1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation HD

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation HD

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 4:08 pm

Hi all

I certainly didn't know this, so here's a heads up... the new Constellation HD range is NOT reverse compatible with the original 1 M/E broadcast panel. I have 3 of these panels and wanted to use them with the new Constellation 2 M/E.

From BMD UKSupport today...

"Hi Matt,

Thank you for contacting Black Magic Support.

The ATEM 1M/E Broadcast Panel is currently not compatible with the ATEM Constellation HD range.

Our develops are currently working on this, however I could not comment on a timescale for any resolution."

...now I thought all panels were supposed to work with all switchers?
Offline

codedeltajames

  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:30 am
  • Location: UK
  • Real Name: James Goodwin

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 4:41 pm

There's been a few threads about this issue already:
  • https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=162226
  • https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=162993
  • https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=161237
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 4:50 pm

codedeltajames wrote:There's been a few threads about this issue already:
  • https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=162226
  • https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=162993
  • https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=161237


Many thanks for that; hope they get this one sorted soon
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 1871
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 9:01 pm

Sounds like a straight lie to me. Blackmagic has released an entire line of switchers since this issue was first reported. Anytime they use the word timeline, outside of Resolve, it’s a safe bet it’s never going to happen. Prove me wrong.

Good Luck
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 9:01 am

Howard Roll wrote:Sounds like a straight lie to me. Blackmagic has released an entire line of switchers since this issue was first reported. Anytime they use the word timeline, outside of Resolve, it’s a safe bet it’s never going to happen. Prove me wrong.

Good Luck



Thanks Howard; latest response this morning...

Hi Matt,

As I said in my previous email, this is currently being worked on by our developers to make the older Broadcast Panels compatible with our latest Constellation HD switchers, however they do not operate together.

Please keep updated via our website for any announcements regarding this.

If you have any further inquiries regarding you Black Magic products, please do not hesitate to contact us further."

... this was in response to my asking where in the sales blurb it specifically says that the older panels are not reverse compatible as you would expect for a piece or broadcast kit, but they have dodged a direct answer. We'll see what happens I guess.
Offline

Asgeir Hustad

  • Posts: 314
  • Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:13 am
  • Location: Norway

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 9:23 am

Well, even the 8.5-software was not compatible with the Constellation HD - you needed to update to 8.7 to have the source-buttons actually populated with sources, even though the Audio and Media-tabs worked. So it's not unnatural that there is a protocol update here that hasn't been implemented on the older surfaces.

Since the older style panels are also removed from the website now, it's not that unexpected that they would eventually stop getting updated for newer versions of switchers. The smaller 1M/E Broadcast Panel is marked as Discontinued at the retailers as well.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 5149
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 10:07 am

It's PURE marketing. Selling new panels.

The fact that the BMD protocol actually doesnt change that much/ not at all lately.. ;)
Also fact the Panel is communicating with the Switcher!! Because it retrieves the name of the Atem. and displays this in the screen of your panel.

Meaning it has a perfect connection, keeps a perfect connection, as it does not go back to Searching for Atem on xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

So basically it is a software block to move people into buying new panels. :? :?

And the big problem is that they are not able to sell new panels due too short supply of parts..

With IBC within 4 weeks.. They will get a LOT of complains if they do not fix this issue soon!! :roll: :roll:

Very BAD move from BMD to play it out like this with no Fair warning that the old panels are not supported anymore.
Should have been a BIG statement from release...
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 2:55 pm

Asgeir Hustad wrote:Well, even the 8.5-software was not compatible with the Constellation HD - you needed to update to 8.7 to have the source-buttons actually populated with sources, even though the Audio and Media-tabs worked. So it's not unnatural that there is a protocol update here that hasn't been implemented on the older surfaces.

Since the older style panels are also removed from the website now, it's not that unexpected that they would eventually stop getting updated for newer versions of switchers. The smaller 1M/E Broadcast Panel is marked as Discontinued at the retailers as well.


All fair points; what I found frustrating was that there was no overt messaging in any sales material I saw to say that the older panels would not be retrospectively supported, and as other have commented it would appear as though there is no solid technical reason for this; (I'm no engineer though so am prepared to be corrected). Given that we're at the broadcast end here I would imagine there are quite a few installs where the switcher would be upgraded but not necessarily the panel; this is not an "all in one" system like the minis or the TV Studios, so I do hope they address this in the next update.
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 2:57 pm

Xtreemtec wrote:It's PURE marketing. Selling new panels.

The fact that the BMD protocol actually doesnt change that much/ not at all lately.. ;)
Also fact the Panel is communicating with the Switcher!! Because it retrieves the name of the Atem. and displays this in the screen of your panel.

Meaning it has a perfect connection, keeps a perfect connection, as it does not go back to Searching for Atem on xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

So basically it is a software block to move people into buying new panels. :? :?

And the big problem is that they are not able to sell new panels due too short supply of parts..

With IBC within 4 weeks.. They will get a LOT of complains if they do not fix this issue soon!! :roll: :roll:

Completely agree; let's hope they're on it as they say they are

Very BAD move from BMD to play it out like this with no Fair warning that the old panels are not supported anymore.
Should have been a BIG statement from release...
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 1871
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 3:02 pm

Somehow these guys on eBay can reverse engineer the protocol in their garage and make 30 year old Ross and GV panels work with the Atem switchers, but BM with all the source code and resources are still working on it after 1.5 years? If they want to go radio silence then fine, but to say they're working on it when they're not doesn't sit with me for a second.

Good Luck

s-l1600.jpg
s-l1600.jpg (134.87 KiB) Viewed 1058 times
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostWed Aug 17, 2022 7:39 am

Howard Roll wrote:Somehow these guys on eBay can reverse engineer the protocol in their garage and make 30 year old Ross and GV panels work with the Atem switchers, but BM with all the source code and resources are still working on it after 1.5 years? If they want to go radio silence then fine, but to say they're working on it when they're not doesn't sit with me for a second.

Good Luck

s-l1600.jpg



Thanks Howard; completely agree... maybe those same guys are across this thread and could make a box for our older BMD panels...there's clearly a demand!!
Offline

Sharuruu

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2022 7:53 pm
  • Location: France
  • Real Name: Charles BOMMERT

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostWed Sep 07, 2022 1:34 pm

Bonjour Matt !

Im my company we bought a 2 M/E with the advanced panel.
The audio button on the panel isn't working, not because of the panel, but because BM developpers did not work on it. Gary Adams from BlackMagic told on 2018 on another topic : " The Audio menu functionality has not been enabled yet. Regards. Gary"

So maybe you will have to be patient :o
DaVinci Editor and Fusion lover since 2017.
Live Director with ATEM Mini/Extreme/2ME Production 4K and Hyperdeck/Webpresenter products
Offline

BoskoMan

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:27 pm
  • Real Name: Bosko Mangarovski

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostSat Sep 10, 2022 9:21 am

It's nonsense. Instead of purchasing variety of products, now we have to spend on buying another (Advanced) control panel.
Offline

MattDavey

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Sep 27, 2022 3:29 pm

Credit where credit's due; thanks BMD for v8.9... a massive relief to a lot of broadcast panel owners
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 2085
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostTue Sep 27, 2022 10:11 pm

So old panels works with Constelation HD ATEMs now ?
http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk
Offline

DavisJones

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2021 11:26 pm
  • Real Name: Davis Jones

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 1:56 am

Roman Pytkin Pekarek wrote:So old panels works with Constelation HD ATEMs now ?

yes https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... be3e5b4e18
Offline
User avatar

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 2085
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm
  • Location: SVK

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostWed Sep 28, 2022 9:44 pm

YES ! I will test it on evetnt tommorow ..
http://tally.pytkin.sk
http://chucktv.eu
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://www.media-planet.sk
Offline

Jan Bednar

  • Posts: 66
  • Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:16 pm
  • Location: Prague

Re: 1 M/E Broadcast Panel not compatible with Constellation

PostThu Sep 29, 2022 2:54 pm

We tried it with ATEM mini extreme and it works. But we found some troubles with new firmware and old 1ME production studio - need to check it again, but we were not able to change buttons setup on the panel, even we were not able to clear it to default state.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests