GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 3:03 pm

Good evnin'...

Now that DRS 15.0.1 is out I hoped that the GPU memory full issue would have been addressed...but nothing the like...

Many people here with a 6GB or 8GB GPU are seeing this error in Fusion even if "Run Fusion on CPU" is always turned on...So what does actually fill up the GPU RAM when only CPU is involved?

Do others see the problem as well with GTX and Radeon R5xx card with 8GB or 11GB GPU RAM?

Makes absolutely no sense in acquiring a 11GB Radeon/GTX/RTX card when the problem still persists.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Suhaib Siddiqi

  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:42 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 3:10 pm

davorin wrote:Good evnin'...

Now that DRS 15.0.1 is out I hoped that the GPU memory full issue would have been addressed...but nothing the like...

Many people here with a 6GB or 8GB GPU are seeing this error in Fusion even if "Run Fusion on CPU" is always turned on...So what does actually fill up the GPU RAM when only CPU is involved?

Do others see the problem as well with GTX and Radeon R5xx card with 8GB or 11GB GPU RAM?

Makes absolutely no sense in acquiring a 11GB Radeon/GTX/RTX card when the problem still persists.


I get this only when I add a few third party VFX to the time line. However, if I reduce the timeline playback resolution to 1/4, then it the GPU Memory error goes away.

BTW: I am on Windows 10 x64, 32 GB RAM and 8 GB GeForce nVidia
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 3:11 pm

This with Fusion on CPU or on GPU?

So this leads to the assumption that Fusion doesn't use the CPU but fills the GPU RAM for caching the timeline?
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 7:57 pm

Hmmm...wonder why HitFilms Pro requirements are so low compared to DaVinci Resolve Studio:

RAM: 4GB (8 GB Recommended)
Video memory 1 GB minimum (2GB or more recommended for 4K UHD.)

Sad it isn't available for Linux....

How does Lightworks behave in CPU/RAM/GPU requirements?
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 3:48 am

Lightworks is lighter too…
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 6:03 am

I would like to see some feedback from someone with a GPU card with 11GB or more RAM if the memory error also exists there or not...

No one here with a GTX10180 TI 11GB? (o;
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 7:02 am

Anyway, we shouldn’t need a 11 GB GPU to do decent work in Fusion. I mean, come on, my 8 GB machine crashes with a HD timeline!
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Heimo Fuchs

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:36 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 7:07 am

Hi
Definitively, GPU memory error also with 1080TI (11GB VRam) and 15.0.1 :shock:

-Heimo
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 7:22 am

Thanks for testing ;-)

Well I had a quick look at HitFilms Express on macOS...no Linux version...
The UI looks somehow unusable to me....and looks ugly as well (giant buttons on a UHD screen don't look good ;o)

Installing now Lightworks on Debian 9....
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

TrevorNZ

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:52 am
  • Real Name: Trevor Mander

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 11:57 am

Eeek. I upgraded from Beta to 15 and now Resolve hardly works at all - includes that GPU full error message. GTX780 6GB. It went from perfect to terrible? Presumably I should just reinstall the Beta?
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 4:34 pm

Wonder if their eGPU device also throughs those errors...

No one from BMD listening here? ;-)


For me I am investigating Lightworks and HitFilm Pro for that matter...
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 4:51 pm

They are listening, but it's clear that the Fusion integration is still a work in progress, while Fusion standalone is a great tool.

@Trevor: what exactly are you trying to do? I'm not sure we are talking about the same problem.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

TrevorNZ

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:52 am
  • Real Name: Trevor Mander

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 9:44 pm

Uli Plank wrote:They are listening, but it's clear that the Fusion integration is still a work in progress, while Fusion standalone is a great tool.

@Trevor: what exactly are you trying to do? I'm not sure we are talking about the same problem.
I'm just trying to play a few 4k clips on the time line. Nothing else.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3010 using Tapatalk
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Sep 05, 2018 2:49 am

That's a different problem then. Please post the error log for BM to look into it.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Online
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6184
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Sep 05, 2018 3:08 am

I tried a dual clip compositing with speed effect in fusion, 4k material and it never crashed on me. (System in Sig)

But I'm not a BIG fusion user, more of a noob...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 2:20 pm

Hmm....do you guys still see GPU memory full errors with Resolve Studio 15.1 now?

Tried the particle particle dissolve text example from the youtube tutorial again and GPU is around 20% used (of 6GB)...
and it uses GPU for rendering (I believe)....and GPU RAM fills up to 62%...

Also there is no "Run Fusion always on CPU" setting anymore..
Attachments
particles.png
particles.png (80.58 KiB) Viewed 126 times
particles2.png
particles2.png (394.78 KiB) Viewed 126 times
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 4:29 pm

It runs fine for me too, even if I up the particles 100 times.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 4:32 pm

Ah good to know....also as you are using Radion GPU....
I assume it balances now between CPU and GPU as the CPU setting is missing....
Release notes don't reveal anything though...

Now waiting for GTX prices to drop ;-)

Don't think if a RTX would make sense as raytracing wouldn't benefit in davinci resolve...
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1, 2 * Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1080 TI
Debian 9: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GT1030 2GB
Ubuntu 18.04: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bronchitis, Johannes Hoffmann, waltervolpatto and 33 guests