Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion audio issue with multiple MediaIn

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

danabnormal

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2024 4:48 pm
  • Real Name: Daniel Buttery

Fusion audio issue with multiple MediaIn

PostWed Jan 31, 2024 11:36 am

Hi all, weird (or not-so-weird) one here.

The Design
I have a fusion composition that I'm designing as a template for a series of videos. It consists of intro video > effects > lower third > effects > outro video.

This is being saved as a Macro and imported to a timeline as a Title. A KeyFrameStretcher ensures that when the Title is stretched to the length of the content in the time line the lower third remains for the duration and the outro plays at the end. There are lots of smooshing between parts of the composition that are customizable through controls (unique to dozens of videos), which is why I'm trying to get this as a single reusable component. So far all working. Except.

The Issue
My issue comes with the audio contained on the Intro and Outro videos. Both have been dragged in as separate MediaIn nodes with the AudioTrack set in the Audio tab, however audio will only play for one clip at a time.

Oddly I can force the non-working audio to play but that then stops the previously working one.

For example:
  • Press Play and audio from IntroVidMediaIn plays but OutroVidMediaIn does not.
  • Select OutroVidMediaIn node and go to Audio in the Inspector and click Purge Audio Cache.
  • Press Play and now audio from IntroVidMediaIn DOES NOT play but OutroVidMediaIn does.
  • Select IntroVidMediaIn node and go to Audio in the Inspector and click Purge Audio Cache.
  • Press Play and now audio from IntroVidMediaIn DOES play but OutroVidMediaIn does not.
No matter which video is currently audible both do show waveforms in the keyframe pane. I've also tried recreating the MediaIn nodes as a precaution, and wiring both up to their own MediaOuts (both with Index set to 0) but the same happens (including the ability to force one or the other).

Any ideas at all?? I don't think what I'm trying to achieve is unreasonable but please feel free to correct me.

Cheers!
Offline

birdseye

  • Posts: 387
  • Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: Iain Fisher

Re: Fusion audio issue with multiple MediaIn

PostThu Feb 01, 2024 2:16 am

From the information you give, it appears that Fusion can only access one audio track per comp. At a guess you need to join the Intro and Outro as one file and find the equivalent of a Keyframe Stretcher for audio, if you want to work with the file in Fusion. I doubt that Fusion is the tab you should be looking at in order to manipulate audio. That's a complete guess by the way in response to, 'Any ideas at all?'. :D
Offline

danabnormal

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2024 4:48 pm
  • Real Name: Daniel Buttery

Re: Fusion audio issue with multiple MediaIn

PostThu Feb 01, 2024 9:41 pm

birdseye wrote:From the information you give, it appears that Fusion can only access one audio track per comp. At a guess you need to join the Intro and Outro as one file and find the equivalent of a Keyframe Stretcher for audio, if you want to work with the file in Fusion. I doubt that Fusion is the tab you should be looking at in order to manipulate audio. That's a complete guess by the way in response to, 'Any ideas at all?'. :D


Cheers for that. Yeah I'm not necessarily looking to manipulate audio, just have it playing from the two sources.

My thoughts were veering the same as yours tho. I'm gonna get the intro and outro on the same clip and see if I can manipulate it somehow to get the end playing separately. I'll report back with my findings!

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests