XLR White Noise

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

6Gearstudios

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 1:47 am
  • Real Name: Ryan Gittens

XLR White Noise

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 2:19 am

I have a ATEM TV Studio Pro. I was testing today and realized that once I turn on the xlr inputs, I'm getting a white noise.

There is nothing else plugged into the device and the noise only disappears once I turn off the xlr input (from sound and monitor bars).

Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.14.12 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.14.12 PM.png (344.25 KiB) Viewed 756 times


When I send sound to the xlr inputs, I can only hear the white noise.

The device is on the latest update and everything else works fine. I've send the audio in on a camera but this is not always practical.

Has anyone ever experienced this "problem" or am I missing something?

Thanks.
Offline

312elements

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:07 pm
  • Location: Chicago
  • Real Name: Michael Schacht

Re: XLR White Noise

PostSat Nov 24, 2018 7:10 am

Did you ever get this resolved? I'm having similar issues. A power cycle usually takes care of it, until the next time...
Michael Schacht
Currently using ATEM Television Studio HD to create awesome content
Offline

312elements

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:07 pm
  • Location: Chicago
  • Real Name: Michael Schacht

Re: XLR White Noise

PostTue Nov 27, 2018 3:21 am

Interesting development tonight. I thought it was intermittent, but after some testing, I can force it to happen. It only happens after I clip the input. As in it happens as a response to overdriving the input and then wont recover until I power cycle the unit. Is this normal behavior?
Michael Schacht
Currently using ATEM Television Studio HD to create awesome content
Offline

videocut

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:07 pm
  • Real Name: Adomas Zalensas

Re: XLR White Noise

PostMon Dec 09, 2019 8:12 pm

Hello,

Did you ever get this resolved or found a way to prevent it from happening other than an external limiter?

It seems to be repeatable by clipping the input, but it's not too consistent. Sometimes it will be a clap next to the mic that sets it off, sometimes it works fine for a few hours in similar conditions.
Offline

AhmedB

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:55 am
  • Real Name: Ahmed Bahartha

Re: XLR White Noise

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 4:05 am

Interested, I get the same problem: No XLR input! (Just noise)
I have a ATEM TV Studio Pro.

Solution, please.
Offline

thejohnpepe

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:14 pm
  • Real Name: John Pepe

Re: XLR White Noise

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 4:17 pm

I'm also getting noise, whether I use the XLR inputs or run the sound through the camera. Almost like its boosting the floor noise to an absurd level. Anyone have a solution? I've contacted Blackmagic but haven't heard back yet.
Offline

aballard

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:43 pm
  • Real Name: Aloysius Ballard

Re: XLR White Noise

PostWed Apr 01, 2020 8:56 pm

My ATEM TV HD started doing this after I recently updated it. Its really frustrating that we can't get a response or patch to fix this issue.
Offline

David Chadd

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:20 pm

Re: XLR White Noise

PostWed Apr 01, 2020 10:42 pm

6Gearstudios wrote:I have a ATEM TV Studio Pro. I was testing today and realized that once I turn on the xlr inputs, I'm getting a white noise.

There is nothing else plugged into the device and the noise only disappears once I turn off the xlr input (from sound and monitor bars).

Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.14.12 PM.png


When I send sound to the xlr inputs, I can only hear the white noise.

The device is on the latest update and everything else works fine. I've send the audio in on a camera but this is not always practical.

Has anyone ever experienced this "problem" or am I missing something?

Thanks.


I've encountered this one sending too hot of a signal through the XLR inputs on the television studio hd. It appears to be some sort of protection circuitry being engaged but does not release when the signal gets to a normal level. Only way to return audio is to power cycle. You can easily reproduce this using an audio mixer and slowly raising the level till it happens. Seems like a flaw more than a feature.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests