Artifacts displaying as I switch between ATEM macros

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Eric D.

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:05 pm
  • Real Name: Eric Doting

Artifacts displaying as I switch between ATEM macros

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 2:20 am

We just started using a letterbox (Black bar at the top and bottom) for the worship portion of our service. It works great and I am now redoing the ATEM macros to include this function with our 3 cameras. My new macros work fine - except for one issue. On several of the ATEM macros - the preview camera varies from one macro to the next. When I switch between those macros where the preview camera changes - I can see the preview camera flashing for a millisecond as it changes in the background.

I watched one video on YouTube where the instructor said to have the DVE (PiP) on screen first and THEN begin recording the macro. After recording all the desired configuration settings for the macro, the final inputs for the macro are: remove the DVE (PiP), insert a pause for one frame, and then put the DVE (PiP) back on screen. Then STOP recording the macro. This was to make sure none of the changes would be viewable when the macro is run. I have not had time to try this yet, but it does not sound correct to me.

However, there may be more than one way to do this and have it operate properly!

It seems more logical to have the DVE on screen first and then begin the macro by removing the DVE (PiP). Then make all the desired changes. And finally put the DVE (PiP) back on screen. Then STOP recording the macro. This would result in the DVE being off screen as the changes are made.

Or maybe I still need to insert a one frame pause, as the second to last instruction in the macro described above, and finally turn the DVE back on screen. Then STOP recording the macro?

What is the best practice for making this type of macro, so the viewers won't see the changes happening in the background as various macros are run?

Thank you for any assistance.

Eric D.
Offline
User avatar

David_Anderson

  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:24 pm

Re: Artifacts displaying as I switch between ATEM macros

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 4:42 pm

Since I helped you with getting the letterbox to work, can I ask why you're using it? Most people don't letterbox a 16x9 image.

Best,

David
David Anderson
Leading Edge Multimedia
https://leadingedgemultimedia.com
(888) 336-LEMM
Offline

Eric D.

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:05 pm
  • Real Name: Eric Doting

Re: Artifacts displaying as I switch between ATEM macros

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 12:58 am

We have a Panasonic AG-CX350 that is our main camera. When we zoom out to stream an image of the whole music team, there is too much space at the top and the bottom of the image. Thus the need for the letterbox. I have no idea what the size of the image is when we zoom out on our live stream. You would know much more about that than I do.

Also on occasion we use an iPad or iPhone to screen mirror with an Apple TV. This is FAR from a professional setup, but it works. The problem is the screen mirror also includes information from the top and bottom of the specific iPad/iPhone being used that we cover up using the letterbox. I have no doubts there are better ways to do this, but this is what we have at the moment. On occasion we simply need a camera that can move around the sanctuary and record things. Wireless camera setups cost money. Money that we need to spend elsewhere at the moment.

Our current priority is saving money to purchase another quality camera later this month. This will give us two quality cameras for our very low light recording/streaming situation. Our new camera will be mirrorless, probably a box camera.

Thanks.
Eric D.
Offline
User avatar

David_Anderson

  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:24 pm

Re: Artifacts displaying as I switch between ATEM macros

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 1:36 am

Eric,

My contact info is in my signature. Give me a call and I can probably help you much easier on the phone.

Best,

David

Eric D. wrote:We have a Panasonic AG-CX350 that is our main camera. When we zoom out to stream an image of the whole music team, there is too much space at the top and the bottom of the image. Thus the need for the letterbox. I have no idea what the size of the image is when we zoom out on our live stream. You would know much more about that than I do.

Also on occasion we use an iPad or iPhone to screen mirror with an Apple TV. This is FAR from a professional setup, but it works. The problem is the screen mirror also includes information from the top and bottom of the specific iPad/iPhone being used that we cover up using the letterbox. I have no doubts there are better ways to do this, but this is what we have at the moment. On occasion we simply need a camera that can move around the sanctuary and record things. Wireless camera setups cost money. Money that we need to spend elsewhere at the moment.

Our current priority is saving money to purchase another quality camera later this month. This will give us two quality cameras for our very low light recording/streaming situation. Our new camera will be mirrorless, probably a box camera.

Thanks.
Eric D.
David Anderson
Leading Edge Multimedia
https://leadingedgemultimedia.com
(888) 336-LEMM

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 22 guests