Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

lostarnes

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2022 9:27 pm
  • Real Name: Lee Starnes

Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostTue Dec 06, 2022 9:35 pm

Newbie question. I need to connect a Design Pocket Cinema Camera to an ATEM Mini Pro located 100' or so away. Can you use two of the micro converters as extenders? Or is an HDMI over CAT6 better? Or, your suggestions please. This is for a church.

Thanks in advance

Lee Starnes
Offline

BennoZ

  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:42 pm
  • Real Name: Benno Zwanenburg

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostThu Dec 08, 2022 4:13 pm

You better buy HDMI fiber cables, so you don't need converters :-)
Offline

Cybershadow

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:14 pm
  • Location: Germany
  • Real Name: Jens Willmroth

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostFri Dec 09, 2022 10:58 am

To make use of the camera control features in the ATEM software, you'd need two BiDirectional converters and two SDI connections between those. Optical HDMI cables are way more cost efficient.

I can't recommend consumer grade HDMI extenders. HDbaseT is a different thing but not cheap either.
Last edited by Cybershadow on Mon Dec 12, 2022 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Greetings from Hamburg, Germany
Jens Willmroth
Offline

BennoZ

  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:42 pm
  • Real Name: Benno Zwanenburg

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostFri Dec 09, 2022 11:42 am

I’m using 100 meter HDMI fiber cables from Amazon for a year now, costs were € 119,00. Works perfect!
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 23849
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostFri Dec 09, 2022 5:05 pm

I also have a 100' HDMI fiber cable from Amazon which has worked well for me. This option allows the ATEM Control Software to access and control the camera directly. That doesn't work over SDI.
Offline

BennoZ

  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:42 pm
  • Real Name: Benno Zwanenburg

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostFri Dec 09, 2022 5:18 pm

Jim Simon wrote:That doesn't work over SDI.

It works also over SDI but you need two SDI cables for it to work. Then you also get return video.
Offline

lostarnes

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2022 9:27 pm
  • Real Name: Lee Starnes

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostSun Dec 11, 2022 4:13 pm

Benno and Jim, would you mind sharing the brand hdmi cable you used on Amazon?
Offline

Cybershadow

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:14 pm
  • Location: Germany
  • Real Name: Jens Willmroth

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostMon Dec 12, 2022 10:02 am

You won't get return video from an ATEM Mini. The BiDi Converter just mirrors back the camera video with added camera control and tally information.
Greetings from Hamburg, Germany
Jens Willmroth
Offline

BennoZ

  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:42 pm
  • Real Name: Benno Zwanenburg

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostMon Dec 12, 2022 11:53 am

Cybershadow wrote:You won't get return video from an ATEM Mini. The BiDi Converter just mirrors back the camera video with added camera control and tally information.

I meant the Ursa’s, they will get return video. You’re right about the Pocket of course.
Offline

BennoZ

  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:42 pm
  • Real Name: Benno Zwanenburg

Re: Camera to ATEM Mini Pro over SDI?

PostMon Dec 12, 2022 5:24 pm

lostarnes wrote:Benno and Jim, would you mind sharing the brand hdmi cable you used on Amazon?

I’m using the brand ANNNWZZD

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LouisBacker and 12 guests