ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Callen Magnuson

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN

ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 11, 2017 3:25 pm

I have several ATEM Television Studio HD switchers I manage, and one of them has white noise/static that overpowers everything. I've narrowed it down to the XLR inputs on the back, and the static is heard whether or not anything is plugged into them.

Restarting the switcher by pulling the power in the back will make the issue go away for a while, but it will come back after a few days. Has anybody else had this issue? Is there a fix or do I need to send the hardware in?
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3423
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 11, 2017 10:03 pm

Have you tried different XLR cabling to the back of the unit? Also, if it's possible, try swapping the ATEMs with each other and see if the issue follows the unit or is just a particular connection.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Callen Magnuson

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 18, 2017 3:12 pm

Tony Rivera wrote:Have you tried different XLR cabling to the back of the unit? Also, if it's possible, try swapping the ATEMs with each other and see if the issue follows the unit or is just a particular connection.


I believe this is a defective ATEM unit. swapped with known good cabling, and the issue surfaced again. Also swapped the switcher with another and the issue followed the ATEM switcher.

The unit also reset to default settings over the weekend. Unknown what the cause would be for that.
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3423
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostWed Sep 20, 2017 8:59 pm

If you haven't already, get in contact with the support offices and they can assist you with any further troubleshooting that may be possible and if need be, could set up the unit being sent in to us.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Matt Arnold

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:58 pm

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostWed Oct 25, 2017 7:01 pm

We purchased approx 40 of these exact units and are experiencing the same problem you describe here with the white noise... This is occurring on about 10 of the 40 units as far as we understand thus far. What was your resolution to this, Callen?
Offline

Callen Magnuson

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostWed Oct 25, 2017 10:22 pm

Matt Arnold wrote:We purchased approx 40 of these exact units and are experiencing the same problem you describe here with the white noise... This is occurring on about 10 of the 40 units as far as we understand thus far. What was your resolution to this, Callen?


I RMA'd the unit.
Offline

Matt Arnold

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:58 pm

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostThu Oct 26, 2017 1:34 pm

Callen Magnuson wrote:
Matt Arnold wrote:We purchased approx 40 of these exact units and are experiencing the same problem you describe here with the white noise... This is occurring on about 10 of the 40 units as far as we understand thus far. What was your resolution to this, Callen?


I RMA'd the unit.


The RMA resolved the issue for you? I guess I got a LOT of RMA'ing to do :shock:
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3423
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 10:41 pm

Matt Arnold wrote:The RMA resolved the issue for you?

Hi Matt, we should be having a support agent reaching out to you regarding this. Keep an eye out for an email/phone call.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

truffin2499

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 5:15 am
  • Real Name: Tony Ruffin

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostTue May 05, 2020 5:19 am

Did this problem ever get resolved. I'm having the same issue. During lives streams, my ATEM will all of a sudden hiss, and we have to unplug it and plug it back in to get it to work. Please, can someone help?
Offline

Paul Foxton

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:00 pm
  • Real Name: Paul Foxton

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostSun Jul 26, 2020 2:03 pm

I'm having exactly this problem, it just started today. Constant level of white nose showing up in OBS and audible over headphone monitoring.

If I disable the XLR inputs in the audio menu on the ATEM, the noise stops.

Is this a known problem with the ATEM TV studio switches?
Offline

Fexa_82

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 9:09 pm
  • Real Name: Felix Hentschel

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 9:13 pm

Same problem here. Often coincidences with some level peaks coming over XLR, after a crash whole sound is dead and unit has to be restarted.
Offline

Peter Burns

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:24 am
  • Real Name: Peter Burns

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Aug 03, 2020 2:26 am

Also have the same issue. I assume it's a hardware defect and cannot be fixed without sending off for repair?
Offline

5gearstudios

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:01 pm
  • Real Name: Darren Sager

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostThu Aug 06, 2020 5:13 pm

We have the exact same problem. During a Live-Stream show yesterday, we were sending a board feed through the XLRs, which we have done many times before, suddenly, for no reason, white static noise started coming through on one channel. We were unable to reset the unit as we were in a live stream, and could not make the problem go away. Coincidentally (or not?) we had an audio level peak and the problem started. This was mentioned by user Fexa_82 on this thread.
Offline

revjeff97

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 3:16 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Riley

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostSun Aug 09, 2020 3:23 pm

We had the same problem this morning. We come into the switcher from the board using XLR. The switcher would randomly only send out static. We would unplug the switcher and then it would produce sound again until it decided to switch to static again. Happened a good 8 or 9 times.
Offline

molleurd

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 3:04 pm
  • Real Name: Don Molleur

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 21, 2020 1:16 pm

I'm having a similar problem. Audio is coming from our main mixer via XLR inputs to the ATEM. My production SDI is going out to an AJA splitter (feeding to computer/OBS/Facebook, an ATEM Mini Pro for direct YouTube feed, and a third split to my TVs located in the nurseries/lobby). My auxiliary output from the ATEM TV Studio 4K is going to an AJA splitter which splits it to my three sanctuary EIKI projectors.

Livestream audio to Facebook and YouTube is great! Audio to TVs and Projectors has static/white noise (along with mixer audio). Side note...all of the SDI cables pass through BM converters (SDI to USB or SDI to HDMI).

Any ideas? My TVs are useless (video is great, audio is unbearable). EIKI projectors are useable as a display-only device (audio muted).

UPDATE: Just tested the "unplug ATEM approach" to solving issue and it worked! Don't know for how long but the static disappeared after I unplugged the ATEM and the plugged it back in... (This isn't a solution, there's something wrong with the ATEM.)
Offline

wxfreak

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:12 pm
  • Real Name: Steve Hanis

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostSun Sep 27, 2020 6:59 pm

Has anyone had a chance to try the ATEM Switchers 8.5 Update that came out 25Sept2020? Our ATEM Television Studio HD is losing audio and is embedding audio static/white noise to the video stream. This appears to happen when the XLR inputs are accidentally driven to clipping.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests