ATEM TVS a few set up questions

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Markmoreve

ATEM TVS a few set up questions

PostSat Oct 27, 2012 8:56 pm

Hi guys,
I have just bought an ATEM TVS and was wondering if someone can tell me how much space in gigabytes does a half hour live shoot take up if recorded a full resolution to an external drive.
Should the external drive be FireWire or is it ok to use a USB 2 drive.

I'll be using two xf305's and a c300 into my ATEM I assume I have to run them interlaced if I want to use 1080?

Sorry for the simple questions but total newbie to this. :)

Liam Kennedy

Re: ATEM TVS a few set up questions

PostSun Oct 28, 2012 12:08 am

Markmoreve wrote:Hi guys,
I have just bought an ATEM TVS and was wondering if someone can tell me how much space in gigabytes does a half hour live shoot take up if recorded a full resolution to an external drive.
Should the external drive be FireWire or is it ok to use a USB 2 drive.

I'll be using two xf305's and a c300 into my ATEM I assume I have to run them interlaced if I want to use 1080?

Sorry for the simple questions but total newbie to this. :)

You can use almost any external drive on your MAC/PC... the encoding to H.264 is done on the TVS using a hardware encoder. The compression options can be adjusted so the storage required will vary. Most any drive attached to your MAC/PC will work as the data rate is not very high compared with say an uncompressed stream. For a 1/2 hour stream... I'm not sure what that will be... but it is pretty modest (not going to be hundreds of GB). You should be able to use any drive you have.

The TVS only supports 1080 resolution in interlaced - so 1080i5994 - so yes you would need to run the cameras interlaced. I typically run all my gear at 720p5994 - as I am usually streaming in that resolution also and it just keeps things simple to have everything in that format rather than scale it down from 1080i and deinterlace.