 10:35 pm

No, the requirements did not change.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

2mahit

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:40 pm
  • Real Name: max ikaev

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostFri Dec 11, 2020 1:30 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:No, the requirements did not change.

Thank You very much!
So, if nothing changed from 17b3 to 17b4 in requirements,
Can You consider this as bug report?

17b3
2020-12-11_14-33-22.png
2020-12-11_14-33-22.png (130.51 KiB) Viewed 2254 times



17b4
2020-12-11_16-28-05.png
2020-12-11_16-28-05.png (11.63 KiB) Viewed 2254 times

2020-12-11_16-28-21.png
2020-12-11_16-28-21.png (19.16 KiB) Viewed 2254 times
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3459
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostFri Dec 11, 2020 1:49 pm

You cannot consider that a bug report as your OS and GPU do not meet the minimum requirements. As has been said Resolve is designed to run under Win10, and the GPU must have a compute capability of 3.5. Your GT 640 only has a compute capability of 3.0.
A GTX 780 has a compute capability of 3.5 so will run CUDA 11.
Resolve Studio 17.3.2
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (472.12 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline

Syed Shahbaz Ashraf

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 10:15 am
  • Real Name: Shahbaz Ashraf

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostFri Dec 11, 2020 2:57 pm

But i am having the same problem with beta 4 and my card is Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti which is cuda 11 supported......please any solution...?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostFri Dec 11, 2020 6:02 pm

What Charles said.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 3459
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostSat Dec 12, 2020 12:04 am

Shahbaz, is your driver for the 1050 up to date, and does the rest of your system meet the requirements for running Resolve?
Resolve Studio 17.3.2
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, 2 x internal Samsung Evo SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (472.12 Studio), Win10 Home 19043, Speed Editor, PreSonus Faderport 1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 (both calibrated)
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8278
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostSat Dec 12, 2020 12:15 am

@Shahbaz:

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.

If you are a new Forum user, you may not be allowed to post URLs. If this happens, just put a space near the front of the URL, so the system doesn't think it's a URL.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Syed Shahbaz Ashraf

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 10:15 am
  • Real Name: Shahbaz Ashraf

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostSat Dec 12, 2020 9:35 am

Charles Bennett wrote:Shahbaz, is your driver for the 1050 up to date, and does the rest of your system meet the requirements for running Resolve?


Yes the system is upto date
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10971
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostSat Dec 12, 2020 12:38 pm

Sorry we r unable to help further without the logs and NFO as detailed in the faqs and Dwaine’s post.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Syed Shahbaz Ashraf

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 10:15 am
  • Real Name: Shahbaz Ashraf

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostSat Dec 19, 2020 2:46 pm

Thanks its working just fine with Resolve 17 Beta 5
Offline

Pavel Lavrov

  • Posts: 712
  • Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:24 am

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 ,b5 and b6 FAILS

PostTue Dec 22, 2020 1:12 am

Somehow on my system Resolve 17 Beta 4, 5 and 6 see GTX 1080 as Not supported GPU.

Here's link to Resolve Log Capture and System INFO.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AsoRcTVOWKxtgctjyomoq429YzGG8A?e=8vmujy

GTX 1080 Compute capability (version) - 6.1
Newest Nvidia drivers 460.89 (Clean Install) restart then installed Resolve (same for beta 4, 5 and 6)

Thanks for any help.
Last edited by Pavel Lavrov on Tue Dec 22, 2020 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pavel L
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1789
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostTue Dec 22, 2020 8:43 am

To reiterate, DaVinci Resolve 16.2.7 or newer needs support for CUDA SDK 11.0 (compute capability of at least 3.5). This has been reflected in the release notes and minimum requirements in these releases.

For Nvidia users, this means a change in minimum graphics hardware and a minimum driver version when you upgrade.

1. Is my card supported? Look up your Nvidia graphics card is in this CUDA support table. This URL from Nvidia allows the same lookup. This value needs to be 3.5 or above to be supported.

2. Options for older unsupported cards If the first column shows a compute capability of lesser than 3.5, you will not be able to use CUDA with Resolve. Use Nvidia's driver recommendation tool to install the latest driver. OpenCL may work. The speeds will be different.

3. Supported card with errors. If the first column shows a compute capability of 3.5 or more, you will need a newer driver than you have used till 16.2.6. Please take a look at the end of these release notes.

4. Installing drivers: Please always install drivers using Nvidia's driver recommendation. If necessary, please disable automatic driver updates from Windows. And please do a clean install - when running the installer, please select Custom Installation and select the right option.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11210
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: 17.0 b3 was ok, but b4 failes to start on gt640

PostTue Dec 22, 2020 11:06 am

Dear Shrinivas, shouldn't this be a sticky?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.2 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.5
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB, eGFX Breakway RX 580
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, id4alexey and 92 guests