Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Rkdnson

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2022 5:50 pm
  • Real Name: Ted Brown

Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

PostSun Jul 03, 2022 5:59 pm

Hello everyone.

Looking into the Blackmagic 8K Constellation. From my research, and testing the following on my Atem HD it looks like what I am asking is not possible - but just wanted to confirm.

Does the ATEM Constellation 8K keep the input resolution if routed straight to an output, or does it change all output EDID's to the program output.

Example:

Inputs:
4 x UltraHD (3840x2160) via 12G SDI
4 x HD (1920x1080) via 3G SDI

Routing the above to outputs 1-8 respectfully on the Atem constellation.

Could I view outputs 5-8 on a 3G device with a 3G SDI cable?

Thanks all
Offline

Frank Engel

  • Posts: 841
  • Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 11:09 pm
  • Real Name: Frank Engel

Re: Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

PostWed Jul 06, 2022 2:19 pm

The documentation clearly states that the switcher will always perform a clean switch when changing the source of an aux out; that would not be possible if the format were to be changed, thus the aux outs are always running at the same format It will only maintain the input format if it happens to match the output format that is set for the switcher. You can only get those outputs to be in HD format if you run the entire switcher in HD format.

If this is not what you want, you may need to consider putting a routing switcher such as something from the VideoHub series in front of the ATEM.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 5101
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

PostWed Jul 06, 2022 3:49 pm

Nope doesn't work like that.

Once you run 4K it wont be able to do HD at the same time.. Only for the Multiviewers.

I know companies that use 2 Constellations in Tandem. 1 for 4K and then routing 12 sources trough auxes to the 2nd Constellation used as a XX channel HD downconverter :( :(
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 2045
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

PostWed Jul 06, 2022 11:50 pm

LIttlebit expensive downconverters :)
http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 5101
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

PostMon Jul 11, 2022 8:10 am

Roman Pytkin Pekarek wrote:LIttlebit expensive downconverters :)

12 teranex AV or Decimator 12G-Cross will cost you more.. ;)

And you get 4 extra multiviewers as a present :lol: :lol:
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Frank Engel

  • Posts: 841
  • Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 11:09 pm
  • Real Name: Frank Engel

Re: Constellation 8K - Mixing output resolutions

PostMon Jul 11, 2022 9:58 am

In this case the OP is asking to take four signals which start off as HD and tap HD outputs from them - in other words, he does not need to have them converted back from UHD, but rather maintain a tap of the original signal.

This could be done by duplicating the signal going into the switcher (using something like a VideoHub) rather than trying to downscale the UHD signal coming out of the switcher, which was originally upscaled from the format which is wanted for these extra taps.

If the OP does want HD versions of the signals which started out as UHD, those would obviously need to be run through a converter.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David_Anderson and 19 guests