Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Spline (mask) view problem

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dennis Fassbaender

  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:16 pm

Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 8:21 am

Hi, when i have finished rotoscoping my spline does not fit to my footage - but it is working as aspected.
Can you tell me why the spline moves away from the footage? And how can i bring it back to the correct position?
Attachments
FusionROTO.jpg
What happened with the spline?
FusionROTO.jpg (226.96 KiB) Viewed 789 times
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 943
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 12:00 pm

i guess you footage in the loader (where you did the roto) is a different image size then the what you render in the Render3d
Offline

Dennis Fassbaender

  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:16 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 12:25 pm

Render -> Image ->
Width: 1152
Height: 648

Footage ->
Width: 1152
Height: 648

Roto Spline -> Image ->
Width: 1152
Height: 648

CompSettings:
1152 x 648

All the same.
It seems that the connected 3d-plane generates this error. Because while the footage will be displayed on one monitor the spline fits. And when i move that 3d plane, the spline stays in position - it does not move (optical) with the plane, but its still working correct. Strange!
Attachments
FusionSpline2.jpg
Spline not moving with plane, but still masks okay!
FusionSpline2.jpg (197.12 KiB) Viewed 772 times
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2491
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 12:51 pm

The preview controls are relative to the Viewer, not the object. Same reason it is stretched, your footage isn't square.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Dennis Fassbaender

  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:16 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 2:38 pm

Means that is normal and can´t be fixed`?
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2491
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 2:58 pm

Can be fixed, but the fix usually isn't worth the effort. It's rarely helpful at all. In your case, what would it tell you?
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Dennis Fassbaender

  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:16 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 3:40 pm

Its irritating me to have something connected to a plane that stays in position when i move the plane.
Also to see a mask on a place where it is not working.
So i have to understand a mask is a floating object. Parenting (connecting) it does not automaticly mean that it will move with its parent object.
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2491
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostWed Mar 23, 2016 3:49 pm

The mask moves with the image. You aren't moving the image. You're moving the plane.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Dennis Fassbaender

  • Posts: 111
  • Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:16 pm

Re: Spline (mask) view problem

PostSat Mar 26, 2016 7:25 pm

Okay i thought i would move everything what is connected together.
So while the spline is connected to the image -> image to the plane
the image moves with the plane, but the spline stays on the original position of the image.

However- i think ill not understand this but accept it. So my next question about this is, how can i make the spline-position fit in 3d-view without affecting its maskingeffect on the image?
Or- when this is not possible can i hide it from 3d-view because its irritating?

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests