Can ATEM output alpha channel via SDI/HDMI/USB-C ?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Horton Siu

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:10 am
  • Location: Hong Kong

Can ATEM output alpha channel via SDI/HDMI/USB-C ?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 5:40 am

Hi, can ATEM output alpha channel via SDI/HDMI/USB-C ? I would like to try it with virtual set. Please help!
Offline

Tim_Partridge

  • Posts: 83
  • Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:40 pm
  • Real Name: Tim Partridge

Re: Can ATEM output alpha channel via SDI/HDMI/USB-C ?

PostSun Apr 25, 2021 11:52 pm

I am not aware of ATEMs outputing an alpha channel. They are intended to produce final output rather than something to feed into something else.

ATEMs can take an alpha channel in to use as a luma key. They can do chromakey as well against a green background. You would need some way of keeping the virtual set in step with the camera if that were to move.

Regards,

Tim
Online

Andy Coulthurst

  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Can ATEM output alpha channel via SDI/HDMI/USB-C ?

PostMon Apr 26, 2021 5:35 am

ATEM Constellation can output the Alpha from ME banks ( I was checking over the weekend ).
I would think that any ATEMs with auxiliary outputs could do this - but I've only checked the Constellation.

I sent out the Key from one of the Chroma Key generators
From memory you can output Upstream Key 1-4 of ME 1-4 ( as well as fill )

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Coulthurst, Google [Bot], max_rekorder, RolfBirlenbach and 28 guests