Audio issues from mixing board -> ATEM Mini Pro

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

JordanCham

Audio issues from mixing board -> ATEM Mini Pro

PostMon Nov 16, 2020 4:04 pm

I'm currently helping get my church up and running with livestreaming using an ATEM Mini Pro.

We have things pretty much in place, except that the sound is really bad when we try to broadcast musicians.

I'm primarily an audio engineer who is just "helping out" with video, so it isn't that I need to know how to mix. I just need suggestions on how to clean up the noise, get the overall level to play nicely with YouTube's automatic compression, and why are the compressors on the ATEM Software Control so bad??

Currently we are sending all relevant audio channels down an aux on the sound board. That aux goes down a 20m cable to the main camera, so that there are no issues with synch. That camera signal goes via HD-SDI back to the sound/video booth, where a Blackmagic SDI-HDMI converter converts it for plugging into channel 1 of the ATEM Mini Pro. Then that sound channel stays always on on the ATEM even when the stream cuts to other video sources.
So, it's a constant sound source, but the comp/limiter on the camera's XLR input + the comp/limiter on ATEM Software Control + the comp/limiter on YouTube seems to be a horrible combination. Piano comes across all wibbly wobbly - one compressor knocks the overall level down, then slowly lets it back up, only to let another compressor in the chain knock it down, and the noise (long cable run?) makes the mix really hissy, even when no mics are being sent down the aux to the camera.

Suggestions? Am I making that signal path more complicated than it needs to be? Or is it too simple?

Finally, is there a way to monitor the audio output to the stream on headphones? I was hoping the operator could monitor the sound on headphones from the laptop, but it doesn't seem to work like that.

tpchmara