Streamus Interuptus

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Jim Simon

Streamus Interuptus

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 5:00 pm

I've been using the Mini Pro for a few months now, largely with great success. But twice I've encountered an issue I don't know how to explain, or solve.

At a facility for an upcoming event, the Mini Pro seems able to connect to the network just fine, but it cannot reach the streaming destination.

Checking that same Ethernet jack (and using the same sable) with a computer, there are no logins or passwords required. The Laptop connects to the Internet without issue. Speedtest reports 30 Mb/s upload. It also streams to the same destination through OBS just fine.

So what might cause the Mini Pro to fail where the Laptop works? I don't get it.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

David_Anderson

Re: Streamus Interuptus

PostMon Apr 19, 2021 11:28 pm

Look at what the primary and secondary DNS servers are on the laptop. The AMP is probably seeing the primary DNS which may not be able to resolve to the streaming host.

Bring a 30.00 router with you and run your own network and then NAT to the host network.

Best,

David

Jim Simon wrote:I've been using the Mini Pro for a few months now, largely with great success. But twice I've encountered an issue I don't know how to explain, or solve.

At a facility for an upcoming event, the Mini Pro seems able to connect to the network just fine, but it cannot reach the streaming destination.

Checking that same Ethernet jack (and using the same sable) with a computer, there are no logins or passwords required. The Laptop connects to the Internet without issue. Speedtest reports 30 Mb/s upload. It also streams to the same destination through OBS just fine.

So what might cause the Mini Pro to fail where the Laptop works? I don't get it.
David Anderson
Leading Edge Multimedia
https://leadingedgemultimedia.com