SDI to Audio Mini Converter not outputting signal

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

lwheeler

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2024 10:53 pm
  • Real Name: Lou Wheeler

SDI to Audio Mini Converter not outputting signal

PostTue Apr 02, 2024 11:19 pm

I have two SDI to Audio Mini Converters that I have connected to outputs on my Constellation 4 M/E 4K. Seeing as there's no normal headphone output on this ATEM, I'm running the SDI to Audio converter out to a Rodecaster Pro II for level monitoring. Problem is, no matter what I do I can't get any output from the converter into the Rodecaster.

I've made sure Switch 8 was off, and played around with all combinations of Switches 5 and 6, but nothing will come through any of the four outputs.

I'm using balanced TRS cables, and even have tried inserting the cables partially to see if it doesn't like the TRS connection.

I'm under the assumption that all outputs from the ATEM just output Program 1/2 by default, so I should be getting my mic signal coming in without having to do anything crazy there.

And seeing as there isn't even a way to properly route audio via a normal channel router like you'd see in a true mixer, I can't even verify that fact. I don't even know how to USE the other Program audio outputs lmao, the manual doesn't even go over that. Guess it's assumed knowledge?

Anyway, if anyone knows how to get these dumb things to work that'd be appreciated. I feel like audio is a complete guessing game with the ATEMs, which is extremely frustrating, especially in a world where x32 mixers have been discontinued. :(
Offline

Videobegin

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 7:22 am
  • Real Name: Olaf Chen

Re: SDI to Audio Mini Converter not outputting signal

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 3:51 am

just some ideas,

- Mini Converter SDI to Audio supports up to 1080p60. Mini Converter SDI to Audio 4K support up to 2160p30. have you adjusted the output of your ATEM 4 M/E Constellation 4K accordingly ?
- Do you try to swap converter to others SDI output ?
- Do you check levels in mixer and in converter using software ? (Some default settings are at line level)
- Do you get something on the TRS output of constellation ?
Offline
User avatar

carpentermike

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:47 am
  • Real Name: Mike Carpenter

Re: SDI to Audio Mini Converter not outputting signal

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 3:00 pm

If a acceptable signal come from the constellation you will see a white LED light on in a hole near by the SDI Input of the converter.
Offline

lwheeler

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2024 10:53 pm
  • Real Name: Lou Wheeler

Re: SDI to Audio Mini Converter not outputting signal

PostWed Apr 03, 2024 5:31 pm

There is a light on each of them, but that's just the power light I thought. It comes on whether the SDI is connected or not.

Yeah, I got the non 4K version, I was under the impression that the ATEM can auto-negotiate the SDI outputs, or at least I could manually force a certain output down to a 3G connection or something. Apparently, that is NOT something the ATEM can do. If I want to do that, I need to knock the WHOLE ATEM down to 1080p. Booo.

I have tried other outputs, IIRC. I'll try again, but I'm running up to a deadline today lmao.

I am getting mic inputs in the ATEM Software, but I don't see a real way to monitor output levels.

I probably do get outputs on the TRS, but of all roadblocks, I somehow don't have long enough TRS cables and I can't move the Rodecaster on my production desk due to all of its cabling. I my try to work that in if I have time.

I also just noticed that it seems that the Hyperdecks are receiving the full program audio out, not just the camera its connected to.... Um.... why? :/

Edit: I figured out why the Hyperdecks are getting program audio. I have the cameras coming into the ATEM, and then the outputs from the ATEM going to the input of the Hyperdeck. I'm then routing the camera signals to output to the SDI outs going to the Hyperdeck ins. Which is, once again, sending program mix.... ugggghhhhhh.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paullrr and 43 guests