ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mark Payne

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 12:33 pm

ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostMon Apr 26, 2021 4:34 pm

I just used the Extreme ISO to record a live interview, where I employed the Supersource, and in the ISO recording, all is well. However, when I opened up the davinci file, all the supersource moments were replaced by solid black stills. Does the Extreme ISO NOT record the supersource events to the resolve file? Or, did I set something up wrong?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 1083
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostMon Apr 26, 2021 5:19 pm

no, the supersource will not be recorded
but you can the programm out back in the an input to record
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC 6k pro (7.3.1)
BMPCC 4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve studio 17.3.1
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
Offline

Vedmich

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu May 06, 2021 6:59 pm
  • Real Name: Viktor Vedmich

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostTue May 18, 2021 10:10 pm

Is it software limitation or hardware?
And when you @Mark Foster said: "but you can the program out back in the an input to record"
What did you mean? How to restore super source animation and composition?
Offline

Frank Engel

  • Posts: 704
  • Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 11:09 pm
  • Real Name: Frank Engel

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostFri May 21, 2021 9:05 am

Wondering why they wouldn't set it up as a Fusion comp or similar in the produced project file and cut to that?

Not recording supersource as a video file is probably a mix of hardware and software limitations, but the supersource is simply a composite built from the exiting inputs which are recorded, so there should easily be a way to represent that in the project file, and I can't imagine why that would be a hardware limitation.
Offline

TimBradley

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 11:41 pm
  • Location: Australia
  • Real Name: Tim Bradley

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostWed Jun 30, 2021 3:30 am

Dear Black Magic,

Do you have either a firmware update for ATEM Mini Extreme or Davinci Resolve update in the works to enable the easy re-edit of Live Streams when Super Source is used?

Currently I output Super source from HDMI out 2, then send that into a camera input to record a clean version of the Super Source boxes/framing. While this works its not ideal as I use up an output and one input. Some jobs I will not have the luxury of having a spare output.

I love both the ATEM Extreme ISO and Davinci Reslve 17. Thanks for great tools!!

Cheers,
Tim
Tim Bradley
Video Cameraman and Live Streaming Austalia
http://coastvideo.com.au
Offline

Mark Payne

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 12:33 pm

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostFri Jul 16, 2021 11:45 pm

Echoing the question posed by @timbradley here: anything in the works to enable the resolve editing in post of the super source. Like he said - right now we are using up an input and an output, AND while it works - it can't be edited, either, so it ends up being a non feature when I need to work on the resolve file afterwards. I do LOVE the ATEM Extreme ISO, and super source is an incredible tool, but quite crippled when it can't be edited as the rest of the resolve session created by the recording.

Here's hoping something it in the works! Any hints would be so much appreciated.

Regards,
Mark
Offline

Raphaël Jacquot

  • Posts: 656
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostSun Jul 18, 2021 3:40 pm

Mark Payne wrote:I just used the Extreme ISO to record a live interview, where I employed the Supersource, and in the ISO recording, all is well. However, when I opened up the davinci file, all the supersource moments were replaced by solid black stills. Does the Extreme ISO NOT record the supersource events to the resolve file? Or, did I set something up wrong?


no, it won't record the output of the supersource, but it will create the appropriate data for resolve to recreate the effect with all the recorded sources
Offline

TimBradley

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 11:41 pm
  • Location: Australia
  • Real Name: Tim Bradley

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostMon Jul 19, 2021 12:24 am

[quote="Raphaël Jacquot"
..... it will create the appropriate data for resolve to recreate the effect with all the recorded sources[/quote]

Hi Raphael, I must be missing something as the ISO only records the inputs, As far as I can work out it records nothing about the supersource settings/layout/inputs/animations. So recreating your supersource layout in Davinci is a lot of work. Hopefully I am a wrong and you can let me know how to do it easily.


Thank you,
Tim
Tim Bradley
Video Cameraman and Live Streaming Austalia
http://coastvideo.com.au
Offline

Mark Payne

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 12:33 pm

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostMon Jul 19, 2021 1:28 pm

Raphaël Jacquot wrote:
Mark Payne wrote:I just used the Extreme ISO to record a live interview, where I employed the Supersource, and in the ISO recording, all is well. However, when I opened up the davinci file, all the supersource moments were replaced by solid black stills. Does the Extreme ISO NOT record the supersource events to the resolve file? Or, did I set something up wrong?


no, it won't record the output of the supersource, but it will create the appropriate data for resolve to recreate the effect with all the recorded sources


I can’t find this info either - boy, if the data were in there somewhere, that would be a good stopgap until BM builds the feature into an update. Do let us know if you know where we can find this data…

Thanks!
Mark
Offline

Mark Payne

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 12:33 pm

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostFri Jul 23, 2021 10:27 am

Hi All,

I heard back from BM support on this topic, and if I'm understanding right from what they said - the DRP file does have the super source info, however RESOLVE doesn't read it, so in fact, it's an update/change to RESOLVE that would need to happen. It doesn't sound that that feature is in plans to be implemented (they couldn't say), but if enough people request it as a new feature, maybe it'll get prioritized!! :-)

i could be wrong on all this, but from the response from tech support, that's what i garnered.

Cheers,
Mark
Offline

TimBradley

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 11:41 pm
  • Location: Australia
  • Real Name: Tim Bradley

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 2:10 am

Mark Payne wrote:Hi All,

I heard back from BM support on this topic, and if I'm understanding right from what they said - the DRP file does have the super source info, however RESOLVE doesn't read it, so in fact, it's an update/change to RESOLVE that would need to happen. It doesn't sound that that feature is in plans to be implemented (they couldn't say), but if enough people request it as a new feature, maybe it'll get prioritized!! :-)

i could be wrong on all this, but from the response from tech support, that's what i garnered.

Cheers,
Mark


Thanks Mark! Great to hear that it may be resolved in Resolve one day.
Tim Bradley
Video Cameraman and Live Streaming Austalia
http://coastvideo.com.au
Offline

babulm

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2021 4:51 pm
  • Real Name: Babul Mukherjee

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostTue Aug 03, 2021 5:03 pm

+1

Here's hoping we can see/manage SuperSource on our ISO recordings within Resolve soon! :D

I was quite surprised this wasn't available already. We started using SuperSource since we integrated MixEffect into our live shows, because it's so easy and visual.

I was really hoping we could tweak the camera and SuperSource in Resolve to be better timed.
Offline

Raphaël Jacquot

  • Posts: 656
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostTue Aug 03, 2021 8:26 pm

TimBradley wrote:[quote="Raphaël Jacquot"
..... it will create the appropriate data for resolve to recreate the effect with all the recorded sources


Hi Raphael, I must be missing something as the ISO only records the inputs, As far as I can work out it records nothing about the supersource settings/layout/inputs/animations. So recreating your supersource layout in Davinci is a lot of work. Hopefully I am a wrong and you can let me know how to do it easily.


Thank you,
Tim[/quote]

ah, it should, that's a bug then.
Offline

Tim_Partridge

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:40 pm
  • Real Name: Tim Partridge

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 1:02 am

I have recorded a test project going through all kinds of features on the Extreme firmware 8.6.1and looked at the project it created. I also loaded the project into Resolve 17.2.2

The Extreme writes out upstream keyer, cut and transition data. The type of the transition is written out when it is changed, but the transition itself is two different records (start and end).

Picture in picture information is captured too for both DVEs.

No information was written out when selecting the arrangement of Supersource sources, or when inputs were assigned to them. When Supersource was put live, the project contained a use of source 0 which is Black.

When I loaded the project into Resolve, I got the following

No sign of upstream key
Down stream key 1 was actioned in the project but I didn't test that properly, so can't vouch for the visual outcome.
The transitions were all at the proper time, but all the mix ones were a basic disolve. Looks as though Resolve isn't remembering the current setting of the transition type when it reads the project. (Or the format needs to be different when written so the ATEM remebers the type and specifies everything in the same command.)

Single and double picture in picture worked with all the buttons on the Extreme.

Supersource didn't work apart from black appearing when it should be live. As noted above this is due to what the ATEM writes in the project file.

So looks like the ATEM firmware needs an improved version to write out Supersource data. Since PIP worked I am hopeful it shouldn't be too difficult. (Though there are special cases to consider like Supersource and PIP at the same time for a potential six videos at once.)

Hope that sheds some light on things,

Tim
Offline
User avatar

Robert Baker

  • Posts: 99
  • Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: ATEM MINI EXTREME ISO - Supersource - does it record?

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 4:01 pm

Thanks for that info, Tim, and the testing. I just found out, the hard way, that Super Source is not saved into the ISO recording. I hope there is a fix for it soon. While I know that setting the second HDMI output to Super Source and then sending that back into an input would work that would tie up my second output and changes my flexibility.
I could also just take the mixed down recording and edit in the Super Source from that but that makes the process more tedious.
Small List of my current toolset:

BMPCC6k - EVA1 - GH5 - Canon R - DaVinci Resolve Studio - Adobe CC - Sony Soundforge 11 - Izotope RX7 - Izotope Elements

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Johannes Jonsson and 26 guests