Page 1 of 1

Web Presenter HD DNS Change

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 3:35 am
by RobbieBott
Hello,

I am trying to change the DNS settings on the Web Presenter HD. However, it will not let me they are set to Google's DNS server 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and they are greyed out. I can set a static IP of the device but still cannot adjust the DNS. Our network does not allow for devices to use any DNS servers other than our DNS server. UDP port 53 is blocked. This forces all network devices' internet to be filtered and does not allow them to bypass it while on our network.

How do I change the DNS settings?

Thank you,
Robbie

Re: Web Presenter HD DNS Change

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:38 am
by Raphaël Jacquot
I have the exact same question on the atem mini pro (which is probably using the same code)

Re: Web Presenter HD DNS Change

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2021 8:11 am
by Andy Coulthurst
I can see why they may have done this , considering the market for the Atem mini. But I can't understand it for the Webpresenter HD.

For those that don't know , CDN ( content delivery networks ) often relies on using public DNS.
This is to ensure that for a particular host (youtube or facebook) the resolved DNS host is a geographically local server. This is how large video networks are capable of providing access to videostreams for so many people. The content is replicated to geographically local servers.

I suspect BM took the decision to fix these in order to stop complaints later on.
(Just a theory).

I personally would like to be able to change these - but then again I don't stream to the internet.
For anyone who wishes to read deeper this https://humanwhocodes.com/blog/2011/11/29/how-content-delivery-networks-cdns-work/ is a reasonable reference.

Re: Web Presenter HD DNS Change

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2021 5:55 am
by Raphaël Jacquot
Andy Coulthurst wrote:I suspect BM took the decision to fix these in order to stop complaints later on.
(Just a theory).

I personally would like to be able to change these - but then again I don't stream to the internet.
For anyone who wishes to read deeper this https://humanwhocodes.com/blog/2011/11/29/how-content-delivery-networks-cdns-work/ is a reasonable reference.


problem is, this breaks when you're within an enterprise network where DNS is blocked and your company's DNS recursive servers are the only ones accessible.
same goes with the devices that don't work when the controlling machine is in some other subnet

Re: Web Presenter HD DNS Change

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2021 5:10 pm
by SchwobaDubbidu
This DNS thing basically broke my neck. I had updated one WebPresenter HD to the latest firmware 3.0.

It would get a wrong IP via DHCP and no refresh could make it go right again, it would simply insist on its old wrong IP – laptops at the same network switch got proper IPs. I went for static but could not adjust the DNS settings. Thus no reaching out into the Internet. So that WebPresenter was out.

I had another one still on firmware 2.1.1 which would get its IP properly. When I turned it on one hour before the show, it had died. The fan would turn on 100%, but the display would remain black.

I had to do something OBSish then, which a AJA U-TAP that was available…