Blackmagic studio 4k pro + Television studio 4k pro + vMix

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

North stream

Blackmagic studio 4k pro + Television studio 4k pro + vMix

PostThu Dec 02, 2021 1:32 pm

Hey there, I am pretty new to this live stream studio work and I can't figure out some stuff..
We recently bought 3 x BM studio 4k pro camera's to upgrade or gear at the studio. Before we streamed our program out with a AJA encoder. Someone recommended us to start looking into vMix. I started looking up video's about it and it checked a lot of boxes for our needs. At the same time it also brought some questions for me that I so far couldn't find the answers for.

We want to use the camera control, coloring and talkback through the Television studio 4k pro and the streaming, video instarts, visuals and switching with vMix.

- How can I connect my BM studio 4k pro both sdi to my Television studio 4k pro and also get every camera signal separatly into my vMix pc (by sdi)? (pc includes the decklink 8k pro)

I know that there are SDI splitters and I think I have seen all of them in the past couple days..
Someone told me that for our setup and in the way we want to use it he recommended the "Blackmagic Design Teranex Mini SDI Distribut 12G" (one for each camera). The only downside in our situation is that it has too many SDI outputs. We only want to split our camera video signal into 2 outputs, 1 for the Television studio 4k pro and 1 to the Decklink 8k pro vMic pc.

- If we would use the "Blackmagic Design Teranex Mini SDI Distribut 12G" in this way, would it send the clean video signal into vMix or would all adjustments that I did in the Atem software (with the switcher) come with it?

The price of the "Blackmagic Design Teranex Mini SDI Distribut 12G" is pretty descent price but because we got 3 BM studio 4k pros I thought the best way is to ask for advice before I throw with the wallet of my boss.