Atem mini pro iso using 4.6 pro

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Digiimpact

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:43 am
  • Real Name: Tony Grace

Atem mini pro iso using 4.6 pro

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 9:08 am

can i use UMP with BM SDI-HDMI converters to atem pro iso and still use iso for each camera and be able to re-edit in resolve
TA
Offline

David Hutchinson

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 11:00 am
  • Location: East Yorkshire, UK

Re: Atem mini pro iso using 4.6 pro

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 9:43 am

I think the only issue might be the renaming of the UMP Braw files, this might have to be done manually rather than being automatic, other than that I don't see a problem.
Offline

Digiimpact

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:43 am
  • Real Name: Tony Grace

Re: Atem mini pro iso using 4.6 pro

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 9:44 am

Thanks for that David
Online

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 830
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: Atem mini pro iso using 4.6 pro

PostFri Jul 31, 2020 10:35 pm

You wouldn't be able to trigger the start of recording on the cameras (so that they all start recording at the same time) via the record button on ATEM Mini ISO, since the record start/stop flag will not pass through the SDI to HDMI converters.

Also, with the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Cameras, matching timecode information is sent over HDMI to each camera and this is stamped into each in-camera recording to allow for matching up the timelines in Resolve.

The timecode information won't pass through the SDI to HDMI converters, so you will need to separately feed timecode information into each camera. And the problem then will be that this externally generated timecode may not match the timecode used for the H.264 program and ISO recordings on the ATEM Mini ISO (unless you have a way to extract the LTC timecode from the ATEM Mini HDMI output and send it to the cameras). So you may have trouble matching up the in-camera recordings with the ATEM ISO recordings on the timeline in Resolve.

Obviously the camera control signals won't pass through the SDI to HDMI converters either, so you won't be able to use the color correction and other camera control features in the ATEM Software Control panel to remotely control the camera settings on the URSA Mini Pro.

Finally, there was a firmware update released for the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Cameras which supposedly adds improved metadata support for the ATEM Mini Pro ISO:
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... 4498a004c3

I'm not exactly sure what these metadata improvements were exactly and how Resolve might use them, but the URSA Mini Pro likely would not have this metadata information in its internally recorded files.

If you are ok with all of these restrictions, or if you just want to use the H.264 ISO recordings from the ATEM Mini Pro itself to re-cut the production in Resolve, then I'd guess that would probably work.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12805
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Atem mini pro iso using 4.6 pro

PostSun Aug 02, 2020 6:22 pm

Also, the ATEM Mini/Pro/ISOmis not going to control a Ursa Mini, anyway, so the converter is only going to convert the Video signal to HDMI. The camera CCU on the ATEM Mini is just for the BM Povket 4/6K Camera.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dave Del Vecchio and 18 guests