GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 3:03 pm

Good evnin'...

Now that DRS 15.0.1 is out I hoped that the GPU memory full issue would have been addressed...but nothing the like...

Many people here with a 6GB or 8GB GPU are seeing this error in Fusion even if "Run Fusion on CPU" is always turned on...So what does actually fill up the GPU RAM when only CPU is involved?

Do others see the problem as well with GTX and Radeon R5xx card with 8GB or 11GB GPU RAM?

Makes absolutely no sense in acquiring a 11GB Radeon/GTX/RTX card when the problem still persists.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Suhaib Siddiqi

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:42 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 3:10 pm

davorin wrote:Good evnin'...

Now that DRS 15.0.1 is out I hoped that the GPU memory full issue would have been addressed...but nothing the like...

Many people here with a 6GB or 8GB GPU are seeing this error in Fusion even if "Run Fusion on CPU" is always turned on...So what does actually fill up the GPU RAM when only CPU is involved?

Do others see the problem as well with GTX and Radeon R5xx card with 8GB or 11GB GPU RAM?

Makes absolutely no sense in acquiring a 11GB Radeon/GTX/RTX card when the problem still persists.


I get this only when I add a few third party VFX to the time line. However, if I reduce the timeline playback resolution to 1/4, then it the GPU Memory error goes away.

BTW: I am on Windows 10 x64, 32 GB RAM and 8 GB GeForce nVidia
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 3:11 pm

This with Fusion on CPU or on GPU?

So this leads to the assumption that Fusion doesn't use the CPU but fills the GPU RAM for caching the timeline?
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 7:57 pm

Hmmm...wonder why HitFilms Pro requirements are so low compared to DaVinci Resolve Studio:

RAM: 4GB (8 GB Recommended)
Video memory 1 GB minimum (2GB or more recommended for 4K UHD.)

Sad it isn't available for Linux....

How does Lightworks behave in CPU/RAM/GPU requirements?
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4759
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 3:48 am

Lightworks is lighter too…
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 6:03 am

I would like to see some feedback from someone with a GPU card with 11GB or more RAM if the memory error also exists there or not...

No one here with a GTX10180 TI 11GB? (o;
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4759
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 7:02 am

Anyway, we shouldn’t need a 11 GB GPU to do decent work in Fusion. I mean, come on, my 8 GB machine crashes with a HD timeline!
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Heimo Fuchs

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:36 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 7:07 am

Hi
Definitively, GPU memory error also with 1080TI (11GB VRam) and 15.0.1 :shock:

-Heimo
i9-9900k - 32GB - Win10 -1080ti - Resolve Studio 16/b7 - Intensity Pro 4K
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 7:22 am

Thanks for testing ;-)

Well I had a quick look at HitFilms Express on macOS...no Linux version...
The UI looks somehow unusable to me....and looks ugly as well (giant buttons on a UHD screen don't look good ;o)

Installing now Lightworks on Debian 9....
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

TrevorNZ

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:52 am
  • Real Name: Trevor Mander

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 11:57 am

Eeek. I upgraded from Beta to 15 and now Resolve hardly works at all - includes that GPU full error message. GTX780 6GB. It went from perfect to terrible? Presumably I should just reinstall the Beta?
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 4:34 pm

Wonder if their eGPU device also throughs those errors...

No one from BMD listening here? ;-)


For me I am investigating Lightworks and HitFilm Pro for that matter...
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4759
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 4:51 pm

They are listening, but it's clear that the Fusion integration is still a work in progress, while Fusion standalone is a great tool.

@Trevor: what exactly are you trying to do? I'm not sure we are talking about the same problem.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

TrevorNZ

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:52 am
  • Real Name: Trevor Mander

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 9:44 pm

Uli Plank wrote:They are listening, but it's clear that the Fusion integration is still a work in progress, while Fusion standalone is a great tool.

@Trevor: what exactly are you trying to do? I'm not sure we are talking about the same problem.
I'm just trying to play a few 4k clips on the time line. Nothing else.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3010 using Tapatalk
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4759
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Sep 05, 2018 2:49 am

That's a different problem then. Please post the error log for BM to look into it.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6965
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Sep 05, 2018 3:08 am

I tried a dual clip compositing with speed effect in fusion, 4k material and it never crashed on me. (System in Sig)

But I'm not a BIG fusion user, more of a noob...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 2:20 pm

Hmm....do you guys still see GPU memory full errors with Resolve Studio 15.1 now?

Tried the particle particle dissolve text example from the youtube tutorial again and GPU is around 20% used (of 6GB)...
and it uses GPU for rendering (I believe)....and GPU RAM fills up to 62%...

Also there is no "Run Fusion always on CPU" setting anymore..
Attachments
particles.png
particles.png (80.58 KiB) Viewed 1916 times
particles2.png
particles2.png (394.78 KiB) Viewed 1916 times
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4759
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 4:29 pm

It runs fine for me too, even if I up the particles 100 times.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

davorin

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:27 am
  • Location: CH
  • Real Name: Richard Klingler

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Sep 16, 2018 4:32 pm

Ah good to know....also as you are using Radion GPU....
I assume it balances now between CPU and GPU as the CPU setting is missing....
Release notes don't reveal anything though...

Now waiting for GTX prices to drop ;-)

Don't think if a RTX would make sense as raytracing wouldn't benefit in davinci resolve...
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0b7, Intensity Pro 4K
macOS 10.13.6: i7-7700, 32GB RAM, GTX1060 6GB
Debian 10: Threadripper 1950X, 64GB RAM, 2 * RTX2080TI
Debian 9: i7-8700, 32GB RAM, GTX1050 2GB
Offline

Stop&Play

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:41 pm
  • Real Name: Juan Gomes

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 3:53 pm

well, it's "nice" to see im not the only one with the gpu problem around... i have a HP z820 with:
-2 Xeon e5-2640v2
-32gigs ram
-Cuadro k4000
-declink 4k BM display card
-cubix xpander with 3 titan black 8gigs each 18g total
-SSD OS win 10
-Davinci STUDIO

i've been working with no problems until davinci 14 with a lot of nodes in the projects NR included and never had this issue ... now im struggling every time i try to open one of those projects. ive done clean install, transcoded clips, the OS is perfect... the 3 titans never reach to work at 100% and suddenly i get the "your gpu memory is full" error
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6965
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 11:18 pm

Stop&Play wrote:well, it's "nice" to see im not the only one with the gpu problem around... i have a HP z820 with:
-2 Xeon e5-2640v2
-32gigs ram
-Cuadro k4000
-declink 4k BM display card
-cubix xpander with 3 titan black 8gigs each 18g total
-SSD OS win 10
-Davinci STUDIO

i've been working with no problems until davinci 14 with a lot of nodes in the projects NR included and never had this issue ... now im struggling every time i try to open one of those projects. ive done clean install, transcoded clips, the OS is perfect... the 3 titans never reach to work at 100% and suddenly i get the "your gpu memory is full" error


Did yiou tel resolve to ignore the quadro?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

Stop&Play

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:41 pm
  • Real Name: Juan Gomes

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostWed Feb 20, 2019 4:07 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:
Stop&Play wrote:well, it's "nice" to see im not the only one with the gpu problem around... i have a HP z820 with:
-2 Xeon e5-2640v2
-32gigs ram
-Cuadro k4000
-declink 4k BM display card
-cubix xpander with 3 titan black 8gigs each 18g total
-SSD OS win 10
-Davinci STUDIO

i've been working with no problems until davinci 14 with a lot of nodes in the projects NR included and never had this issue ... now im struggling every time i try to open one of those projects. ive done clean install, transcoded clips, the OS is perfect... the 3 titans never reach to work at 100% and suddenly i get the "your gpu memory is full" error


Did yiou tel resolve to ignore the quadro?



yep! just updated it in the other post viewtopic.php?f=21&t=80013&start=50

:)
Offline

Matt Mullins

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:49 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 6:39 pm

I had the same problem upgrading to v15. I have three nvidia 1080ti’s, 12gb a piece, in a Cubix Xpander. After I moved up resolve versions ‘gpu full’ was a constant on 5k red footage playing back in 4k timeline. My solution was to remove one of the gpu cards, leaving two in the xpander and the red rocket x in the pc. No more errors and playback was flawless whereas before having three cards slowed everything to much lower frame rates. I will continue to experiment.
Offline

deezid

  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Schmitz

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 7:17 pm

Matt Mullins wrote:I had the same problem upgrading to v15. I have three nvidia 1080ti’s, 12gb a piece, in a Cubix Xpander. After I moved up resolve versions ‘gpu full’ was a constant on 5k red footage playing back in 4k timeline. My solution was to remove one of the gpu cards, leaving two in the xpander and the red rocket x in the pc. No more errors and playback was flawless whereas before having three cards slowed everything to much lower frame rates. I will continue to experiment.


Wondering if the new nvidia drivers helped as well. Saw a memory leak issue fixed mentioned on Windows somewhere...

Started using Linux for that reason lol
Offline
User avatar

Jed Mitchell

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:04 pm
  • Location: New York, NY

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSat Mar 23, 2019 2:08 am

Matt Mullins wrote:My solution was to remove one of the gpu cards


I've had this same experience with 2x 1080 Ti, removing one tends to make 4K timelines and heavy TNR more stable. Must be something with how memory is swapped between cards with limited VRAM?

We recently upgraded to a single RTX Titan as a test - it's not as fast as 2x 1080 Ti but it doesn't get the memory full errors and can deal with an absurd amount of TNR at 4K (10x 5 frame Better TNR on 8K R3Ds at Full Premium. Whyyy does it work?).

I understand memory limitations but I wish Resolve was a little more graceful handling these exceptions.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
"It's amazing what you can do when you don't know you can't do it."


Systems:
16b2 | Win10 | i9 7940X | 128GB RAM | 1x RTX Titan | 960Pro cache disk
16b2 | Win10 | i9 7940X | 128GB RAM | 1x 2080 Ti | 660p cache disk
Offline

Matt Mullins

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:49 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSat Mar 23, 2019 4:54 pm

The new drivers didn’t help, seemingly as I was already using them when I upgraded to V15 of Resolve. The other issue, I suspect is the cooling of the Cubix Xpander. A bigger fan wouldn’t go amiss to ensure gpu stability.
Offline

Matt Mullins

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:49 am

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSat Mar 23, 2019 4:55 pm

Jed Mitchell wrote:
Matt Mullins wrote:My solution was to remove one of the gpu cards


I've had this same experience with 2x 1080 Ti, removing one tends to make 4K timelines and heavy TNR more stable. Must be something with how memory is swapped between cards with limited VRAM?

We recently upgraded to a single RTX Titan as a test - it's not as fast as 2x 1080 Ti but it doesn't get the memory full errors and can deal with an absurd amount of TNR at 4K (10x 5 frame Better TNR on 8K R3Ds at Full Premium. Whyyy does it work?).

I understand memory limitations but I wish Resolve was a little more graceful handling these exceptions.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


Will have to look at the RTX Titans. Sound promising for a future gpu upgrade.
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 938
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSat Mar 23, 2019 9:06 pm

Matt Mullins wrote:
Jed Mitchell wrote:
Matt Mullins wrote:My solution was to remove one of the gpu cards


I've had this same experience with 2x 1080 Ti, removing one tends to make 4K timelines and heavy TNR more stable. Must be something with how memory is swapped between cards with limited VRAM?

We recently upgraded to a single RTX Titan as a test - it's not as fast as 2x 1080 Ti but it doesn't get the memory full errors and can deal with an absurd amount of TNR at 4K (10x 5 frame Better TNR on 8K R3Ds at Full Premium. Whyyy does it work?).

I understand memory limitations but I wish Resolve was a little more graceful handling these exceptions.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


Will have to look at the RTX Titans. Sound promising for a future gpu upgrade.


Radeon VII is only $700 and has the same or more speed than the $2500 RTX Titan.
The 16 GB is enough for doing 8k work (effects + TNR) atleast on our VEGA FE's.
Radeon VII is faster because of the memory bandwidth (1024 GByte/sec).

Some gamers will be happy to buy your old 1080ti's for a good price.

ps. Radeon VII can make use of the HBCC so you will never run out of memory.
Offline

Rolfe Klement

  • Posts: 181
  • Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:13 pm

Re: GPU memory full errors, still exists in 15.0.1

PostSun Mar 24, 2019 8:58 pm

I forced latest NVIDIA / ETC drivers onto my video card and it fixed it 100%

thanks
Intel i7 7820HK 2.9GHz RAM 32GB Windows 10 Home V1803 64Bit
2 x 2 TB NVME Samsung Pro
GTX 1080
www.creativesunshine.com

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: akwant, Bing [Bot], Dermot Shane, gaspeditorial, John Epton, Mark Sterne, Peter McLennan, roger.magnusson, stevegame and 48 guests