Page 1 of 1

Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2021 12:48 pm
by LouisBacker
Running latest BM CCU Version: 8.6.3
And latest version for URSA Broadcast: 6.9.2
CCU Panel camera profile set to Ursa Broadcast 4K
Lens: Fujinon LA16 4K - the proprietary lens
Tested on 2 identical camera rigs

When the camera is under 2-way SDI control with the CCU I still cannot remotely adjust the Master camera gain in 2dB increments. The panel happily shows 2dB increments, but it's not until you hit +/-6dB stage that the camera gain alters and then it's predictably by +/-6dB. So you still cannot set the Ursa Broadcast to say +2 or +4dB.

Everything else works perfectly from the CCU (though zoom on the CCU is very jumpy and not smooth).

Anyone else out there got this issue still?

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2021 7:44 pm
by Howard Roll
Not anymore. The trick is getting rid of the BM cameras, then you don’t have to wait for firmware fixes that should have happened years ago.

Good Luck

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2021 8:49 pm
by Robert Kuzmanovic
+1. Same issue, 4 ursas

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2021 9:43 pm
by Linden deCarmo
I see the same behavior. The CCU increments by +/- 2db but no visible changes happen until +/- 6db.

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 8:18 am
by LouisBacker
So Blackmagic, please could you fix this, as others here have similarly encountered this ongoing gain disparity?

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2021 11:36 am
by LouisBacker
LouisBacker wrote:Running latest BM CCU Version: 8.6.3
And latest version for URSA Broadcast: 6.9.2
CCU Panel camera profile set to Ursa Broadcast 4K
Lens: Fujinon LA16 4K - the proprietary lens
Tested on 2 identical camera rigs

When the camera is under 2-way SDI control with the CCU I still cannot remotely adjust the Master camera gain in 2dB increments. The panel happily shows 2dB increments, but it's not until you hit +/-6dB stage that the camera gain alters and then it's predictably by +/-6dB. So you still cannot set the Ursa Broadcast to say +2 or +4dB.

Everything else works perfectly from the CCU (though zoom on the CCU is very jumpy and not smooth).

Anyone else out there got this issue still?


Just did the latest ATEM Switchers 8.6.4 update in the hope that this +-2dB gain control disparity had been picked up and addressed, but alas, no. It would appear no one at Blackmagic R&D has rigged an ATEM mixer, CCU and an Ursa Broadcast camera and found this out for themselves. It's fairly basic stuff.

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 1:03 pm
by Xtreemtec
Just to check. If you hit the gain switch at the ursa itself it will flip in 2db increments?

Also did you check if the Atem is also in the same Ursa Broadcast profile? So not only the CCU panel but Atem also has a setting for this. It's under prefferences..

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:03 am
by Robert Kuzmanovic
Xtreemtec wrote:Just to check. If you hit the gain switch at the ursa itself it will flip in 2db increments?

Also did you check if the Atem is also in the same Ursa Broadcast profile? So not only the CCU panel but Atem also has a setting for this. It's under prefferences..


Yes

and

Yes

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 9:30 am
by LouisBacker
Xtreemtec wrote:Just to check. If you hit the gain switch at the ursa itself it will flip in 2db increments?

Also did you check if the Atem is also in the same Ursa Broadcast profile? So not only the CCU panel but Atem also has a setting for this. It's under preferences..


I am on a studio shoot as I write, so I have this system in front of me. I have the Ursa Mini Broadcast 4K profile correctly set in the CCU and the same profile set on the ATEM software preferences (the latter of which you have taught me, so thank you).

The result is the same - controlling the Ursa Broadcast from the CCU, the camera gain still only changes in 6dB increments, even though the CCU panel LCD numbers change in 2dB increments.

So still a problem for me, in needing to have remote control over my 4 Ursa Broadcasts in a studio environment.

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 11:05 am
by Xtreemtec
Okee that is good observation.

I have my CCU debugger here on the table.. Going off to lunch now but i will run a test this afternoon to check if it is a Camera issue or an Atem issue. I can visuallize the CCU data in the SDI link. So i can check whether the Atem sends the 2db steps or 6db.. ;)

To be continued

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:56 pm
by LouisBacker
Xtreemtec wrote:Okee that is good observation.

I have my CCU debugger here on the table.. Going off to lunch now but i will run a test this afternoon to check if it is a Camera issue or an Atem issue. I can visuallize the CCU data in the SDI link. So i can check whether the Atem sends the 2db steps or 6db.. ;)

To be continued


Sounds good, look forward to hearing how you get on..

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2021 11:36 pm
by dvucino
Xtreemtec wrote:Okee that is good observation.

I have my CCU debugger here on the table.. Going off to lunch now but i will run a test this afternoon to check if it is a Camera issue or an Atem issue. I can visuallize the CCU data in the SDI link. So i can check whether the Atem sends the 2db steps or 6db.. ;)

To be continued

bump

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 7:34 am
by David Hutchinson
Be interesting to see if Broadcast 2G will have the same problem.

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 6:32 pm
by LouisBacker
David Hutchinson wrote:Be interesting to see if Broadcast 2G will have the same problem.


It is somewhat frustrating their bringing out a new model, without having rectified a significant operating disparity on the original. It's not as if the problem hasn't been clearly highlighted to them.

Re: Ursa Broadcast and CCU - still no 2dB increments?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2021 6:40 pm
by Xtreemtec
Sorry Guys not have been able to check if the problem is Atem or Ursa side yet. A lot is going on in our office at the moment for various projects.

As soon as i know which side has the problem, i can relay this to BMD to get in to fix it. ;)