Newbie advice please

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

PianoPete

Newbie advice please

PostTue Oct 20, 2020 4:48 am

I am a piano instructor and am setting up online lessons. I am considering purchasing the ATEM mini as I need 3+ video inputs & 2 audio inputs is useful.

Current equipment:
2014 MacBook Pro
Canon Vixia HF R600
Tascam DR-44WL (for piano mic)
2 x 12.9 IPad pros (2nd gen)
Sure SM 58 stage mic (for vocal mic)

1- What is the best way to send video feeds from the iPads to the ATEM mini? Is it possible to simultaneously charge the iPads?
2-I’d rather a lav mic than the Sure 58 but I’m on a tight budget..I am guessing the ATEM mini audio inputs are TRS. The lav mics I’ve looked at are TRRS. I know there are adapters available but it seems there’s a lot of confusion out there and I’d like to know how to best navigate.
3-Can I monitor video on the MacBook or do I need a separate monitor?

Thanks!

Dave Del Vecchio

Re: Newbie advice please

PostTue Oct 20, 2020 7:08 pm

1. You should be able use the Apple USB-C Digital AV Multiport Adapter which has an HDMI output with the iPads. Also, see this thread about iPhone video output which discusses apps for outputting a clean video feed: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=102983

2. Yes, the 3.5mm audio inputs on the ATEM Mini are TRS unbalanced stereo inputs. If you have a free XLR input on the Tascam DR-44L, you could probably run all of the microphones through that, and then take the 3.5mm output from the Tascam into the ATEM Mini (set to line input).

3. The multiview output on the ATEM Mini Pro and ATEM Mini Pro ISO is only available on the HDMI output which requires a dedicated monitor. The program output can be monitored through the USB-C webcam output connected to a computer (assuming that the USB-C port is not needed for local USB recording).

jduvick

PostWed Oct 21, 2020 3:42 am