Hyperdeck RS-422 Sony Protocol Questions

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

sblair

Hyperdeck RS-422 Sony Protocol Questions

PostTue Oct 15, 2013 1:50 am

I'm a developer that is new to the Sony RS-422 protocol, but have been doing serial comms for years with RS-485/422.

I'm having some trouble making sense of the Blackmagic implementation and getting it to work in the Hyperdeck. I'm hoping some of those that seem to have a lot of experience with it on here like Baz can give get me pointed in the right direction.

1. I'm using a Hyperdeck Studio Pro with what I *believe* has 4.0 in it. I can't seem to find any way to verify in the menu what firmware version is loaded. I installed the Utility on Windows and did n't say anything about an upgrade... So I have to assume it is 4.0 unless someone can tell me how to verify the version.

2. The RS-422 DB9 seems to be the wrong gender to me. From all my reading of the protocol details I would expect the Hyperdeck to have a "Device" connector/pinout. Instead it has a "Controller" connector/pinout. Can someone explain this? I'm not sure if I have misinterpreted something somewhere...

3. I'm building a Controller implementation but so far have not been able to get control over the Hyperdeck. I have made sure to build a proper cable to do rossover cable to swap Tx/Rx lines since they both have Controller ports. I've set the baud got the serial port configured correctly. To send a PLAY command I send: 0x20 0x01 0x21. Is there anything I'm missing whith what I should be sending there? Also, I have the REM button on.

Any help or pointers, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Scott
Last edited by sblair on Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

James Hope

Re: Hyperdeck RS-422 Sony Protocol Questions

PostTue Oct 15, 2013 4:01 am

Hi Scott,