Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 5:08 pm

We experienced a serious issue today with the EXTREME ISO. Using a T5 with 1TB we ran a 45 minute Zoom session. Throughout the event the ATEM software gave a positive readout with correctly showing the recording time counting up, REC button red and drive flashing . At the end I pressed the stop button but the drive just kept flashing with the REC button still lit and a red ISO RECORDING readout on the multiview.
After ten minutes I disconnected the drive to find out that only about five minutes of the event had been recorded!

Drive was Mac formatted and connected using the cable it came with. Compatible according to BM.

Did others experience this, too?
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland
Offline

Jefbox

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:43 am
  • Real Name: Jeffrey Smeets

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 10:01 am

I've got a ATEM Mini Pro ISO (latest firmware) and I'm using a Lacy Rugged Mini 1TB (formatted as EXFAT).
When I hit record, after a few minutes it also starts flashing red.

Fortunately till this moment my recordings has been good, but it's not a comforting thought that it could be corrupted or partly recorded.
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostThu Apr 15, 2021 7:20 pm

Jefbox wrote:I've got a ATEM Mini Pro ISO (latest firmware) and I'm using a Lacy Rugged Mini 1TB (formatted as EXFAT).
When I hit record, after a few minutes it also starts flashing red.

Fortunately till this moment my recordings has been good, but it's not a comforting thought that it could be corrupted or partly recorded.


Exactly. I just can't trust this device and in the end will have to connect a recorder to the 2nd hdmi out so I can at least have the PGM footage. My Mini Pro ISO records flawlessly tho.
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 11:30 pm

UPDATE

I did a test tonight recording 5 video sources to an AMEI. REC button started to flash quickly after about 2 hours. Pressing stop did nothing, so I unplugged the drive (Samsung T5 500GB MacOS formatted) and plugged it into my Mac. All the material until the error occurred had been recorded, even the Resolve file was fine.

However, this MUST be addressed by BM. Has anyone actually tried to record 8 sources?
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland
Offline

rstreber

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Streber

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 3:54 pm

So far, I've had no similar problems with the extreme Iso, although I haven't done any takes longer than about 20 minutes. I'm recording to a T7.
Ryan Streber
Oktaven Audio
www.oktavenaudio.com
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 4:15 pm

rstreber wrote:So far, I've had no similar problems with the extreme Iso, although I haven't done any takes longer than about 20 minutes. I'm recording to a T7.


How many sources? If it's only 2 or 3 there isn't much data to be processed.
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland
Offline

rstreber

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Streber

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 4:35 pm

I was doing 3 inputs plus separate program audio using each mic input as a balanced line input for L/R stereo off of my mixing console. I'll be doing some work soon that will have six video inputs, so we'll see how it goes...
Ryan Streber
Oktaven Audio
www.oktavenaudio.com
Offline

redrob

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 5:56 am
  • Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 6:26 pm

*Reliability* in the field is paramount to using this in production environments.

Backup/safety recordings should be for when the unexpected happens.

The actual device needs to be in the "functions as expected" category.
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 9:03 pm

redrob wrote:*Reliability* in the field is paramount to using this in production environments.

Backup/safety recordings should be for when the unexpected happens.

The actual device needs to be in the "functions as expected" category.


It is one of the main selling points to be able to record each input separately. I should not be asking too much. Looks like quickly tossing out new products to meet the new demands didn’t do BM any good. Me neither. „You get what you pay“ strikes it once more I guess.
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland
Offline

rstreber

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 4:55 pm
  • Real Name: Ryan Streber

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 18, 2021 9:53 pm

I'm always recording in-camera if only as a precautionary measure, because I'm nervous about the Atem's recording reliability. Even if I have no intention of using the braw footage, I just like the reassurance that there's some kind of redundancy in place.

Curious, how does the Atem handle dropped frames when doing iso recording? Is that something that could potentially cause a disruption?
Ryan Streber
Oktaven Audio
www.oktavenaudio.com
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 5:50 am

rstreber wrote:I'm always recording in-camera if only as a precautionary measure, because I'm nervous about the Atem's recording reliability. Even if I have no intention of using the braw footage, I just like the reassurance that there's some kind of redundancy in place.

