change DVE keyframe while DVE is in use

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mike Manus

  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:51 am

change DVE keyframe while DVE is in use

PostTue Dec 05, 2023 4:06 am

I have an atem mini extreme ISO. I shoot an overhead view of a table and do a lot of zoomed-in screens of different parts of the table. But there are only 2 DVE's I can use. One is in use for a flying key on a greenscreen. That leaves one DVE for the various zoom ins. One has a mask to see the full table underneath on half the screen.

The problem is I can't find a way to change from the full table with a mask DVE to a full screen zoom in without a glitch. There's always a quick flash frame as the mask is first removed, which you briefly see, then the rest of the DVE kicks in to where it should be.

I'm thinking I can solve this with A and B keyframes if there is a way to set a keyframe without having to see the results on screen since the keyer is on air. Then having the macro do a run to B. It won't be a cut but it would look better moving than having that flash frame.

Is there a way to edit the XML of a macro to load a keyframe's settings other than hitting the "set A" or "set B" buttons which would require those settings to be displayed? I can't just put it on an off-air keyer and then switch to that keyer because the atem needs a quick delay to go from DVE keyer to DVE keyer, giving me a different flash frame.
Offline
User avatar

PhoenixRiddle

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2023 11:37 am
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Real Name: William Garcia

Re: change DVE keyframe while DVE is in use

PostTue Dec 05, 2023 1:16 pm

Unfortunately, as far as I know, directly editing the XML of a macro to load keyframe settings without displaying them isn't straightforward with the Atem software. It is designed to reflect changes in real-time, which is why you're seeing those flash frames.

What I can suggest is to create a sequence of macros that prepare your DVE settings off-air and then execute the transition swiftly to minimize on-air disruption. This could involve a macro to set up the DVE off-air, followed by a quick switch to bring it on-air.

You could also try to use an external software or hardware controller that offers more flexibility in programming macros.
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" - Arthur C. Clarke
Offline

Mike Manus

  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:51 am

Re: change DVE keyframe while DVE is in use

PostThu Dec 07, 2023 10:26 am

Thank you for responding. The problem is I can't prepare the DVE off-air. The Atem has only 2 DVEs, and I'm using one for a chroma-key flying DVE sitting on top. I want to use the zoomed in image with mask to switch to a different zoomed-in area without a mask. For some strange reason, the Atem doesn't let me prepare the 2nd DVE off-air. Even if I'm not outputing it in any way to a preview display.

The only external macro editor that might work for me is the website one created by a user here. Unfortunately, it would require me to create a macro through the website for every possible setup to every other setup. Then I'd have to make sure to hit the proper button for the setup I'm in and not just the one I want to go to. Which I know I will make a lot of errors, I'm working alone and it's too much.
Offline
User avatar

PhoenixRiddle

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2023 11:37 am
  • Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Real Name: William Garcia

Re: change DVE keyframe while DVE is in use

PostFri Dec 08, 2023 9:12 am

Oh, I totally get the challenge, especially when you're handling everything solo.

You're right about the limitations of the Atem in not allowing the preparation of a second DVE off-air. That does complicate things a bit. However, your idea of using the external macro editor should work. Yes, it might require setting up a macro for every possible setup, but it could be a viable solution to avoid those unwanted flash frames.

One tip: maybe try to organize these macros in a way that makes them easy to identify and execute during your workflow. Color-coding or labeling them based on their specific function could reduce the chances of errors.

Cheers!
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" - Arthur C. Clarke
Offline

eMilty

  • Posts: 163
  • Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:54 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Real Name: Marco Miltenburg

Re: change DVE keyframe while DVE is in use

PostMon Dec 11, 2023 6:32 pm

Can you please specify more clearly from what state (position, zoom, crop, etc) to what state you want to go?

Can you show the XML of the macro that you now use that causes the flash to happen? Maybe the order of operations can be changed around preventing the flash. Some operations cause delay, other operations not or very little.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests