ATEM Mini series latency spec

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

jbreher

ATEM Mini series latency spec

PostWed Mar 17, 2021 9:00 pm

I'm a live streaming musician. I was recently slapped with a dose of reality in 'upgrading' my video source from webcam to a mid-grade digital mirrorless camera through a (crappy?) HDMI/USB converter device.

While subjective picture quality went way up, the video ingest latency has skyrocketed from ~50 ms to ~1s. I'm a one-person crew -- production and talent -- and this delay in my 'confidence monitoring' has knocked my performance off my game.

I rather suspect that the HDMI/USB convertor -- not to be named here, but under $100 -- is the likely source of the huge jump in latency. I am accordingly looking for a better link in this chain.

Am I just blind, or is there no published spec for the latency of video conversion from HDMI in to USB out for the ATEM Mini family?

jbreher

Re: ATEM Mini series latency spec

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 6:33 am

Nobody?

Tim_Partridge

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 11:35 pm

If I feed the oiutput of my laptop into the ATEM and view the program output in a window I can see the infinite regress building. So it is not instant, but from memory it is under a second per stage. I'm away from my hardware right now, so can't check.