Newbie - How to start a new clip when camera switches?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Customkleinsllc

Newbie - How to start a new clip when camera switches?

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 7:10 am

I have a client that needs some film related tasks as part of a larger project.
I am new to this world as I am primarily a coder and dev.
I inherited the project as well which is unfortunate because I would have much rather developed from scratch.

Anyway here it goes, please chime in on anything you think you can help with.

We have 2 cameras. One stationary and one on a gimble. The stationary one runs the whole work day watching the job site. Now when a close up on a particular event is needed, the foreman goes to the atem mini pro and hits the button to switch to the portable camera. It has a transmitter attached and receiver back at the the stationary camera apparatus. All this is ran through a teradek mobile encoder and streamed to our media server.
What I need is a way to create a new clip when the gimble is used and from there I will need to use an API to add caption and push the clip through more steps.
The whole approach is not ideal in my opinion but if I can give them what they want I can wash my hands of the project which has lofty and ambitious requirements and a pay rate that is not matching that lol.

Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

Howard Roll

Re: Newbie - How to start a new clip when camera switches?

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 5:21 pm

Is there a mechanism that allows the iso channels to be stopped and started independently? Last time I checked one could’t even disable the recording of unused inputs.

It might be easier to use the EDL to trim the gimgal footage from the long take.

Good Luck

Customkleinsllc

PostThu Apr 04, 2024 12:56 am