Picture in Picture Issue

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Bev Green

Picture in Picture Issue

PostWed Dec 02, 2020 1:49 pm

Hello, all.

I am new to this forum, and found it quite by accident! Now that I did, I'm hoping you can help this total NEWBIE with a picture in picture problem.

I WAS the "sound tech" at our church - by default! Then I got the bright idea that rather than just recording our services, we should live stream them. Especially in light of the pandemic and distancing or no services for awhile.

Now that we're all hooked up, I'm wanting to try some fun stuff, but picture in picture doesn't work!

Here's our set-up: We had IMac using ProPresenter for our output of screens/verses, etc on big screens. Then a family member helped get us set up with the Atem mini and a camera for videoing and live streaming. Everything worked great! Then *I* got this great idea that I would like to not have to switch views away from front of church to show lyrics/scripture if I could make picture in picture work.

Problem is, it doesn't work! See, we have the Atem/camera set-up hooked up to a second computer - Lenovo. Fam member said the Imac wouldn't handle the "load" from both ProPresenter AND video set-up, so we got a second computer to handle just that.

In order to connect everything, I bought an HDMI hub. The Imac, computer and camera are all plugged into it, and then the outputs go to a channel on the Atem. But picture in picture doesn't talk to the Imac this way.

I've started researching and trying to figure it out, but we have NO software on the Lenovo (that I can find) to do adjustments to the Atem. I could download it if that would help. Remember, family member (who lives in another state) set it all up while we were visiting there, so I don't know why they didn't download the Atem software, unless it was to keep me from messing the whole thing up!