ATEM Constelation 3G level A/B problem

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1913
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

ATEM Constelation 3G level A/B problem

PostMon Oct 18, 2021 10:17 pm

I have in small esport TV : Atem Constelation , VideoHUB, some HYPERDECKS and AJA OG-DANTE-12GAM audio embeder ( https://www.aja.com/products/og-dante-12gam ) .. We are making programs in 1080p50 resolutions .. So SDI 3G is our friend .. And here is problem ..
We use 4 HYPERDECKS for recording program .. And It will randomly hangs .. Sometime 1 .. Sometime 2 at same time .. Never all 4 decks at same time .. But its not everyday .. In last week .. One day we was recorded 12 hour on all 4 hyperdecks without hang .. Next 2 days we got random hangs .. Its from 20 minutes to 1-2 hours interval .. When Hyperdecks stop recording , display is black , all button are off, disk is green .. After 3-4 sec it will start working , so we press record button , and program is recording again .. And after this two ******* days with hanging , we got next day with no problems .. 12 hour recording without hangs ..

Here is record of one game : https://chucktv.eu/archiv-prehraj?video ... 9836b81c18

So .. All cameras (BMD URSA Broadcast) and Computers are connected to ATEM Constelation .. Output from ATEM is going into video HUB ..Video from VIDEOHUB is going int AJA 12G DANTE embeder .. SDI OUT is going back to VIDEOHUB .. And all 4 Hypredecks are getting video with embeded audio from Videohub to record program output with sound ..

I was long time investigated where can be problem .. And yesterday I found one crazy thing .. When ATEM output is selected to 3G Level B ... There incorrect Input show in in AJA embeder .. When I will switch ATEM to 3G level A output , AJA is ok and show 1080p50 .. Look at included video on bottom ..

Its problem for me, because we use BMD Talkback 4K module for BMD Cameras , and when I switch to 3G level A , Cameras cannot be controlled for color correction (talkback module works only with 3G level B) ..

Do you thing that its problem with ATEM or AJA embeder ?

http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 1197
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: ATEM Constelation 3G level A/B problem

PostTue Oct 19, 2021 5:27 am

One thing to keep in mind is that there are multiple signal format mappings supported within the 3G SDI Level B specs. This includes both 3G SDI Dual Link and 3G SDI Dual Stream. Some of these formats were carried over from specifications where higher bandwidth 3G signals were split over two 1.5G SDI cables. And some were designed to support different uses for the higher bandwidth beyond just high frame rate 1080p50 or 1080p60 video. For example, it is possible to do 10-bit or 12-bit 4:4:4 video at up to 1080p30 over 3G SDI as well as stereoscopic 3D (in which case each 1.5G stream may contain slightly different video).

There is a document from AJA that has an overview of some of these different 3G SDI mappings here:
https://www.aja.com/pdf/qa/Dual_Link_an ... erview.pdf

In my experience, some of the AJA products have often tried to support a few more of these less common 3G formats than other manufacturers (a lot of stuff just supports 3G SDI Level A and that's it). But I have occasionally have compatibility issues with some Blackmagic 3G SDI Level B gear and certain AJA converters in the past. I think the incoming signal was detected as one of the alternative 3G SDI Level B formats rather than just higher frame rate 1080p50/60 video. So I would probably suggest trying to get in touch with AJA support to see if they have any insight.

In the meantime, you can use the MicroConverter BiDirectional SDI/HDMI converter as a 3G SDI Level A to B converter (or Level B to A), because it accepts both formats on SDI input and has an option in the setup utility to configure the desired 3G SDI output level. So you can run everything at one 3G SDI Level and then put the MicroConverter in front of whatever needs to use the alternate SDI level.

It's not ideal to need another piece of gear for this, but at least the BiDirectional MicroConverters are not that expensive.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 4887
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: ATEM Constelation 3G level A/B problem

PostTue Oct 19, 2021 12:35 pm

i suspect just another F*up in Payload ID's.. As which is pretty common with BMD hardware to send incorrect Payload id's with the output signal.

As known the 12G output of the Constellation also is flagged as Rec2020 while in 709 mode. So there are some issues with the constellation.

I have to hook it up to our Phabrix QX 12G sometime to pull out these issues and flag them to BMD staff with the correct Payload id's they need to output. Done this in the past for other products and that helped fix a few products such as the Ursa Broadcast SDI output. ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1913
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: ATEM Constelation 3G level A/B problem

PostTue Oct 19, 2021 9:27 pm

Boys thanks for REPLY .. I was created new test today .. I was connected URSA BROADCAST direct to Videohub -> AJA EMBEDER ..

BOTH 3G Level A and Level B are rock solid on 1080p50 ..

http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: quadjojo and 25 guests