gyro stab

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Cuervo

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:17 am
  • Location: Santa Fe, NM
  • Real Name: charles rodriguez

gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 4:18 pm

v18b5....how does one apply gyro stabilization?
I have the latest camera updates installed.
Last edited by Cuervo on Sat Jun 25, 2022 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Anthony Fata

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 4:16 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Fata

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 4:30 pm

I too am curious how gyro stabilization is applied. Just updated cameras to 7.9 and DR to 18b5. Not seeing how to use gyro data to stabilize the footage. Is it different than using the stabilization on the edit page?
Offline

IshaiH

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 1:19 am
  • Real Name: Ishai Hachlili

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 5:01 pm

It's in the same Stabilization section of the clip attributes. Select "Camera Gyro" mode and hit stabilize.
Offline

joxter

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 5:12 pm
  • Real Name: Joakim Kjellander

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 5:15 pm

I just updated my BMPCC4k and resolve to beta5 but I am not seeing "camera gyro" under the drop down.
Anyone else having this problem?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 1798
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 5:56 pm

joxter wrote:I just updated my BMPCC4k and resolve to beta5 but I am not seeing "camera gyro" under the drop down.
Anyone else having this problem?



will be a studio feature !?!
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 11.7
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.0.3
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 702
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 5:57 pm

Here are some examples, to be honest I expected better results.


Offline

joxter

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 5:12 pm
  • Real Name: Joakim Kjellander

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 6:05 pm

Did some more testing, it seems that you have to turn off image stabilization in the camera menu for the option to come up on that clip in resolve.
Offline

Anthony Fata

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2022 4:16 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Fata

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 6:10 pm

I realized after looking through my BMPCC 4K and DR settings that my lens stabilization was on when I recorded the footage. When you have image stabilization turned on in camera it seems it will bypass the gyro data, thus making gyro stabilization unavailable in DR. Hope that helps anyone experiencing that problem.
Last edited by Anthony Fata on Mon Jul 11, 2022 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Cuervo

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:17 am
  • Location: Santa Fe, NM
  • Real Name: charles rodriguez

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 6:24 pm

hmmmm...BMPCC 6k v7.9, running studio 18B5 , not seeing the stabilization option in the Inspector tab. Only the 3 standard stabilization options.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1796
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 7:53 pm

According to that video, it only works on clips from the new camera firmware, which matches my testing. The result is fine, nothing shocking.
Ryzen 3900X 4.4Ghz
32GB DDR4-3600
RTX 3090
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 17.4.1
Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Offline

Sherwin Lau

  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:01 am

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 8:16 pm

Cuervo wrote:hmmmm...BMPCC 6k v7.9, running studio 18B5 , not seeing the stabilization option in the Inspector tab. Only the 3 standard stabilization options.


Did you shoot BRAW? From my testing, gyro stabilizing option doesn't appear for prores clips.
Sherwin Lau, C.S.I.
sherwinlau.com
iMac Pro 3GHz 10-core, 64GB Ram, Vega 64
MacOS 12.4
Offline

Cuervo

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:17 am
  • Location: Santa Fe, NM
  • Real Name: charles rodriguez

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 8:21 pm

I always shoot BRAW....
...and, yes, this is a clip captured with the new firmware
Offline

Sherwin Lau

  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:01 am

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 8:29 pm

It is beta firmware so not seeing it at the moment might be attributed to that, but some options to try:

1. Remove clip from timeline, edit back into timeline
2. If stabilization was done on the clip before, reset it, try again.
3. Start a new project in the new beta R18 build 28, bring in the test media and look there.
4. Restart Resolve

I'm sure there are other things to try, so I'm sure other folks can chime in on solutions.
Sherwin Lau, C.S.I.
sherwinlau.com
iMac Pro 3GHz 10-core, 64GB Ram, Vega 64
MacOS 12.4
Offline

Cuervo

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:17 am
  • Location: Santa Fe, NM
  • Real Name: charles rodriguez

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 8:50 pm

Thanx. I tried all those options. I, also, tried opening a new v18b5 on a MAC. No joy. I'm beginning to wonder about my BMPCC 6k(an older model not PRO). Perhaps the issue is with the camera. The metadata confirms I'm on the camera 7.9 firmware.

Sherwin Lau wrote:It is beta firmware so not seeing it at the moment might be attributed to that, but some options to try:

1. Remove clip from timeline, edit back into timeline
2. If stabilization was done on the clip before, reset it, try again.
3. Start a new project in the new beta R18 build 28, bring in the test media and look there.
4. Restart Resolve

I'm sure there are other things to try, so I'm sure other folks can chime in on solutions.
Offline

Mike Flynn

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 9:12 pm

Per Peter:

"Have a look in color page tracker, stabilization, select camera icon then camera gyro"
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 914
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 9:40 pm

Actually, considering how many cameras are now providing gyro info in the metadata, I think it would be great of DR included a more generic/configurable way to use that metadata so that we could effectively take advantage of this functionality on video from a wider range of sources.

GyroFlow software does this already so it *is* possible -- I just don't want (yet) another step in my workflow if I can avoid it so having this integrated into DR would be fantastic.
Resolve 15.3 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: RTX3060
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

Cuervo

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:17 am
  • Location: Santa Fe, NM
  • Real Name: charles rodriguez

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 9:47 pm

Mike Flynn wrote:Per Peter:

"Have a look in color page tracker, stabilization, select camera icon then camera gyro"

yeah, great thought. But, like the other drop downs, it only shows the standard three options.
I don't suppose there's a switch in the camera options that turns gyro on/off?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 1798
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 10:14 pm

Cuervo wrote:yeah, great thought. But, like the other drop downs, it only shows the standard three options.
I don't suppose there's a switch in the camera options that turns gyro on/off?


is only in the 4k for pana/oly MFT lenses
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 11.7
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.0.3
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Sherwin Lau

  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:01 am

Re: gyro stab

PostFri Jun 24, 2022 10:16 pm

Cuervo wrote:
Mike Flynn wrote:Per Peter:

"Have a look in color page tracker, stabilization, select camera icon then camera gyro"

yeah, great thought. But, like the other drop downs, it only shows the standard three options.
I don't suppose there's a switch in the camera options that turns gyro on/off?


So, it could be a beta issue, because I just shot a few BRAW clips consecutively and some of the clips show the gyro option and some don't (images below). Same lens (Canon 100MM L), same settings. I have a 6K Pro but according to the video, the 4K/6K G1 should have that gyro info, too.

If you have the time, maybe shoot a few more clips and see if some of those newer clips have gyro show up.

This beta did just come out so the more issues we find the better it'll be and the quicker the dev team can address it.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2022-06-24 at 4.11.06 PM.jpeg
BRAW clip NO Gyro option
Screen Shot 2022-06-24 at 4.11.06 PM.jpeg (514.27 KiB) Viewed 4244 times
Screen Shot 2022-06-24 at 4.10.52 PM.jpeg
BRAW clip with/Gyro option
Screen Shot 2022-06-24 at 4.10.52 PM.jpeg (540.98 KiB) Viewed 4244 times
Sherwin Lau, C.S.I.
sherwinlau.com
iMac Pro 3GHz 10-core, 64GB Ram, Vega 64
MacOS 12.4
Offline

Cuervo

  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 11:17 am
  • Location: Santa Fe, NM
  • Real Name: charles rodriguez

Re: gyro stab

PostSat Jun 25, 2022 11:59 am

SOLVED:

Apparently, gyro stabilization doesn't work with all lenses. I replaced the Canon 28-135 IS with a newer Canon 28-70 f/2.8 and now gyro stabilization works.
Offline

launch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:18 am
  • Real Name: Marc Castles

Re: gyro stab

PostSun Jun 26, 2022 11:38 am

I was wondering why it wasn't showing up for me with my Canon 24-105. Turns out I had to turn off stabilization on the lens for the camera to record the data.
Offline

Jessetebay

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2022 11:39 pm
  • Real Name: Jesse Tebay

Re: gyro stab

PostMon Jun 27, 2022 11:45 pm

I don't know if it's too late to add, but I just found out that if you have image stabilization on on your lens (I have the Sigma 24-70 2.8) that the image stabilization setting in Resolve won't have gyro show up in the drop down menu; instead you have to turn off the image stabilization on your lens, then it will show up in resolve, but this is kinda scary to trust... ALSO found out that high shutter speeds are really important for using the gyro... Which is also kind of a bummer. But really sweet technology over all!!
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15025
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: gyro stab

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 8:10 am

I don’t really understand why shutter speed should be important, apart from more obvious motion blur from short bumps. Care to elaborate, please?
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 2394
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: gyro stab

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 11:39 am

Uli Plank wrote:I don’t really understand why shutter speed should be important, apart from more obvious motion blur from short bumps. Care to elaborate, please?

Just a random thought, but stability somewhat depends on when in relation to frame capture is the gyro data sampled. Lets say it is aligned with frame capture start timing. If shutter is open longer, most of the image data does not align with gyro data anymore (blur aside) so it might produce wobblier result than when gyro data were stored in the mean of shutter. But it is just a random guess.
I do stuff.
Offline

SteveDGreen

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 3:19 pm
  • Real Name: Stephen Green

Re: gyro stab

PostWed Jun 29, 2022 11:51 am

I think it's just that, to eliminate/reduce the buzz you get from stabilised frames which had motion blur originally.

Hopefully docs can clear up what's best practice, as there's a bit of speculation flying around on youtube tests

e.g. on lenses which don't supply lens data, does that affect how stabilisation works, and if so, when it talks about focal length, is it the full frame length, that should be entered, or is the sensor a factor?

Is the stabilisation designed just for 6K mode (on 6K cameras), or is there any advantage in using 5.7K, even with slight crop (which apparently has a faster sensor readout, closer to the 4K)

does shooting at 50fps even if you're dropping it onto a 25fps timeline improve things?
Offline

Oyvind Fiksdal

  • Posts: 389
  • Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:12 pm

Re: gyro stab

PostTue Jul 05, 2022 9:42 am

Hi

What kind of focal length shall we input in the meta data when using speed boosters and manual lenses? Example: 35mm lens combined with a speed booster .71

From testing my most logical approach is Focal length 25mm. But I get more aggressive stabilization when input 35mm… which seem unlogic to me. Its not better, but it crops in more.

Another “problem” is that it doesn’t matter if I change the focal length value in DR18. I tried to compare changes both in-cam (before recording) and in DR18 (after recording). It seems to only be effective when done in -cam. Am I correct?


Note. I have searched several threads to fine a defined answer to this, and it seem to be unanswered.
Offline

stuart hall

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2022 12:14 am
  • Real Name: stuart hall

Re: gyro stab

PostThu Jul 07, 2022 12:21 am

Anthony Fata wrote:I realized after looking through my BMPCC 4K and DR that my lens stabilization was on when I recorded the footage. When you have image stabilization turned on in camera it seems it will bypass the gyro data, thus making gyro stabilization and unavailable in DR. Hope that helps anyone experiencing that problem.


Thank you, this was my problem also. I am using the pocket 4K with Lumix lenses. The stabilizer switch on the lens itself can be on, but the in camera stabilization must be off.

Thanks again for the post.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 1640
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: gyro stab

PostSun Jul 10, 2022 1:53 pm

That doesn't sound right, Stuart, unless turning off stabilization in that camera also disables lens stabilization - is that true?
Resolve Studio 18.0.3 | Fusion Studio 18.0.2 | Win 11 Pro (21H2) | i9-7940x, P4000 (471.41, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) 16" MacBook Pro M1 MAX, 32 GPU cores, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Monterey 12.5.1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], CleverCadaver, Google [Bot], hiixdcaaw766, JK2900 and 48 guests