Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ColinMulcahy

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:04 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostThu Jul 01, 2021 3:58 pm

Hi, Hoping someone can help as I have a big event on Saturday. Having issues with the Web Presenter HD with live streaming.

I'm running 2.1. I've ran numerous tests today to facebook and youtube.

Both YouTube and Facebook are giving me errors that they are not receiving enough video signal and they are buffering.

- The cache is maxing out at 100%.
- Once WPHD is running, and cached out I can't stop the stream. Buttons have no effect.

I have an internet connection - 600MB down and 100 Up.

I also have WOWZA Clearcaster and its running perfectly on the same connection. No issues whats so ever.

Any ideas?
4K setup with 6 x URSA Mini Pro 4.6K (G1 & G2), 2 x BMDPCC 6K, BMD 4/ME Broadcast 4K, 6 x Hyperdeck Studio 12G's, CCU, Advanced Panel with all the other BMD units for Live Production.
Offline

ColinMulcahy

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:04 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostThu Jul 01, 2021 4:27 pm

Hi All,

Learning a bit more about this problem.

Apparently this is a known issue. No matter how big your line is. If the latency is too high it will max out on cache. It’s a bmd issue.
4K setup with 6 x URSA Mini Pro 4.6K (G1 & G2), 2 x BMDPCC 6K, BMD 4/ME Broadcast 4K, 6 x Hyperdeck Studio 12G's, CCU, Advanced Panel with all the other BMD units for Live Production.
Offline

mpesavento

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:26 pm
  • Real Name: Mike Pesavento

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostTue Jul 13, 2021 3:57 am

Had the same problem with my Web Presenter HD. After going live the cache would slowly fill to 100% and then just stay at 100%. The unit displayed "Live" but the the service never received the stream (I tried YouTube, Twitch, and Restream). Turns out the problem was audio. The stream services were waiting for audio data from the WPHD. I turned the audio feed from my camera 'ON' (I was just testing the unit with direct camera input) and now have had no connection issues with any of the stream services. The cache settles nicely at 0-3%.
Offline

Kevin Norris

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:23 pm
  • Location: San Diego

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSat Jul 24, 2021 1:57 am

Currently have the exact same issue. Cache goes to 100% and not a single streaming service is picking me up. I am feeding it Video and Audio. No change. Stream quality is currently set to low. Feeding it 1080p 60

Thoughts?


mpesavento wrote:Had the same problem with my Web Presenter HD. After going live the cache would slowly fill to 100% and then just stay at 100%. The unit displayed "Live" but the the service never received the stream (I tried YouTube, Twitch, and Restream). Turns out the problem was audio. The stream services were waiting for audio data from the WPHD. I turned the audio feed from my camera 'ON' (I was just testing the unit with direct camera input) and now have had no connection issues with any of the stream services. The cache settles nicely at 0-3%.
Offline

RobbieBott

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:20 am
  • Real Name: Robbie Bott

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSun Jul 25, 2021 6:23 am

Have the same issue. Cache starts to fill up and the device basically becomes unresponsive. Has anyone heard anything from BMD as far as a solution goes?

I have a 30Mb/s upload, our Magewell Ultra Stream, which works just fine on this connection.

Can we downgrade firmware?
Offline

RobbieBott

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:20 am
  • Real Name: Robbie Bott

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSun Jul 25, 2021 6:45 am

RobbieBott wrote:Can we downgrade firmware?


Yes, you can. Download the 2.0 version from their website. Uninstall the 2.1 version, install the 2.0 version, and upon opening the 2.0 version it says there is a firmware update. However, it doesn't help... a $500 paper weight is currently what this thing is.
Offline

Pedro Ruiz Mateos

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:45 pm
  • Location: Gran Canaria - Spain

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSun Jul 25, 2021 7:25 pm

It's sad but that's the way it is, it's no use to me, I had to buy a vidiu x so as not to fail my clients
Pedro Ruiz Mateos
Offline

Kevin Norris

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:23 pm
  • Location: San Diego

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSun Jul 25, 2021 7:28 pm

Now I know why B&H wasn't carrying this product. They didn't want to have to deal with the returns! HA HA
Broadcast Engineering
HDR | Sports | Entertainment
Offline

Pedro Ruiz Mateos

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:45 pm
  • Location: Gran Canaria - Spain

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSun Jul 25, 2021 7:38 pm

Well yes :D
Pedro Ruiz Mateos
Offline

ColinMulcahy

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:04 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostMon Jul 26, 2021 10:07 pm

Update:

I’ve emailed BMD support on a couple of occasions in a very friendly way and sadly they have ignored my emails :-(

I have spent over €1500 and have 3 Web Presenter HD’s that now sit in my studio as paperweights.
4K setup with 6 x URSA Mini Pro 4.6K (G1 & G2), 2 x BMDPCC 6K, BMD 4/ME Broadcast 4K, 6 x Hyperdeck Studio 12G's, CCU, Advanced Panel with all the other BMD units for Live Production.
Offline

RobbieBott

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:20 am
  • Real Name: Robbie Bott

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostThu Jul 29, 2021 9:36 pm

ColinMulcahy wrote:Hi, Hoping someone can help as I have a big event on Saturday. Having issues with the Web Presenter HD with live streaming.