Curious, how does the Atem handle dropped frames when doing iso recording? Is that something that could potentially cause a disruption?


I need the Resolve project file for editing, so in camera recording isn’t helpful. Also, in many cases there is an additional feed from a computer (presentation) that also needs to be recorded.
As I said the ISO recording is a main selling point so it should work, dropped frames or not. There is no option how to handle dropped frames as in other BM products. Really a big bummer. I wonder what will happen if more users get to experience this.
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland
Offline

Jefbox

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:43 am
  • Real Name: Jeffrey Smeets

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 8:38 am

ishootyou.com wrote:..As I said the ISO recording is a main selling point so it should work, dropped frames or not. There is no option how to handle dropped frames as in other BM products. Really a big bummer. I wonder what will happen if more users get to experience this.


Exactly this, I've even returned my normal ATEM Mini Pro and bought the ISO version, specifically for that option. I've also experienced dropped frames in some of the ISO recordings.
Offline

pgdharman

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:29 pm
  • Real Name: Phil Harman

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 25, 2021 1:09 pm

Similar issue for us this morning. ATEM Mini Extreme ISO with 8.6.1 firmware and HFS+ format (journaled) Samsung T5 500GB streaming to YouTube. Three sources: two cameras plus ProPresenter7.

The stream was ok, but 23 minutes in the recording stopped. The ISO REC section showed a 1/4 red arc, the REC button was red, and the disk light was green.

At the end of the stream, the STOP button did nothing, and the REC button stayed RED, so I unplugged the drive. The REC button stayed red, and the disk light went out (actually, slightly red due to the REC button being on).

The only way to clear the fault was to power cycle the ATEM (by unplugging and replugging the power - why is there no switch?!), at which point it was possible to record once more.

We normally do a post-production edit of the stream for retention. This week we will have to download and edit YouTube's recording.

It seems a number of people have experienced this issue in this forum/thread and in the Facebook groups. We never had these issues with the ATEM Mini Pro ISO.

My first AMEI had to be returned in the first week due to a hardware quality issue with with some of the buttons (which were jamming down, and not springing back up).

This is only my 2nd week with my replacement AMEI. If the stability cannot we improved, I will have to return this unit too, and go back to using the AMPI.

This has really undermined my confidence in BMD.
Last edited by pgdharman on Sun Apr 25, 2021 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 25, 2021 4:04 pm

do you mean APFS format?

this format is not supported

only
HFS+ (macOS extented)
or
EXFAT
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/wingsX1 2TB 970evoplus/titanridgeTB3/HP1344/Radeon VII
macOS 10.14.6

BMPCC4k (6.9.6)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71
Offline

pgdharman

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:29 pm
  • Real Name: Phil Harman

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostSun Apr 25, 2021 4:20 pm

Mark Foster wrote:do you mean APFS format?

this format is not supported

only
HFS+ (macOS extented)
or
EXFAT


Yes, you are right, of course.
Sorry, rather tired.
I've edited my post.
Offline
User avatar

ishootyou.com

  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:09 pm
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Real Name: Nick Schreger

Re: Recording BUG? ATEM EXTREME ISO

PostMon Apr 26, 2021 7:29 pm

OK so here's what we found out after HOURS of testing.

1) BM support is not existent. Still no reaction to our inquiries both as "normal users" and retailer after TWO WEEKS.

2) There is a workaround. We found out that not only the ATEM Mini Pro ISO / Extreme don't like MacOS (Journaled) formatted drives. The same applies for the Hyperdeck Studio Mini and Video Assist 12G recorders. Recording works without problems so far with Samsung T5 drives and Sandisk Extreme SSDs that are ExFAT formatted. Wherever possible, format the drive with the device it's been used. Same applies for SD cards used with the Hyperdeck Studio Mini and Video Assist 12G models. Use ExFAT format and only use devices with a fast write speed. Sandisk SD cards work fine.

3) At least for the ATEM Mini series, it seems that the problem occurred since the last TWO firmware versions. We used MacOS (Journaled) formatted SSDs with the Atem Mini Pro ISO before without issues.

This information is based on our own tests and customer feedback.
------------------------
ishootyou.com
Teaching photography and videography in Switzerland

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests