Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub!

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 558
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub!

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 5:47 am

Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

Robert Schemitsch

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 10:01 am

Cool! Thank you for that information!

A nice feature for my old videohub-panel with my constellation now!
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 4761
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 1:29 pm

Holy F..... :o :shock:

If for real you could use the Videohub panels to route the outputs that would be amazing..

But that also implies that the Atem is running 2 protocols now? Atem protocol and Telnet Videohub protocol at the same time? Is this assumption correct Ian?

If so this would mean you can switch over any output of the mixer by simple telnet commands.. Opening a whole new level of control for the Atems...
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 4761
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 1:46 pm

Well seams that feature is ONLY for the latest Atems like the Constellation and Atem minis.

Just fired up my 4ME Broadcast. Atem software version 8.5.2 connects correctly. But no connection starting up from the videohub software (Version 7.0.3 Latest )

What could be is that the Older atems seem not to have gotten a real FW update in a while.. So yes it will update.. But there is nothing changed to the FW build for that particular Atem.

So my guess is that it only applies to the Constellation and the Atem mini for the moment as those have recently had a real update.

Fingers crossed these features trickle back in the older atems too.. But often not the case..... :?
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline
User avatar

MitchellNeth

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:37 pm
  • Location: The Midwest, USA
  • Real Name: Mitchell Neth

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 3:12 pm

How did I not know about this!??
Mitchell Neth
LTN Global - Create
Broadcast Engineer
Constellation 8K, URSA Broadcast SFC/CFC Camera Chains
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 4761
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 3:24 pm

Seams to be snuck into one of the latest FW updates.. ;) BUT great addition..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Thibaud

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:05 am
  • Real Name: Thibaud Lepercq

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostThu Feb 11, 2021 11:26 pm

Very good addition, in theory. But it it doesn't work with the ATEM Constellation, even though all is up to date on my side (and it works fine in ATEM Software Control) . Maybe Blackmagic blocked it in recent ATEM Constellation hardware versions. I think it's more of a temporary glitch than something that we will see in the future, because then they wouldn't sell any videohubs...
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1850
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostFri Feb 12, 2021 12:18 am

Videohub 40x40 is cheaper then Constellation ! :)

I have not HW panel for Videohub .. I dont know how can I use this "new" feature ..
http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk
Offline

Robert Schemitsch

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostFri Feb 12, 2021 11:05 am

On which firmware-versions does it work on your side?
Offline

Pedro Ruiz Mateos

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:45 pm
  • Location: Gran Canaria - Spain

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostSat Feb 13, 2021 9:14 am

I understood that there is an update for constellation, in my case it does not pass from 8.1.2, to you?
Pedro Ruiz Mateos
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 4761
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostMon Feb 15, 2021 1:04 pm

It only works on the Atem minis. Unfortunately not on the constellation while the assumption was there earlier..

I put a video in the comments of this FB post with a video showing a panel be used on an Atem mini Pro.. ;)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1646532 ... 824535590/
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Robert Schemitsch

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostMon Feb 15, 2021 4:19 pm

I also tried it with my constellation. So, I hope for an update on my constellation!
Offline

Robert Schemitsch

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostSat Feb 20, 2021 9:07 am

Anything news on the constellation with the new firmware regarding this topic? Did't have the chance yet to try it out.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 4761
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostMon Feb 22, 2021 11:30 am

Nope dont seem to be at the moment.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Robert Schemitsch

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostMon Feb 22, 2021 2:01 pm

:( so let's hope for an update
Offline

nathsteeley

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:47 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Real Name: Nathan Steele

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostFri Jun 18, 2021 11:42 am



Hi Ian, does this would work with the older videohub panels as well as the new ones?!
Cheers!
Offline

Thibaud

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:05 am
  • Real Name: Thibaud Lepercq

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostMon Jul 19, 2021 2:15 pm

The update is there !! Thanks Blackmagic !!!
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1850
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostTue Jul 20, 2021 12:38 am

ATEM Camera Control Panel starting to work ?
http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk
Offline

eMilty

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:54 pm
  • Real Name: Marco Miltenburg

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostTue Jul 20, 2021 11:13 am

As @Thibaud says it has just been released for the consellation. But to me this would still be useless as the audio on all AUX outputs is always PGM audio. So it can not be used as a true video hub to e.g. route inputs to recorders for ISO recording.
Offline

Thibaud

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:05 am
  • Real Name: Thibaud Lepercq

Re: Anyone have a Constellation? Connect to it with VideoHub

PostWed Jul 21, 2021 1:06 am

Yes, forgot to mention that part! Same audio for all outputs sadly yes....

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 23 guests