ATEM Mini Pro ISO - Interlacing artifacts?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

AllanRM

ATEM Mini Pro ISO - Interlacing artifacts?

PostTue Jan 25, 2022 12:58 pm

Hello

I'll try to keep it short: How do I handle 1080i50 input from my cameras getting jagged edges when viewed/recorded with the ATEM Mini Pro ISO?

A bit of background info:
I'm no pro by any stretch of the imagination. Perhaps you know that one teacher, who was into computers, photography - he always whipped out his big dSLR when there was graduation or school play, video stuff and always had that very weird obsession with Microsoft Excel. Oh. He also plays guitar, does programming (java and js) and has a (very small) side business where he does surveying (Drone Deploy) with his drone - Mavic Pro.

That's me.

The issue at hand: Not short
I bought a ATEM Mini Pro ISO out of convenience, so that I was able to record everything at once - first take, kinda - and not really bother with editing but at least have access to the files should the need arise. Worth every penny in that regard.

When doing a livestream before christmas I noticed that the footage from my then main cam - a Canon HV30 - looked jagged. Like, low res, scaled up. Knowing that the HV30 is a HDV cam (1440x1080 1:1.333 - I think it's called), I just thought it was time for an upgrade.

Got myself a used Canon C100, because - why not, same issue. Jagged/aliasing along edges.

Started looking into it and I think I've come to a conclusion:

The C100 does 25p internally, though I am able to see a difference between 50i and 25p on the output - it's rather noticeable.

However. The ATEM only does progressive so no matter what I do the edges looks jagged on all my footage captured via the ATEM.