Page 1 of 1

XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:19 am
by 6Gearstudios
I have a ATEM TV Studio Pro. I was testing today and realized that once I turn on the xlr inputs, I'm getting a white noise.

There is nothing else plugged into the device and the noise only disappears once I turn off the xlr input (from sound and monitor bars).

Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.14.12 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.14.12 PM.png (344.25 KiB) Viewed 2767 times


When I send sound to the xlr inputs, I can only hear the white noise.

The device is on the latest update and everything else works fine. I've send the audio in on a camera but this is not always practical.

Has anyone ever experienced this "problem" or am I missing something?

Thanks.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 7:10 am
by 312elements
Did you ever get this resolved? I'm having similar issues. A power cycle usually takes care of it, until the next time...

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:21 am
by 312elements
Interesting development tonight. I thought it was intermittent, but after some testing, I can force it to happen. It only happens after I clip the input. As in it happens as a response to overdriving the input and then wont recover until I power cycle the unit. Is this normal behavior?

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:12 pm
by videocut
Hello,

Did you ever get this resolved or found a way to prevent it from happening other than an external limiter?

It seems to be repeatable by clipping the input, but it's not too consistent. Sometimes it will be a clap next to the mic that sets it off, sometimes it works fine for a few hours in similar conditions.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:05 am
by AhmedB
Interested, I get the same problem: No XLR input! (Just noise)
I have a ATEM TV Studio Pro.

Solution, please.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:17 pm
by thejohnpepe
I'm also getting noise, whether I use the XLR inputs or run the sound through the camera. Almost like its boosting the floor noise to an absurd level. Anyone have a solution? I've contacted Blackmagic but haven't heard back yet.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:56 pm
by aballard
My ATEM TV HD started doing this after I recently updated it. Its really frustrating that we can't get a response or patch to fix this issue.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 10:42 pm
by David Chadd
6Gearstudios wrote:I have a ATEM TV Studio Pro. I was testing today and realized that once I turn on the xlr inputs, I'm getting a white noise.

There is nothing else plugged into the device and the noise only disappears once I turn off the xlr input (from sound and monitor bars).

Screen Shot 2018-10-09 at 10.14.12 PM.png


When I send sound to the xlr inputs, I can only hear the white noise.

The device is on the latest update and everything else works fine. I've send the audio in on a camera but this is not always practical.

Has anyone ever experienced this "problem" or am I missing something?

Thanks.


I've encountered this one sending too hot of a signal through the XLR inputs on the television studio hd. It appears to be some sort of protection circuitry being engaged but does not release when the signal gets to a normal level. Only way to return audio is to power cycle. You can easily reproduce this using an audio mixer and slowly raising the level till it happens. Seems like a flaw more than a feature.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 4:34 am
by Randall Chaves
Greetings from Costa Rica.

I have the same problem, I used my ATEM Television Studio HD normally and today when I turned it on, I had no audio on the XLR input, I turned it off and on again, just had white noise.

In order to transmit I had to connect the audio to a camera.

I see that this problem seems to have no solution for the user.

Could a group of switchers of a certain series be the faulty ones?

Will they replace them with the same model but newer or no longer manufacture them?

I bought the ATEM at the end of January this year :cry:

Thank you.

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2020 4:45 pm
by MambaFiber.com
A few observations...

First, if you are seeing audio input with nothing connected to the XLR inputs, then something is wrong with your ATEM. If you see input/noise with an XLR plugged in, does it go away when you unplug the cable from the ATEM? If so your problem isn't in the ATEM, but further upstream. Grounding issues are common in analog audio and can cause what is described. Fixing this requires an inline isolation transformer like the Sescom IL-19, or correcting the ground fault which is usually related to where you have everything plugged into power. All audio/video devices should be powered from the same source.

Secondly, the issue of repeating this fault by too much input level. I'm not disputing what you guys report, but I cannot reproduce this on any of my ATEM units (1ME4k, 2ME, 2ME4k, 4ME4k-sorry I don't use TVS series products). I am inputting audio level of about +33dBM, the most I can get out of any of my audio gear, and the top of my test meter LOL. While this results in a highly distorted audio in the ATEM mixer, as soon as I reduce the level to normal the ATEM sounds fine. Can't say that I think this is any kind of "bug" but certainly makes me wonder what you guys are putting in :-)

BTW, my 2ME's are running v6.9, my 1ME4k v7.5.2, and my 2/4ME4k's are both running v8.2.2. Again, I don't see any extraneous noise, and am not losing any input audio.

I suggest those of you with this issue need to contact BMD support, I admit this could be an issue specific to the TVS series of ATEM. Wish I had one to test for you...

Re: XLR White Noise

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 12:41 am
by evry___mmnt
Hello,

I really hope to God this helps someone because it took me forever to find this function.

so when plugging in XLR direct from your mixer to atem you will almost always get white noise due to the output being at line level and atem's port set at mic level.

However, there is a rather simple solution within ATEM software control.
click on the gear icon on the bottom left then click on "Audio" then "General" then change "Analog Audio Inpus" to "Line".

Boom now crank that volume up without any white noise.

hope this helps someone as i went completely insane over this.