4K Genlock Options?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Andrew Myers

4K Genlock Options?

PostWed Mar 16, 2016 6:40 pm

I'm new to the whole broadcast production scene, so please forgive my ignorance.

I have recently learned the importance of synchronizing HD-SDI equipment by means of a tri level sync generator. Specifically, I have been using the Blackmagic Mini Converter Sync Generator and everything appears to be working perfectly.

We are currently in the process of upgrading from HD to UHD resolutions. This seems like a fairly straight forward exercise, as Blackmagic has 4K variants of most of their products (capture cards, routers, and switchers).

However, there is one component that appears to be missing - a UHD compatible sync generator. The Blackmagic Mini Converter Sync Generator appears to only support SD and HD formats. A quick search of the Internet also yields no 4K sync generator products on the market.

So what options are available for synchronizing UHD broadcast equipment? Or is this no longer a requirement for modern 4K broadcast systems?

Thanks,
Andrew

MambaFiber.com

Re: 4K Genlock Options?

PostWed Mar 16, 2016 8:43 pm

you can still use trilevel to sync 4k. the sync reference clocks your frame rate, regardless of frame dimensions. i still use SD black burst to clock HD 1080...
Greg Bellotte - owner
MambaFiber.com
FaceBook.com/MambaFiber

Andrew Myers

PostThu Mar 17, 2016 2:53 pm

Hi,

So are you confirming that the Blackmagic Mini Converter Sync Generator, that we have been using to genlock HD video content, can also be used for UHD video content?

Can someone from Blackmagic Design also verfiy whether the above statement is true?

Thanks,
Andrew

micha.loeffler@gmail.com

PostMon Mar 26, 2018 3:00 pm

Hi,

i´d like to push this topic meanwhile in 2018 and 4K/UHD beeing actual more than ever.

Can the BM Sync Generator be used for UHD as well?