I'm running 2.1. I've ran numerous tests today to facebook and youtube.

Both YouTube and Facebook are giving me errors that they are not receiving enough video signal and they are buffering.

- The cache is maxing out at 100%.
- Once WPHD is running, and cached out I can't stop the stream. Buttons have no effect.

I have an internet connection - 600MB down and 100 Up.

I also have WOWZA Clearcaster and its running perfectly on the same connection. No issues whats so ever.

Any ideas?



Would you by chance be using Ubiquiti network gear? My Web Presenter Streams just fine via my hotspot which has a way crappier service. 15x5 if I'm lucky with latency upwards of 60+.. however, once I connect it to my Unifi UDM Pro it streams for a bit then craps out...
Offline

RobbieBott

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:20 am
  • Real Name: Robbie Bott

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostThu Jul 29, 2021 9:47 pm

Pedro Ruiz Mateos wrote:It's sad but that's the way it is, it's no use to me, I had to buy a vidiu x so as not to fail my clients



UniFi Network gear?
Offline

RobbieBott

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:20 am
  • Real Name: Robbie Bott

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostThu Jul 29, 2021 9:48 pm

Kevin Norris wrote:Currently have the exact same issue. Cache goes to 100% and not a single streaming service is picking me up. I am feeding it Video and Audio. No change. Stream quality is currently set to low. Feeding it 1080p 60

Thoughts?


mpesavento wrote:Had the same problem with my Web Presenter HD. After going live the cache would slowly fill to 100% and then just stay at 100%. The unit displayed "Live" but the the service never received the stream (I tried YouTube, Twitch, and Restream). Turns out the problem was audio. The stream services were waiting for audio data from the WPHD. I turned the audio feed from my camera 'ON' (I was just testing the unit with direct camera input) and now have had no connection issues with any of the stream services. The cache settles nicely at 0-3%.


Unifi/Ubiquiti Network gear?
Offline

Thomas Beck

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:22 pm
  • Location: West Milton, OH USA

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 12:40 am

Did the version 3 update fix the problems you all are having with the cache? I am in the same boat. Seems to me they should fix the current version before releasing a new one.
Offline

RobbieBott

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:20 am
  • Real Name: Robbie Bott

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 3:17 am

Thomas Beck wrote:Did the version 3 update fix the problems you all are having with the cache? I am in the same boat. Seems to me they should fix the current version before releasing a new one.


Version 3 firmware is only for the 4k model, however, you can still use the version 3 software to view and edit the HD version.

What is your network gear?
Offline
User avatar

Johannes Jonsson

  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 2:35 pm
  • Location: Iceland

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostFri Jul 30, 2021 11:18 am

Have you guys checked if your network settings on your Web presenter are matching the network you are using to stream, DCHP or the static IP settings?
Pretty sure you did, just checking.
Johannes
Offline

alazzerini

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2021 1:17 am
  • Real Name: Andres Lazzerini

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostTue Aug 03, 2021 9:41 pm

Hi!

I'm having the same problem here...I've tried every trick in my book, to no avail. The problem is also not consistent, so I can't replicate it to isolate it. Some times a configuration works, some other it doesn't.

Has anybody found a solution or received a response from BMD?

Cheers!
Offline

Videobegin

  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 7:22 am
  • Real Name: Olaf Chen

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 10:18 am

alazzerini wrote:I've tried every trick in my book.

You may have a box from your internet provider. Have you tryed to connect it in bridge mode ?
hyperdeck 12G - Teranex HDMI to SDI 12G - Teranex hdmi<>optical - ATEM Television Studio Pro 4K - Web presenter HD - BMPCC 4K - Studio Camera 4K Pro
Offline

Kevin Norris

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:23 pm
  • Location: San Diego

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 2:29 pm

Does anyone here have a functioning Web presenter HD?

Thanks
Kevin
Offline

Andy Coulthurst

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 7:12 pm

Kevin Norris wrote:Does anyone here have a functioning Web presenter HD?

Thanks
Kevin

Yes thanks.
Offline

Andy Coulthurst

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 7:44 pm

You may wish to check if your ISP is interfering with your DNS queries as this can sometimes have a detrimental effect.

https://www.dnsleaktest.com/what-is-transparent-dns-proxy.html

My ISP does this , and has a way to disable it.

The interception can be transparent , so even using 8.8.8.8 can be re-directed to their own DNS.
Offline

Thomas Beck

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:22 pm
  • Location: West Milton, OH USA

Re: Web Presenter HD - Live Streaming Issues

PostSun Aug 08, 2021 9:48 pm

SOLVED

Many of my issues in regards to the video world and particularly streaming is when the video side of things crossed in to the world of the internet. Networking, data rates, ip addresses, etc tend to be what gets me in trouble. This was no different.

In a nutshell the default data rate on the hd presenter for streaming low is around 4mb/s. The venues I have been testing it in for various reasons, can not keep up with that rate resulting in the cache quickly filling and for the stream to fail.

So, I obtained an xml template, loaded it up in and xml editor and set the lowest youtube setting to be safely below what my internets max upload ability is and loaded the file into the web presenter hd. It is now working like a dream. I understand why bmd sets the settings where they do. They assume we all have great internet and they want the results to look good so they set them high.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests